Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2012, 06:41 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
2010 27' FB International
Santa Fe , New Mexico
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
MicroPulse Monitor Gray Water Flashing Red

After being without an Airstream for the past year, I'm delighted to be in the midst of my first road trip with my new one. It's a 2010, and everything had been checked out by a dealer.

However, I'm now set up at the park and the Gray Water light on the MicroPulse Monitor is flashing red. Whenever I dump the gray tank, the sensor goes back to green. However, after about 24 hours with MINIMAL water usage (ie. only 3 toilet flushes, 1 5-min shower using water-saver), the sensor again begins flashing red.

Any ideas, anyone? I put a call in to the service department at the dealer, but haven't heard back yet. I know the tank isn't full or about to overflow, but the flashing light is still unnerving. :-)

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Acker997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 06:45 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
SteveH's Avatar
 
2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5,311
I don't know what's wrong with it, but good luck getting it fixed and keeping it working right....I've owned three Airstreams with the tank guaging systems and not one has worked correctly yet. However, mine always register low, and yours is reading high.
__________________

__________________
SteveH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 06:48 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member
 
2010 27' FB International
Santa Fe , New Mexico
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Steve, any ideas about how to gauge levels without the monitors? Sounds like you've had some practice.
__________________
Acker997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 06:51 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
SteveH's Avatar
 
2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5,311
No, I don't know, and I have a friend who bought an '11 30', had the same problem, took it in for service, and it came back without the problem being fixed. All they did was fill the tank and not drain it. Hopefully your dealer will do a better job.
__________________
SteveH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 06:55 PM   #5
4 Rivet Member
 
fmrcaptevil's Avatar
 
Currently Looking...
Weldon Spring , Missouri
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 456
I think either the monitor needs to be recalibrated, or the gray sensor is in the process of crapping out. If the other tank levels are still being reported correctly, it's probably the sensor, and when it goes completely, the gray water position on the monitor panel won't light at all.
__________________
You mess with me, you mess with the whole trailer park.
fmrcaptevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 07:03 PM   #6
Moderator
 
moosetags's Avatar

 
2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
2012 23' FB Flying Cloud
2005 25' Safari
Santa Rosa Beach , Florida
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10,762
Images: 5
Greetings from the Florida Panhandle

Welcome to the Forums. We're glad to have you with us.

As to your problem, there is a calibration procedure to reset the MicroPulse System. You can find it on their website; just Google micropulse monitor.

In the meantime, just fill the fresh water tank, and work out of it. When the fresh tank is empty, the gray will be close to full.

Brian
__________________
SuEllyn & Brian McCabe
WBCCI #3628 -- AIR #14872 -- TAC #FL-7
2015 FC 25' FB (Lucy) with HAHA
2005 Suburban 2500 Quadrasteer (Olivia) & 2018 Silverado 2500 (Lillian)
moosetags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 07:08 PM   #7
4 Rivet Member
 
fmrcaptevil's Avatar
 
Currently Looking...
Weldon Spring , Missouri
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 456
Your challenge with the FB floorplan will be accessing your gray and black sensors. Since it's apparent that you'd like this system to work as advertised, (as do I), I'd consider having my dealer install access panels in the aluminum box that encases both of those tanks, because unless you cry "uncle", like most do, you'll need to get in there occasionally.
__________________
You mess with me, you mess with the whole trailer park.
fmrcaptevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 07:11 PM   #8
1 Rivet Member
 
2010 27' FB International
Santa Fe , New Mexico
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Thanks a bunch, Brian! I probably should've thought of that -- makes perfect sense. I'll go with that for now. :-)
__________________
Acker997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 07:48 PM   #9
2 Rivet Member
Commercial Member
 
Brookfield , Wisconsin
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 68
For purposes of full disclosure I am a "future vendor" and would be sending this response as RTOS_1_LLC if I remembered my password, but my prior identity will do fine. Now that you know I have possible business motives, I will soon be selling a "reliable" unit that is far more accurate than any tank sensor system needs to be, but am wondering how many "Do It Yourselfers" are capable of installing a simple NPT to flexible tubing fitting in their tank discharge lines and routing a flexible tube to the electronic monitoring unit? Another approach would be to install a small diameter pipe vertically into the top of the trailer tank and then also routing the flexible tubing to the electronic unit. Is there easy access to the top of the tanks in "your model of trailer" or would installation of a small fitting in the discharge pipe be easier? The only other thing you need to do in a "basic system" is supply it with +12V and ground. I am trying to finalize "installation kits" and not sure what "real users" would prefer, thus you comments whether you would replace you current system or not is greatly appreciated. In effect, all these complaints about "unreliable systems" is what motivated me to develop this product line.
__________________
C5Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 07:59 PM   #10
3 Rivet Member
 
dsrtgrls's Avatar
 
2010 19' Flying Cloud
Clarkdale , Arizona
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 244
Images: 4
so someone is listening and thinking (not airstream). i would love to replace my system in our 2010 bambi to one that actually worked and kept working with easy maintenance but could not do it myself. maybe someday a dealer or rv place will offer the goods you speak of. i could only dream.
__________________
"Open paddock 9!"
dsrtgrls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 08:04 PM   #11
4 Rivet Member
 
drew05's Avatar
 
2011 25' FB Flying Cloud
Peculiar , Missouri
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 488
The instructions are a little confusing, but you can calibrate only one tank. If your sensor is bad you will need to cut some of the sheet metal to access the sensor. It's not a difficult repair. I think the sensor costs about $50-60.

Good Luck
Drew
__________________
drew05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 08:07 PM   #12
Rivet Master
 
Bruce B's Avatar

 
2012 16' International
Jamestown , Rhode Island
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,387
Images: 1
Our Micropulse drove me a little crazy when we purchased out trailer. I re calibrated the unit 3 different times before I called the manufacturer and had a long "chat" about the system. Once I was armed with some information, a new sensor and some ideas of what to look for I got the system up and running and it seems to be fine now! Like anything "electro-mechanical" you need to get yourself informed and take the bull by the horns and make it "right". Ask me in a year but I believe the system will now work just fine going forward...
Bruce
__________________
Bruce B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 10:08 AM   #13
2 Rivet Member
Commercial Member
 
Brookfield , Wisconsin
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 68
dsrtgrls: Yes, that will happen down the road as this product can optionally be calibrated to provide tank volume measurements accurate to a tenth of a gallon. Ya, I know no one needs that, but is a side effect of the technology. And yes, we are listening, as the customer will always provide honest, and often brutal, opinions on what you like, don't like, and need.
__________________
C5Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 12:57 PM   #14
Figment of My Imagination
 
Protagonist's Avatar
 
2012 Interstate Coach
From All Over , More Than Anywhere Else
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10,305
Apparently Airstream is thinking about problems like this. My Interstate uses a completely external tank sensor system, which uses sensors glued to the outside of the tank at the empty, 1/3, 2/3, and full levels. The system is made by TouchSensor LLC. Being external and not exposed to the tank's contents, the sensors cannot clog, and are more accessible for replacement if required. As a bonus, the TouchSensor system monitors my freshwater, graywater, blackwater, and propane tanks.
__________________

__________________
WBCCI #1105
TAC LA-4

My Google-Fu is strong today.
Protagonist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.