Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-17-2018, 10:35 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member

2008 19' International
Lincoln , Nebraska
Question on Use/Store switch

Just noticed something that seems odd. Working on the trailer, and I happened to do the following:
1. Disconnected from shore power, batteries only
2. Switch in store mode
3. Switch for a couple overhead LED lights in on position (but not lit)
4. Press Use/Store rocker switch to Store position and overhead lights come on as long as the latching relay is engaged. They go off when releasing the switch

Seems odd that the lights would turn on momentarily. But I've never tried this before. Is this normal?

Thanks
Mike
marter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2018, 11:06 AM   #2
Half a Rivet Short

2017 30' Classic
2022 Interstate 24X
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Quote:
Originally Posted by marter View Post
Just noticed something that seems odd. Working on the trailer, and I happened to do the following:
1. Disconnected from shore power, batteries only
2. Switch in store mode
3. Switch for a couple overhead LED lights in on position (but not lit)
4. Press Use/Store rocker switch to Store position and overhead lights come on as long as the latching relay is engaged. They go off when releasing the switch

Seems odd that the lights would turn on momentarily. But I've never tried this before. Is this normal?

Thanks
Mike
Hi

Ok, if you are in the "use" setting, the lights should come on when turned on. (steps 2 and 3) did they not do so? I'm guessing not.

First thing to check is the battery. You may or may not have any battery power.

Next check would be the fuses / breakers going to the use / store switching.

Next thing to check would be the relay board ( = try a few more tests). It may be broke.

Lots of fun

Bob
uncle_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2018, 11:10 AM   #3
3 Rivet Member

2008 19' International