Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-29-2012, 06:27 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1966 24' Tradewind
Fall River , Massachusetts
Need help with electrical wiring

I have a 1966 tradewind that I have been chipping away at for a couple of years. I am at the wiring phase and started tackling the 110v system.

A while back I did some research on a progressive dynamics 4300 converter that seemed to meet my needs. It was a while ago so I am wondering how technology has changed and if it's still a good choice.

So I started running 12/2 wire and have the following configuration:

Circuit 1: 4 standard outlets (1 for small fridge, 1 for tv/radio, 1 in bunk area, 1 in general area)

Circuit 2: 3 standard outlets (1 in bathroom, 1 in bunk area and 1 in kitchen)

Circuit 3: microwave, two plugs in front dinette area

Couple of questions, is this an ok setup? The converter I am looking at has 5 breakers? Will this current setup work considering I still have an ac, water heater, water pump, vent fan, kitchen fan and heater ? I am not sure if all these need a circuit since the heater and water heater are propane/electric (suburban and atwood water heater )

How should I run it to avoid tripping the breaker? Thank you all.
Sairaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 07:10 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Unless the water heater is electric it won't need 120 volt power. The water pump, heater (furnace), oven vent and roof vents are all 12 volts, along with the interior lighting. The water heater may need 12 volts as well as the refer, depending on the model.
Your 120 volt circuit layout should be fine.
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote