Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-10-2004, 11:26 AM   #1

need help on univolt converter

I recently purchased a 72 Overlander at an auction. The unit has been very well kept, and everything seems to work on it, but the univolt converter is missing, and has been replaced with a small trickle charger, which cannot keep up with the battery drain when the interior lights, or furnace are on. I am new to the RV seen and know little to nothing on how the power distribution works on these things. The way I understand , from reading the owners manual, the lights, and other various items operate off of the battery, except when you have extenal power hooked up ie 115volt power cord, then the univolt takes over, and runs your interior lights, and charges your battery. Am I right so far? If so what can I buy at the local RV dealer to replace this univolt with and how many amp does it need to be to run my interior lights and furnace? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you
72 Overlander 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2004, 11:37 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

1964 26' Overlander
1978 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
Anna , Illinois
Send a message via Yahoo to overlander64
Greetings 72 Overlander 1!

Welcome to the Forums and the world of Vintage Overlander ownership!