Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-07-2012, 07:13 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
Leaper's Avatar
 
1978 31' Sovereign
Grosse isle , Manitoba
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
New to airstream, we have a refrigerator problem.

His is our first weekend in our 1978 sovereign 31' airstream. When taking over the unit, sadly, during the winter, the electrical in the fridge no longer works on AC, lights are on, but the unit wont cool on Ac, it does work on propane to cool. All of the indicator lights say the machine is fine on AC. Any one have Ny thoughts?
__________________

__________________
Leaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 07:23 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
Splitrock's Avatar
 
Currently Looking...
Sioux Falls , South Dakota
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,398
Blog Entries: 20
Welcome!

Bump for the refrigerator crowd.

I think those have an electric heating element. Make and model of the refrigerator will help.
__________________

__________________
Click on the link to see a picture of the Sioux River falls near my home.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...g?t=1278182564
Eastern South Dakota is very pretty with hills, rivers, and trees.
Splitrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 07:32 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member
 
Leaper's Avatar
 
1978 31' Sovereign
Grosse isle , Manitoba
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
Ok, next weekend, i will take that info down, and repost, THANK YOU!, if we narrow downthe issue, it will help identifying someone who can fix. We found this odd, that the lights on, and the indicator lights all agree there is power to the fridge, it just isnt working.

The former owners did replace the refirgerator 3 years ago.

Doesnt look like a fun job.
__________________
Leaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 07:34 PM   #4
1 Rivet Member
 
Leaper's Avatar
 
1978 31' Sovereign
Grosse isle , Manitoba
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
We have some aluminum buds, on a side note, i'm getting a miniature airstream made as a dog house for our mutt.
__________________
Leaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 07:35 PM   #5
Moderator
Commercial Member
 
eubank's Avatar
 
1967 30' Sovereign
Bosque Farms , New Mexico
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,428
Ah, it's a newer fridge! That's important to know!

And welcome to the forums!


Lynn
__________________
WBCCI 21043
eubank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 07:49 PM   #6
1 Rivet Member
 
Leaper's Avatar
 
1978 31' Sovereign
Grosse isle , Manitoba
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
Thank you, im trying to learn fast here.
__________________
Leaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 08:35 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
TBRich's Avatar

 
2006 19' Safari SE
Tucson , Arizona
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,483
Images: 64
The light and the indicator lights are probably 12v ... make sure the fridge is plugged into the AC electrical outlet that should be located in the outside compartment at the back of the frig. Also check that outlet for power. Ours is on the same circuit that the GCFI circuit is on, so when that pops, the electrical outlet for the frig also goes off.
__________________
TB & Greg and Abbey Schnauzer
AirForums #21900 . Membership Chair, 4C
Unit #3954
Travel Log: AZBambi...On the Road Again
TBRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 08:48 PM   #8
Site Team
 
Aage's Avatar
 
1974 31' Sovereign
Ottawa , ON
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11,204
Images: 25
Isn't this when someone usually says, "Those factory boards are garbage, get a (is it Alligator, Crocodile?) one."
__________________
“Courage is being scared to death, but saddling up anyway.”
...John Wayne...........................
Aage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 03:42 PM   #9
bilby05
 
bilby05's Avatar
 
1962 24' Tradewind
1962 24' Tradewind
Canyon , Texas
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 264
Dometic board

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aage View Post
Isn't this when someone usually says, "Those factory boards are garbage, get a (is it Alligator, Crocodile?) one."
Dinosaur, good product.
__________________
1962 Airstream Tradewind
2001 Ford 7.3 Diesel
bilby05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 03:46 PM   #10
Site Team
 
Aage's Avatar
 
1974 31' Sovereign
Ottawa , ON
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11,204
Images: 25
Dinosaur, thanks, bilby.

Did we ever hear the resolution to this problem...?
__________________
“Courage is being scared to death, but saddling up anyway.”
...John Wayne...........................
Aage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 01:55 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
53flyingcloud's Avatar
 
1984 29' Sovereign
Savannah , Missouri
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,458
Images: 17
Blog Entries: 1
Leaper, for a 3 yrs old frig, it's not normally gonna have problems..I'm thinking your problem is outside of the refrig unit..Check your 120 ac plug where the refrig plugs in..make sure it's hot~ You could, just fort he sake.. try using an extension power cord to plug the frig to a good, known commercial pwr sources. If it works..that eliminates the frig unit~totally. I do know the battery needs to be fully charged, and the uni-volter needs to be functioning properly..These things can contribute to a refrig not working properly..You might also need to ohm meter out the electrical heating element in the refrig..just be sure you are unplugged~!! These are several of my thoughts..good luck~!! 53FC
__________________
WBCCI 5292 AIR 807
NEU #64
New England Unit
53flyingcloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 11:59 PM   #12
1 Rivet Member
 
1985 31' Excella
Santa Fe , New Mexico
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 19
I'm having this same problem in my 85, with original domestic. Thanks for the ideas.
__________________
Land Grover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 07:59 PM   #13
2 Rivet Member
 
1972 25' Tradewind
Innisfail , Alberta
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 30
Images: 5
Our fridge isn't working on electric either- I wondered if it could be a beaker-but can't find them; anyone know where they are located in a '72 25 foot Tradewind?
Garth & Joanne
__________________
gtijewlr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 09:07 PM   #14
Rivet Master
 
Splitrock's Avatar
 
Currently Looking...
Sioux Falls , South Dakota
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,398
Blog Entries: 20
An easy way to check to see if the cord has 120 volt power is just to touch it with a no contact voltage tester. About $10 at home center. Electric/gas refrigerators have switches to select power source. Sometimes those switches go bad. I understand sometimes the board goes bad. This is my problem trying to DIY something I don't have training for or the tools to repair.
__________________

__________________
Click on the link to see a picture of the Sioux River falls near my home.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...g?t=1278182564
Eastern South Dakota is very pretty with hills, rivers, and trees.
Splitrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.