Old 10-06-2017, 02:56 PM   #1

2011 Avenue Coach
Cary , North Carolina
Running generator all night to power A/C

Newbie here, so forgive any stupid question(s) please.
My wife and I like it COLD while sleeping, and we much prefer to boondock -- hence no shore power.
1) Is it OK -- advised/not advised to run the gas-fueled generator all night to power A/C through the night?
2) If we RARELY connect to shore power, does the generator, in addition to powering A/C, also charge up the house batteries simultaneously?

2011 Airstream Avenue.

Finally, upon Airstream customer service determining that the Airstream in question, has a gas-fueled Onan generator, they commented that the factory-installed generator, does NOT tolerate E85 fuel, well.

That begged the question from me: "Then was it bad design consideration(s) by Airstream, to install such a generator on an E85 Flex Fuel, vehicle chassis, knowing that the generator would be fueled by the E85 fuel, fairly regularly?"

NO cogent reply followed.

Old 10-06-2017, 03:40 PM   #2
Figment of My Imagination

2012 Interstate Coach
From All Over , More Than Anywhere Else
Quote:
Originally Posted by High Cotton View Post
1) Is it OK -- advised/not advised to run the gas-fueled generator all night to power A/C through the night?
It's generally considered poor form, and marginally unsafe, to run any kind of internal combustion engine unattended by a wakeful person. A better solution would be to run the generator well before going to bed, and chill the van as cold as you can, then shut off the generator right before going to bed, and hope that the van won't warm up too much by morning. Besides, you'll sleep quieter without Iron Jenny throbbing away in your cellar.
Quote:
2) If we RARELY connect to shore power, does the generator, in addition to powering A/C, also charge up the house batteries simultaneously?
The generator should charge the house batteries.
Quote:
2011 Airstream Avenue.