Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2016, 10:06 AM   #1
New Member
 
1952 21' Flying Cloud
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
Replace 15 amp inlet with 30 amp

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAirstream Forums1472918230.834977.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	67.6 KB
ID:	270670
Ok airstream community, please give us any helpful advice...It is welcome. We have a 1956 overlander. Just got a crazy rewiring quote. We would like to rewire it ourselves but have to have Airconditioning working next week. We'd like to replace 15amp inlet with 30 amp inlet by marinco or duration temporarily until we can do a total rewire and replace the braker box. Is this crazy? We'd use minimal electric while in between on the project. We'd need ac and lights. I know it's not the right way, but could it work so we don't have to buy to inlets. We'd be hooking new 30 amp inlet to cloth wiring. Thanks
Rebecca
__________________

__________________
rlooten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2016, 12:37 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,817
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
I doubt the wire between in inlet receptacle and the panel inside the coach is large enough to handle 30amps.
What is the largest breaker in the panel?
How many breakers are in the panel?
15 amp breakers are typically wired with #14 wire. Not big enough for your air conditioner.
__________________

__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2016, 12:45 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
Silverflames's Avatar

 
1969 29' Ambassador
brooksville , Florida
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,240
Run a separate 15 amp rated extension cord to the AC unit until you get the wiring done.

Like stated before, it's doubtful the wires are large enough to carry the amperage.
__________________
Not all those who wonder are lost.
Silverflames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2016, 02:07 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
mimiandrews's Avatar
 
1966 22' Safari
Weatherford , Texas
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,257
As said above, it's not the inlet that counts, it's the size of the wire. Too much load through a small wire equals lots of heat. If a fuse or breaker doesn't stop it in time, that equals fire.
__________________
mimiandrews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2016, 02:10 PM   #5
Agent 86
 
J. Morgan's Avatar
 
1972 31' Sovereign
1975 31' Excella 500
Currently Looking...
Benton , Arkansas
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,364
Images: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silverflames View Post
Run a separate 15 amp rated extension cord to the AC unit until you get the wiring done.

Like stated before, it's doubtful the wires are large enough to carry the amperage.

Boom!!

The simple answer!


Gradiens super tenui glacie.
__________________
The fact that I am opinionated does not presuppose that I am wrong......

J. Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2016, 03:54 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
1974 31' Sovereign
1979 23' Safari
Wayland , New York
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,238
Images: 3
Is the ac a new addition? How is/was it wired?

If you can easily get from the back of where your new/old inlet is to the breaker box, replace the wire that's there with 10 gauge wire. If it will be inside the trailer and exposed, recommend flexible metal conduit shielded wire between inlet and breaker box, don't forget anti chafe plastic shields on the ends.
It will follow the same connection pattern in the breaker box which makes changing on that end a little simpler. Change the main breaker from 15a to 30a.
Remove the old inlet and connect to new wire run.
Use a multimeter to check you have good connections and no shorts before energizing.
__________________

__________________
HiJoeSilver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furrion Stainless Steel 30A inlet and TV inlet Gsmblue Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 4 07-27-2015 06:58 PM
Furrion 30 amp Inlet Installation Tony S Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 4 03-04-2014 12:05 PM
Marinco 125v 30 amp power inlet - Stainless RMB Exterior Restoration Forum 1 12-31-2013 02:20 PM
The perfect 30 amp power inlet for an Airstream: drboyd Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 0 09-30-2012 05:47 PM
photo of 30 amp inlet on AS? kstampa Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 7 07-24-2009 05:20 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by



Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.