Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-29-2015, 10:19 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
2015 27' FB International
San Jose , California
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 17
Newbie question about routing coax cable

Hi there! I've been officially full-timing since July and have had our local internet service technician install the coax cable from the outside box to the inside via the door as a temporary solution. Does anyone have any best practices in routing the cable inside to the router? Am I doing it wrong?
__________________

__________________
theflash44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2015, 09:34 PM   #2
cwf
Rivet Master
 
cwf's Avatar
 
1999 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Hillsboro , Texas
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5,928
Images: 2
Howdy!
Some pics of your layout would help. I ran my AC power and drain lines "inside" and attached to ceiling. Would be easy to do similar for your situation perhaps.
__________________

__________________
Peace and Blessings..
Channing
WBCCI# 30676
cwf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2015, 12:25 AM   #3
Don't forget your cat nap
 
Ag&Au's Avatar
 
Port Orchard , Washington
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4,464
Images: 1
I would start with trying to route the cable via the same route as used for the cable TV cable. Some disassembly may be required.

Ken
__________________
Ag&Au is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2015, 07:26 AM   #4
Lost in America
 
mojo's Avatar
 
2015 27' FB International
2006 25' Safari FB SE
2004 19' International CCD
Oak Creek , Arizona
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,506
You could drill right through the trailer walls on the street side under the dinette seat and add a RV coax plate on the outside. Then run the coax to wherever your router is located. Had to do this on my 25er to get satellite connection to the receiver box.
__________________
This is the strangest life I've ever known - J. Morrison

The Nest Egg - 2015 Airstream International Serenity 27FB
Silverado 2500HD Chevy Duramax Diesel

mojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2015, 09:01 AM   #5
Rivet Master
 
AStreamNerds's Avatar
 
2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
Manassas , Virginia
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 555
Images: 6
You already have a COAX outside that runs into the AS. You could add a splitter behind the TV and mount the router there - disable the amp or just make sure the switch is off. No running wire needed.
__________________
You Tube Channel "Airstream Nerds":
https://www.youtube.com/c/airstreamnerds

Find Us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/airstream.nerds.7
AStreamNerds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2015, 09:14 AM   #6
Rivet Master
 
2016 30' Classic
Erie , Colorado
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,245
Images: 1
For a quicker job run it through the refrigerator compartment and leave it coiled on the bottom of the compartment. The bottom inside lip of the refer door has two drainage notches cuts. I simply lay my cable in that space and gently close the door. This woks for my cellular boost cable, ham radio coax and an ethernet cable for a wifi booster. Easy to the pull cable into the coach with a small to medium hole.
__________________
Gary
2015 Classic
2015 GMC Sierra 2500HD Duramax
ProPride
NVPN
ghaynes755 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2015, 11:44 AM   #7
2 Rivet Member
 
1969 21' Globetrotter
Seattle & Olympic Peninsula , Washington
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 88
You can always pop one of these in under the window frame...

152 | ShowMeCables.com
__________________
EvelynDickinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2015, 12:02 PM   #8
Don't forget your cat nap
 
Ag&Au's Avatar
 
Port Orchard , Washington
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4,464
Images: 1
After reading these replies, I would pick the method of buying two of the appropriate splitters and using the current cable TV cable for both signals with one splitter on each end. Keep in mind the that the inside splitter must be placed somewhere before the cable attaches to the external TV antenna preamplifier/switch.

Thinking about this makes me curious. Since you have cable internet, I am thinking you must be full timing in a permanent place. Therefore I am thinking you probably also have cable TV from same provider. That makes me wondered why cable TV and internet are not already coming into the trailer on the same coax.

Ken
__________________
Ag&Au is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2015, 04:49 PM   #9
2 Rivet Member
 
2015 25' Flying Cloud
Tappahannock , Virginia
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 31
I drilled extra holes in the panel behind and to the right side of the TV which gives direct access to the refrigerator compartment. So I run satellite dish coax and internet cable coax through their own independent outlets and uncoil the cables and connectors from the bottom of the fridge compartment when needed. No danger of leaks and pretty much invisible inside and outside (when not in use).
__________________
RivaHaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2015, 09:26 PM   #10
1 Rivet Member
 
2015 27' FB International
San Jose , California
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 17
Ok, so I drew a pic of what my current setup is so I can provide additional detail. I've got the Uverse guy coming back tomorrow and appreciate the help!

See the link for my [crude] drawing. THANKS FOR ALL THE HELP!



http://imgur.com/I1arMk6
__________________
theflash44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2015, 09:37 PM   #11
1 Rivet Member
 
2015 27' FB International
San Jose , California
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ag&Au View Post
Thinking about this makes me curious. Since you have cable internet, I am thinking you must be full timing in a permanent place. Therefore I am thinking you probably also have cable TV from same provider. That makes me wondered why cable TV and internet are not already coming into the trailer on the same coax.
That's the strange thing to me. When we plugged the coax into the outside receptacle initially, the modem wouldn't connect to the internet once we routed a cable from the coax jack inside to the modem. Strange to me and there wasn't much help when I called Airstream directly.
__________________
theflash44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2015, 12:03 AM   #12
Rivet Master
 
AStreamNerds's Avatar
 
2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
Manassas , Virginia
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 555
Images: 6
In your drawing you have Cat3 listed - I hope you mean Cat5e (or Cat6). But then again if I am following your diagram correctly it should be COAX (RG6) ran from the splitter to the modem. And then from the modem Cat5e or Cat6 cable to PC/Router/Network device.

I am not entirely sure the wiring diagram for the inside cabling - I would assume that the CATV jack has an amp behind it and for standard cable to pass through you need to turn amp off but you may need to bypass the amp altogether which would mean removing the CATV plate behind the TV to see what is there. As far as the SAT connection is concerned - it may just run to where the DVD is and you will have to take apart the shelf inside the cabinet to access. If that is the case then you can run from jack outside labeled SAT and install Modem inside the cabinet.

If neither of that appeals to you then run it as ghaynes755 said through the fridge panel.
__________________

__________________
You Tube Channel "Airstream Nerds":
https://www.youtube.com/c/airstreamnerds

Find Us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/airstream.nerds.7
AStreamNerds is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coax Cable for Outside Cable Connection Frank&Mike Audio, Video & TV 7 12-17-2012 09:16 AM
Outside Coax Cable Box & Antenna Rolo Audio, Video & TV 0 06-07-2011 08:20 AM
Cable TV/ Satellite Receiver Dual Coax Face Plate pwesterman 2008 Safari SE 2 11-14-2010 02:09 PM
2010 Int'l: Does cable coax go straight thru? or thru amp? amm3824 Audio, Video & TV 2 10-18-2010 09:32 PM
Breakaway cable routing. ROBERTSUNRUS Brakes & Brake Controllers 16 12-27-2008 01:33 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.