Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-14-2016, 07:46 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1968 22' Safari
Tulsa , Oklahoma
Recommended Multimeter

I've never used a multi-meter before. I've found that the best way to determine both presence and strength of current is to just grab a wire near an audiometer and measure how loud I yell "YOUCH".

JUST KIDDING. DO NOT TRY THIS AT HOME!

Seriously, for work on Airstreams, which multimeter do our electrical gurus recommend?

Jay & Lisa
splyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 08:11 AM   #2
CRH
Rivet Master

1995 25' Excella
xxxxx , xxxxxx
The free ones Harbor Freight gives away work fine for me. I have gotten 3 this year.
CRH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 08:22 AM   #3
Free Range Human

2012 25' FB Flying Cloud
Currently Looking...
Haines , Oregon
No brand recommendation, but get a digital meter instead of analog.
Drathaar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 08:35 AM   #4
Overland Adventurer

1991 34' Excella
2009 34' Panamerica
Telluride , Colorado
Being an Electrical Engineer.....
If I was broken down in a Harbor Freight parking lot, I would get a free on there.
Otherwise a Fluke or a Klein...nothing fancy just the basic functions. If I was at a Yard sale and came across an old Radio Shack meter, that would be ok too.
AtomicNo13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 08:51 AM   #5
Rivet Master

2006 23' Safari SE
Biloxi , Mississippi
I have at least a half dozen of the free Harbor Freight meters stached around. They work just fine until they stop and then throw it away and grab another one.