Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2009, 04:01 PM   #29
Rivet Master
 
cclarkego's Avatar
 
1966 24' Tradewind
Oak View , California
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,063
Images: 8
Hey thanks!

Next question... If I get that installed at my patio outdoor outlet, what should I use to hook up from there to the back end of my trailer, about 20 yards away?

Carol
__________________

__________________
cclarkego is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 04:26 PM   #30
Rivet Master
 
53flyingcloud's Avatar
 
1984 29' Sovereign
Savannah , Missouri
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,458
Images: 17
Blog Entries: 1
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by cclarkego View Post
Hey thanks!

Next question... If I get that installed at my patio outdoor outlet, what should I use to hook up from there to the back end of my trailer, about 20 yards away?

Carol
Carol,
"That" is what...? The RV box with the 30 amp socket?
It sounds to me like you need an "extention cord"..20 yards (60 ft) is longer than most RV normally supplied AC cable..
__________________

__________________
WBCCI 5292 AIR 807
NEU #64
New England Unit
53flyingcloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 04:46 PM   #31
Rivet Master
 
cclarkego's Avatar
 
1966 24' Tradewind
Oak View , California
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,063
Images: 8
Sorry for the confusion, my post was a reply to Clancy boy's post #28 in this thread.
If I install the box, then is it OK to use my heavy duty outside electrical 50' cord to hook to my main trailer connection?

Carol
__________________
cclarkego is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 05:36 PM   #32
Rivet Master
 
53flyingcloud's Avatar
 
1984 29' Sovereign
Savannah , Missouri
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,458
Images: 17
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by cclarkego View Post
Sorry for the confusion, my post was a reply to Clancy boy's post #28 in this thread.
If I install the box, then is it OK to use my heavy duty outside electrical 50' cord to hook to my main trailer connection?

Carol
Carol,
That's okay..
I would say yes..just be sure not to run the A/C and, the microwave at the same time..(those are the two biggies).
Keep the extension cord's wire gage as heavy as possible to prevent voltage drop..
Good luck~
__________________
WBCCI 5292 AIR 807
NEU #64
New England Unit
53flyingcloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 08:45 PM   #33
Rivet Master
 
StingrayL82's Avatar
 
San Angelo , Texas
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,250
Images: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by markdoane View Post
Yes, you should be able to replace two 15a outlets with a 30a if there is a 30a breaker in the main panel. Make sure the cabling coming from the 30a breaker is at least #10 AWG all the way to the new 30a plug.
Thanks, Mark, that's what I suspected, but I wanted to make sure. Now the problem is finding the receptacle....Home Depot here has nada for RV receptacles or plugs
__________________
Frederic
1971 Sovereign International - SOLD

2004 F-350 King Ranch

AIR # 8239
EX-WBCCI # 8371
StingrayL82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 10:16 PM   #34
Rivet Master
 
cclarkego's Avatar
 
1966 24' Tradewind
Oak View , California
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,063
Images: 8
OK, I have no AC and I keep my life cool with little fans here and there.
Now, I have a small microwave in the garage that I want to bring in.
I checked post #23 in this thread again, I'll try to do the math on everything to see if it looks OK. I have not yet gone out to get the RV box yet.
What happens if I hook up the microwave and turn it on tonight and I figured something wrong?
Does my trailer explode in flames?
__________________
cclarkego is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 01:01 AM   #35
Rivet Master
 
NevadaGeo's Avatar
 
1978 31' Excella 500
Genoa , Nevada
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by cclarkego View Post
OK, I have no AC and I keep my life cool with little fans here and there.
Now, I have a small microwave in the garage that I want to bring in.
I checked post #23 in this thread again, I'll try to do the math on everything to see if it looks OK. I have not yet gone out to get the RV box yet.
What happens if I hook up the microwave and turn it on tonight and I figured something wrong?
Does my trailer explode in flames?
Check the voltage in your outlets in the trailer with the load on (microwave, refrig, welder, blast furnace, etc.) Electric motors don't like bad (low) voltage or bad frequency (less or more than 60 cycles). If you have electric motors that sound like they are running slow, or getting hot, I'd suspect your power to the trailer is low. You shouldn't have problem with frequency unless you're on a generator or you went through the little door and woke up in Europe. I find the digital voltmeters do pretty good at telling what your AC voltage is, and I'm always using them on the DC mode to figure out if the batteries are failing or its my imagination. Home Depot, Lowes, maybe Radio Shack. Dont get too cheap but you don't need the precision test models either. Oh, be sure to not plug in your volt meter lead plugs to the AMP mode, that will burn up your meter (bought that shirt). Pretty soon you'll be giving us lessons in E=IR, low voltage will be causing big amps. Long long extension cords give low voltage.
__________________
I admit to being powerless over housecleaning and social niceities
Airforums 22655 and now, WBCCI 22655

NevadaGeo
NevadaGeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 07:55 AM   #36
Rivet Master
 
53flyingcloud's Avatar
 
1984 29' Sovereign
Savannah , Missouri
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,458
Images: 17
Blog Entries: 1
Thumbs up Just so you know...

Quote:
Originally Posted by cclarkego View Post
OK, I have no AC and I keep my life cool with little fans here and there.
Now, I have a small microwave in the garage that I want to bring in.
I checked post #23 in this thread again, I'll try to do the math on everything to see if it looks OK. I have not yet gone out to get the RV box yet.
What happens if I hook up the microwave and turn it on tonight and I figured something wrong?
Does my trailer explode in flames?
Carol,
I have been living in my A/S since the first of June, while my new home is being rehab. I have used the microwave and the A/C all the time, just not at the same time. It's plugged into my garage which has it own power service. 95% of the time, the only thing running is the frig.
You shouldn't have anything to worry about bursting into flames..
If, for any reasons, you should overload the Airstream's circuit?
It will just trip the fuse box. It is very sensitive to being slightly abused..Ask me how I know this..
Home Depot has the RV box, with the single 30 amp plug, for under 30$.
You should be able to find a similar one..
ciao
53FC
BTW, the house is just about ready now for moving into..YEA~
__________________
WBCCI 5292 AIR 807
NEU #64
New England Unit
53flyingcloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 02:49 PM   #37
Rivet Master
 
clancy_boy's Avatar
 
2003 22' International CCD
Kiln , Mississippi
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,780
Images: 8
Carol,
I am going to say this and hope that others will chime in more.
The length on an extension cord is a killer of many electrical appliances, especially ones with motors. There is just too much drop in voltage when you run a long cord. My best advice would be to have a licenced electrician run you a service box with the correct guage wire to a location where you park your trailer. The wires run should be heavier than the extension cord and therfore much more capable to carry the full load of your trailer. Hooked directly to the service box or fuse box on your home, this will provide all the power you would ever need. If you ever do decide to get an AC then you would be covered.
One other method would be to have the RV box placed on your home and have a special cord made up by your electrician that can carry the load better then a cord from a home supply store. In most cases the heavy duty cords are no more capable than the standard cords in wire guage - they just put more rubber on the covering and re-label them, look for a wire guage of 10 or even 8 (smaller guage = larger wire, don't ask me why). Longer runs need larger wire.
Look at this as a chance to get water supplied out to the trailer in the same trench as the power line.
Mike
__________________
Michael & Tina with Layla and Preston BZ
The family has grown.
2003 22' INTERNATIONAL CCD
clancy_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 03:20 PM   #38
Iwannagocamping
 
Dakota's Dad's Avatar
 
1979 31' Sovereign
Rineyville , Kentucky
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by clancy_boy View Post
Carol,
I am going to say this and hope that others will chime in more.
The length on an extension cord is a killer of many electrical appliances, especially ones with motors. There is just too much drop in voltage when you run a long cord. My best advice would be to have a licenced electrician run you a service box with the correct guage wire to a location where you park your trailer. The wires run should be heavier than the extension cord and therfore much more capable to carry the full load of your trailer. Hooked directly to the service box or fuse box on your home, this will provide all the power you would ever need. If you ever do decide to get an AC then you would be covered.
One other method would be to have the RV box placed on your home and have a special cord made up by your electrician that can carry the load better then a cord from a home supply store. In most cases the heavy duty cords are no more capable than the standard cords in wire guage - they just put more rubber on the covering and re-label them, look for a wire guage of 10 or even 8 (smaller guage = larger wire, don't ask me why). Longer runs need larger wire.
Look at this as a chance to get water supplied out to the trailer in the same trench as the power line.
Mike
Good advice there.. IF you decide to go with the extension cord.. do not buy one from lowes, home depot, etc... either buy one at an RV store, or have one built by an electrical informed person or friend, using the right type and gauge of wire needed, and NO longer then needed.
__________________
See our blog here on how two RV/AS rookies tackle a 1979 Sovereign resto!!

Just the photos.. (sometimes you don't need the blog, just a picture worth a thousand words..)

1979 Sovereign International
2004 Ford Expedition Eddie Bauer
2 Golden Retrievers

Air #36788
TAC#3179
WBCCI #1265
Dakota's Dad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 05:28 PM   #39
Rivet Master
 
cclarkego's Avatar
 
1966 24' Tradewind
Oak View , California
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,063
Images: 8
Plugging in at home

Quote:
Originally Posted by NevadaGeo View Post
Oh, be sure to not plug in your volt meter lead plugs to the AMP mode, that will burn up your meter (bought that shirt)
Can you explain how you do this so I am sure NOT to do it?

Carol
__________________
cclarkego is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 05:34 PM   #40
Rivet Master
 
cclarkego's Avatar
 
1966 24' Tradewind
Oak View , California
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,063
Images: 8
Next question:

Quote:
If, for any reasons, you should overload the Airstream's circuit?
It will just trip the fuse box. It is very sensitive to being slightly abused..Ask me how I know this..
Please mute all laughing channels.......I believe the fuse box is somewhere in the back of the trailer. How would I know which fuse tripped?

Carol (aka Electroidiot)
__________________
cclarkego is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 05:35 PM   #41
Liberator
 
klattu's Avatar
 
1972 Argosy 24
1989 34.5' Airstream 345
Heart of Dixie , Alabama
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,646
Images: 834
What is the problem with extension cords from Lowes/HD ?
I see 10 gauge cords there, whats wrong with them ?
__________________
Your opinion is valued, please not your opinion of someones else's opinion.
Click To See Me Wet
1989 Airstream 345 Liberator...
1972 Argosy 24'...
1954 Feathercraft Vagabond
klattu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 05:44 PM   #42
Rivet Master
 
wkerfoot's Avatar
 
1979 23' Safari
1954 29' Liner
Orange , California
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,667
Quote:
Originally Posted by klattu View Post
What is the problem with extension cords from Lowes/HD ?
I see 10 gauge cords there, whats wrong with them ?

I don't believe that they have a 30A plug on the ends.

Bill
__________________

__________________
Bill Kerfoot, WBCCI/VAC/CAC/El Camino Real Unit #5223
Just my personal opinion
1973 Dodge W200 PowerWagon, 1977 Lincoln Continental, 2014 Dodge Durango
1979 23' Safari, and 1954 29' Double Door Liner Orange, CA

http://billbethsblog.blogspot.com/
wkerfoot is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motor Home Gun Laws winner On The Road... 26 08-17-2009 03:45 PM
Finally! Bringing it home... pjtaia Our Community 12 09-30-2002 09:31 PM
Home Page Photos ViewRVs Forum Admin, News and Member Account Info 1 09-09-2002 04:20 PM
I finally got it home.... Chuck On The Road... 15 07-03-2002 12:11 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.