Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2013, 08:16 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
ibskot's Avatar
 
1978 Argosy 30
locust , North Carolina
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 46
lights?

Help please!...I have a/c and outlets but my exterior flood/porch lights and my interior lights don't work. I flipped the breakers but to know avail. Any idea?
__________________

__________________
ibskot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 08:18 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
SteveSueMac's Avatar

 
2012 27' Flying Cloud
W , New England
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,412
When you say you flipped the breakers, did you turn them all the way off first and then turn them back on?
__________________

__________________
SteveSueMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 08:33 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
Alumaholic's Avatar

 
1966 24' Tradewind
Albuquerque , New Mexico
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,751
Images: 33
Need More Info Please

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibskot View Post
Help please!...I have a/c and outlets but my exterior flood/porch lights and my interior lights don't work. I flipped the breakers but to know avail. Any idea?
Your outlets are 120 volt AC.
Your flood/porch lights and interior lights are 12 volt DC.
Please tell us what year and model Airstream or Argosy we are dealing with, and our answers will skyrocket in accuracy and relevance.
Why not put this information in your Avatar? Is it a 1976 Argosy 27?
__________________
Ken L
1966 Tradewind 24
2007Chevy Silverado 2500 HD Duramax/Allison
Four Corners Unit WBCCI #8654
Alumaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 08:37 PM   #4
Rivet Master

 
Southwestern , Ohio
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,669
Quote:
Originally Posted by ibskot View Post
Help please!...I have a/c and outlets but my exterior flood/porch lights and my interior lights don't work. I flipped the breakers but to know avail. Any idea?
OK--you do understand that your interior and exterior lights run on 12 V DC, while your AC outlets run on shore power, 120 V AC.

You need to trace your 12 V system. Got voltage at the coach battery? Connections tight? 12 V fuses/breakers OK? Some Airstreams have a switch that disconnects the battery while in storage. If you have one, that needs to be in the right position for the 12 V system to work.
.
__________________
Nuvite-F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 08:40 PM   #5
2 Rivet Member
 
ibskot's Avatar
 
1978 Argosy 30
locust , North Carolina
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alumaholic View Post
Your outlets are 120 volt AC.
Your flood/porch lights and interior lights are 12 volt DC.
Please tell us what year and model Airstream or Argosy we are dealing with, and our answers will skyrocket in accuracy and relevance.
Why not put this information in your Avatar? Is it a 1976 Argosy 27?
78 argosy 30.

I tried modifying my avatar the last time and it kicked me out. I try it again.
__________________
ibskot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 09:27 PM   #6
2 Rivet Member
 
ibskot's Avatar
 
1978 Argosy 30
locust , North Carolina
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveSueMac View Post
When you say you flipped the breakers, did you turn them all the way off first and then turn them back on?
If I understand you correctly then yes.
__________________
ibskot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 06:26 AM   #7
Rivet Master
 
1977 31' Sovereign
1963 26' Overlander
1989 34' Excella
Johnsburg , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,941
You need to buy a cheap multimeter and start looking where voltage is present and not present, starting where you plugged in the trailer. You could have a bad input cable or anything after that. After you find out where you are lacking voltage you need to disconnect the power and trace back the problem with the continuity setting.
__________________
dwightdi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 09:46 AM   #8
Rivet Master
 
Alumaholic's Avatar

 
1966 24' Tradewind
Albuquerque , New Mexico
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,751
Images: 33
What is the Status of Your Battery?

Your Argosy has two electrical systems. Your 120 volt AC system (providing “house power” to all your duplex outlets and your air conditioner) is energized when you plug into “shore power.”

Your 12 volt DC system is powered by your 12 volt battery.
The two systems meet at the converter/charger that plugs into a 120 volt AC outlet.
The converter/charger “converts” 120 volt AC to 12 volts DC and it charges your 12 volt battery. (When it is working)

Your Argosy came with a Univolt. There is no such thing as a good, 40-year old Univolt.

If your battery is dead and if the Univolt is not converting and charging, your lights will not work even if you are plugged into shore power.

Please replace it immediately with an Iota DLS-55 or a Progressive Dynamics converter-charger with Charge Wizard.
Only then can you seriously troubleshoot your 12 volt electrical system.
It's the first thing I do when I buy a new, old Airstream. It was even the first thing I did on our 2007 Classic 30.
P.S. Take no reassurance from a "humming" Univolt. That doesn’t mean it is working.
Hope this helps.
__________________
Ken L
1966 Tradewind 24
2007Chevy Silverado 2500 HD Duramax/Allison
Four Corners Unit WBCCI #8654
Alumaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 11:43 AM   #9
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,140
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
I agree with dwightdi. A new converter is in order.
You may also have blown fuses and/or bad fuse holders.
A new fuse block along with the new converter will probably solve the issues you are faced with.
Plenty of help here for the DYIer.
__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 08:15 AM   #10
2 Rivet Member
 
ibskot's Avatar
 
1978 Argosy 30
locust , North Carolina
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 46
Thanks so much.

Does this look like what I need? Is this a simple swap?


Iota DLS-55 12 volt 55 amp regulated battery charger
__________________
ibskot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 08:23 AM   #11
Rivet Master
 
Alumaholic's Avatar

 
1966 24' Tradewind
Albuquerque , New Mexico
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,751
Images: 33
That's a good one!
__________________
Ken L
1966 Tradewind 24
2007Chevy Silverado 2500 HD Duramax/Allison
Four Corners Unit WBCCI #8654
Alumaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 04:16 PM   #12
2 Rivet Member
 
ibskot's Avatar
 
1978 Argosy 30
locust , North Carolina
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 46
So if I got that one and I install a 55 amp service at the shore power site, what else do I need to have 55 amps available in the camper? New breaker box? I have raw land and I am making a driveway. When I get electric brought to the property, I should just just have a 55 amp female mounted. I will be in the camper for a year or so.

Thanks!
__________________
ibskot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 07:00 PM   #13
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,140
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
NO!
The 55 amp is on the 12 volt side of life as they say.
You will need a 30 amp circuit for your coach. Which is just one circuit breaker in the panel where the power pole is.
Depending on future needs, the power panel on the pole should be at least 100 amps and perhaps larger.
The power panel will have a main breaker rated at the capacity mentioned above.
Then there will be space in the panel for numerous circuit breakers. One of which will be a 30 amp "single pole" circuit breaker to provide the 120 volt power to the outlet for your coach. The outlet for the coach will be a specific outlet designed for RV/TRAVEL TRAILER SERVICE ONLY!!!!
Your coach does NOT require a 240 volt service. It requires 120 volts @ 30 amps. Make certain that the electrician knows this,
__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 09:16 PM   #14
2 Rivet Member
 
ibskot's Avatar
 
1978 Argosy 30
locust , North Carolina
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by TG Twinkie View Post
NO!
The 55 amp is on the 12 volt side of life as they say.
You will need a 30 amp circuit for your coach. Which is just one circuit breaker in the panel where the power pole is.
Depending on future needs, the power panel on the pole should be at least 100 amps and perhaps larger.
The power panel will have a main breaker rated at the capacity mentioned above.
Then there will be space in the panel for numerous circuit breakers. One of which will be a 30 amp "single pole" circuit breaker to provide the 120 volt power to the outlet for your coach. The outlet for the coach will be a specific outlet designed for RV/TRAVEL TRAILER SERVICE ONLY!!!!
Your coach does NOT require a 240 volt service. It requires 120 volts @ 30 amps. Make certain that the electrician knows this,
Thanks for the info... Why does the link I supplied say 55 amp? Is that an application for something else?

Ya'll are lots of help.
__________________

__________________
ibskot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.