Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-08-2019, 12:06 PM   #1
New Member
 
2019 23' Flying Cloud
LAS VEGAS , NV
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 1
Problem connecting to home GFI circuit

2019 23' Flying Cloud FB

When I try to connect to one of my home's exterior 20A GFI outlets, The GFI protecting the home circuit ALWAYS trips. I've tried different 30A to 20A adapters, different extension cords, different home GFI circuits, but always trip the home GFI. None of the breakers in the trailer trip. When I connect to a non GFI protected circuit (like a campground 30A post), there is no indication of a problem. If I connect anything else to any of the home's GFI circuits, there is no indication of a problem.

If I turn off the circuit breaker in the trailer that is for the Inverter circuit, I can then plug the trailer into any of the home's GFI circuits without tripping the home's GFI and everything else in the trailer appears normal.

The Inverter seems to function OK when I'm not plugged into shore power.

I haven't been able to find anything in the AS manuals that gives a clue about what the problem could be.

Any ideas as to what the problem is?
__________________

stahlhutdp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2019, 12:13 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
J. Morgan's Avatar
 
1972 31' Sovereign
1975 31' Excella 500
Currently Looking...
Benton , Arkansas
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5,763
Images: 11
I have no idea of the cause, but my trailer behaves the same way, and I know that it has no shorts or faults.

I think I remember others on this forum who experience the same issue.
__________________

__________________
The fact that I am opinionated does not presuppose that I am wrong......

J. Morgan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2019, 01:59 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
Al and Missy's Avatar

 
2002 30' Classic S/O
Melbourne Beach , Florida
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3,536
GFCIs do not like to look downstream and see another GFCI. Turn off your trailer GFCI breaker or the breaker feeding the circuit with the GFCI and see if it still trips.


Al
__________________

"You cannot reason someone out of a position they have not been reasoned into"

Al, K5TAN and Missy, N4RGO
2002 Classic 30 Slideout
S/OS #004
2013 Dodge 2500 Laramie 4x4 Megacab Cummins
2001 Safari 25 RB Twin (Gone, but not forgotten)
WBCCI 1322, TAC FL-39, AIR 82265

Al and Missy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 10:56 PM   #4
3 Rivet Member
 
Mach5's Avatar

 
2019 25' Flying Cloud
Woodland , California
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 227
My 2019 25' does the same thing

Quote:
Originally Posted by stahlhutdp View Post
If I turn off the circuit breaker in the trailer that is for the Inverter circuit, I can then plug the trailer into any of the home's GFI circuits without tripping the home's GFI and everything else in the trailer appears normal. ... Any ideas as to what the problem is?
My 2019 25FB does exactly this. Sometimes (about 50% of the time), after I have successfully plugged the trailer into my home's GFCI, I can reset the breaker to the inverter and it does not trip the home GFCI and all works as it should.

I assume that the inverter has a grounded neutral (as required by code) when on battery power that is supposed to automatically switch out of the circuit when shore power is present, but that the relay that does this is either too slow to transition or wired as make-before-break. The home's GFCI sees the inverter's grounded neutral as a ground fault and opens up.

I have had no problems with the home's GFCI being in series with the trailer's GFCI circuit, nor would I expect there to be a problem with that arrangement. What basis is there to expect this to be a problem?
Mach5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 11:15 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
mikeinca's Avatar
 
2018 30' Classic
Santa Rosa , California
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 536
Quote:
Originally Posted by Al and Missy View Post
GFCIs do not like to look downstream and see another GFCI. Turn off your trailer GFCI breaker or the breaker feeding the circuit with the GFCI and see if it still trips.
Al
Bingo. The GFCI outlet on the side of my garage that I use will often trip when I plug in the trailer. So I turn off the house breaker feeding the outlet, plug in the extension cord feeding the trailer, then turn the breaker back on. No problems.
__________________
ďThe good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it.Ē
― Neil deGrasse Tyson

2018 30' Classic Twin
2017 F250 4x4 6.7 max tow Platinum
200W portable solar
240Ah LifePo4 upgrade
mikeinca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 12:49 AM   #6
3 Rivet Member
 
Mach5's Avatar

 
2019 25' Flying Cloud
Woodland , California
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeinca View Post
I turn off the house breaker feeding the outlet, plug in the extension cord feeding the trailer, then turn the breaker back on. No problems.
Interesting; I am going to try that approach and see if it works as well as opening the breaker that feeds the inverter.

However, I do not think that is the approach Al is recommending. I believe he is talking about opening the breaker that feeds the trailer's GFCI circuit before plugging into the house GFCI.
Mach5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 11:49 AM   #7
Rivet Master
 
mikeinca's Avatar
 
2018 30' Classic
Santa Rosa , California
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 536
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mach5 View Post
Interesting; I am going to try that approach and see if it works as well as opening the breaker that feeds the inverter.

However, I do not think that is the approach Al is recommending. I believe he is talking about opening the breaker that feeds the trailer's GFCI circuit before plugging into the house GFCI.
It appeared to me that he was suggesting two methods, one of which was to "turn off the.....breaker with the circuit feeding the GFCI". I interpreted that to mean to turn off the house breaker to the house GFCI that was tripping, hence my comment.

Maybe I was wrong, but in any event the method I described works for me. Hope it works for you.
__________________
ďThe good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it.Ē
― Neil deGrasse Tyson

2018 30' Classic Twin
2017 F250 4x4 6.7 max tow Platinum
200W portable solar
240Ah LifePo4 upgrade
mikeinca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 07:12 PM   #8
RAH
3 Rivet Member
 
2013 30' Flying Cloud
Cincinnati , Ohio
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 196
My AS also does not like being attached to GFI electrical at home. A few years ago I had an electrician come out to the house and replace all of the outside GFI as they were getting old. For the plug nearest the Airstream I described my problem and he installed a non-GFI plug to use there for 20 amp service.

Then last year I had him come back and install a 30 amp plug, which is what I should have done the first time!
RAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2019, 11:27 PM   #9
1 Rivet Member
 
2019 23' International
Northport , Washington
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 5
We have a 2019 23 International. The day we brought it home we plugged it into the house and it tripped the house GFI. I then plugged it in to a non GFI plug and it worked. I called an electrician and he turned off the inverter breaker in the trailer and was able to plug into the GFI plug without tripping it.

We go on our first trip and plug in to an 50amp service that has a GFI plug. It trips it so I turn off the breaker to the inverter but this doesnít work and we canít use the shore power because our trailer keeps tripping the GFI.

We bring it in to an Airstream repair shop and they replace the GFI breaker in the electrical panel, and say they have no problems plugging in the trailer to a GFI plug.

So we are now on our second trip and the same thing is happening! Except this time the GFI 30amp breaker wonít reset in the trailer. So far the only way I can get it to reset is by plugging it in to my generator. If I donít have that type of power source it wonít reset.

I am so confused and so upset. It is a brand new trailer and the dealer wonít help us at all. Help!!
Peachell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 05:11 AM   #10
Slide Out Society #001
 
GCinSC2's Avatar
 
2007 30' Classic S/O
Somewhere , South Carolina
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,986
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peachell View Post
So we are now on our second trip and the same thing is happening! Except this time the GFI 30amp breaker wonít reset in the trailer. So far the only way I can get it to reset is by plugging it in to my generator. If I donít have that type of power source it wonít reset.

I am so confused and so upset. It is a brand new trailer and the dealer wonít help us at all. Help!!
Peachell,

Can you ask the camp to check your pedestal 30A receptacle to check it?

Do you have a an adapter that allows powering from a regular outlet as a test?

And welcome to Airforums this problem, it too shall pass.

Gary
__________________
S/OS #001
2005 Dodge Ram 2500 5.9L 6 Speed
16" Michelins, Hi Spec Wheels, Max Brake, Carslile Actuator, Equal-i-zer, Dill TPMS. Campfire cook.
GCinSC2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 06:24 AM   #11
Rivet Master
 
Currently Looking...
Gainesville , Florida
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,024
Blog Entries: 2
Is your trailer 30 amp?
xrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 08:43 AM   #12
1 Rivet Member
 
2019 23' International
Northport , Washington
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by GCinSC2 View Post
Peachell,

Can you ask the camp to check your pedestal 30A receptacle to check it?

Do you have a an adapter that allows powering from a regular outlet as a test?

And welcome to Airforums this problem, it too shall pass.

Gary
Thanks Gary! Camp receptacle works fine for both 30amp and 50amp. We have never been able to plug in to a GFI plug since we brought it home.

We did not have the right adapter to plug it in to the round outlet which would have worked Iím assuming since it was not a GFI plug. Also one correction, I meant the 15amp GFI breaker wonít reset in the trailer in previous post. I donít know much about electrical problems, but I feel like Iím going to be learning a lot in the next little while
Peachell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 09:55 AM   #13
1 Rivet Member
 
2019 23' International
Northport , Washington
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by xrvr View Post
Is your trailer 30 amp?
Yes our trailer plug is a 30amp.
Peachell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 10:13 AM   #14
1 Rivet Member
 
2019 23' International
Northport , Washington
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 5
Is there a number to call airstream directly? Not a dealer but the actual company? This seems to be a common problem.
__________________

Peachell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting home hot water line to '67 Overlander hot water line w/PEX~Sharkbite Billyjchase Plumbing - Systems & Fixtures 3 05-31-2019 10:15 AM
Connecting Pandora to an old school home stereo blickcd Off Topic Forum 10 05-07-2018 11:55 AM
Connecting 30 amp cord to 15 amp circuit Matth57 Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 8 06-21-2017 09:25 AM
gfi circuit breaker pops Lido&Linda Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 7 04-29-2017 11:22 AM
A/C Blows GFI in Home Jenturnr Our Community 3 07-27-2004 07:39 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.