Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-22-2013, 08:44 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
2010 19' Flying Cloud
tucson , Arizona
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 23
Only one out of 4 outlets is serving power

Hi all. I got my 2011 19' Flying Cloud Bambi out of storage and have been driving cross-country, and I've noticed that only one outlet is working. The other three don't serve power when I plug appliances into them. Is this a breaker issue? I would appreciate any advice, if you have it, about how to fix it. Thanks!
__________________

__________________
kayt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 09:04 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member
 
BambiWannabe's Avatar
 
2009 19' International
Wilmington , Delaware
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 54
Images: 4
Had the same problem. Breaker replaced under warranty.
__________________

__________________
WBCCI #1971
BambiWannabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 10:51 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
TouringDan's Avatar

 
1966 24' Tradewind
1995 34' Excella
Lynchburg , Virginia
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,470
Quote:
Originally Posted by kayt View Post
Hi all. I got my 2011 19' Flying Cloud Bambi out of storage and have been driving cross-country, and I've noticed that only one outlet is working. The other three don't serve power when I plug appliances into them. Is this a breaker issue? I would appreciate any advice, if you have it, about how to fix it. Thanks!
I assume this is when you are connected to shore power.

I would check the voltage at the circuit breaker using a voltmeter or use a receptacle tester to check it at the receptacle.

Good luck, Dan
__________________
TouringDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 02:11 AM   #4
Rivet Master
 
Foiled Again's Avatar
 
2012 25' FB Eddie Bauer
Vintage Kin Owner
Virginia Beach , Virginia
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,883
Newbie, be aware that breakers that flip can still look like they're on. And they won't reset until you flip them to OFF, then back to ON. Try resetting all of your breakers before you do anything else.

Paula
__________________
Today is a gift, that's why they call it the present.
Foiled Again is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 04:04 AM   #5
Rivet Master
 
RM66caravel's Avatar
 
1966 17' Caravel
Newport , North Carolina
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,286
Kayt if your if the other 3 outlets are on the same run (outlets often daisy chained together) then you just may have a loose wire. sometimes through vibration awire to the next outlet in the cahin will work loose and thus open the circuit to the remaining outlets. with the circuit breaker off remove the outlet cover for the good outlet and check the wires, if good go to the next outlet in the chain and you should find the loose wire. shorts trip breakers not open circuits.
cliff
__________________
Gotta get busy! Have a great day! Now where did I put those revits?
RM66caravel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 06:13 AM   #6
3 Rivet Member
 
2Tex4Fun's Avatar
 
1970 25' Tradewind
San Antonio , Texas
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 166
Images: 9
I read your answers with interest. We have a similar electrical issue as Kayt. Our problem is when we are plugged into shore power & voltage registers low, one chain of outlets registers 120 & other side registers too low to use. When the shore power registers strong 120--no problems with any of the outlets. Any ideas?
__________________
Victoria & Joseph
2006 30' Classic
1970 25' Trade Wind Custom Renovation
2Tex4Fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 02:55 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
Foiled Again's Avatar
 
2012 25' FB Eddie Bauer
Vintage Kin Owner
Virginia Beach , Virginia
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Tex4Fun View Post
I read your answers with interest. We have a similar electrical issue as Kayt. Our problem is when we are plugged into shore power & voltage registers low, one chain of outlets registers 120 & other side registers too low to use. When the shore power registers strong 120--no problems with any of the outlets. Any ideas?
Loose wire, poor connection. Also make sure you aren't getting arcing at the post from a bent 30 amp pin, etc.
__________________
Today is a gift, that's why they call it the present.
Foiled Again is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 04:12 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
RM66caravel's Avatar
 
1966 17' Caravel
Newport , North Carolina
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,286
2tex you have the opposite problem which means power down (disconnect all power shore and battery) then with a volt meter set to ohm stick the probe in 1 part of the outlet of the bad chain and the other probe to a shell contact such as window frame. Both blades should read open or max resistance the pin or round ground should be lower resistance.
Short to shell or liner.
Cliff
__________________

__________________
Gotta get busy! Have a great day! Now where did I put those revits?
RM66caravel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.