Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-08-2015, 01:08 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member
 
2004 22' International CCD
2015 30' International
Box Elder , South Dakota
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 175
Just one television electric socket? Really?

I just bought a Roku and tried to attach it to the flat panel in my new (2015) Airstream. There is what looks like a standard 2-outlet socket there on the wall, plus another for the inverter. But only one of the two sockets actually works. The other one is fake! Just molded plastic. What's going on?!
Can I have an electrician replace it with a standard socket, or is there some secret reason why I can't have two 115v plugs there?

__________________

__________________
lbdesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2015, 01:29 AM   #2
Rivet Master

 
2007 22' International CCD
Corona , California
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3,322
On some of these 'fake' sockets, you can kill the power, and open up the thin plastic blank to find a complete socket under there. Then you can use it.

Be doubly darn sure all power is off on the trailer including 12volt to the inverter, and switch the breakers off as well. Getting zapped is no fun. Don't ask me why I know this...


Sent from my pocket Internet using Airstream Forums
__________________

__________________
KE4GNK/AE
'The Silver HamShack' (2007 International 22FB CCD 75th Aniversary model)
Multiple Yaesu Ham Radios inside and many antennae sprouting from roof, ProPride hitch
2012 shortbed crewcab 4x4 Toyota Taco TV with more antennae on it
rmkrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2015, 03:24 AM   #3
Rivet Master
 
SteveSueMac's Avatar

 
2012 27' Flying Cloud
W , New England
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,412
Or just get some of these

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00K8A...let+multiplier
__________________
SteveSueMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2015, 05:30 AM   #4
CLOUDSPLITTER "Tahawas"
 
ROBERT CROSS's Avatar

 
2003 25' Classic
Zanadude Nebula , WNY
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,153
Images: 1
Wink

Or....maybe it's there for a reason.......like, umm... they really would rather you didn't plug two things into the really high quality inverter?

Bob
__________________
PFC.....

“After all these years the reason I continue to love Thanksgiving.....I still sit at the kids table.”
RLC

Sandra wanted to go to Cleveland on vacation,
but I’m the Husband, so we went to Cleveland.
RLC
ROBERT CROSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2015, 07:47 AM   #5
Rivet Master
 
Wayne&Sam's Avatar
 
2014 25' Flying Cloud
Cuddebackville , New York
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3,101
Images: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROBERT CROSS View Post
Or....maybe it's there for a reason.......like, umm... they really would rather you didn't plug two things into the really high quality inverter?

Bob
Except on mine there didn't seem to be any rhyme or reason to which outlet was double and which was single. I had both on the inverter circuits and regular circuits. I had the single changed on warranty.
__________________
2014 25' Flying Cloud Rear Twin
2012 Dodge Durango Hemi/AWD
Wayne&Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2015, 08:56 AM   #6
Rivet Master
 
AStreamNerds's Avatar
 
2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
Manassas , Virginia
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 556
Images: 6
I had the same issue with the outlets...

Amazon.com: QVS PPRT-ADPT2 12-Inch 3-Prong Outlet Saver Splitter Power Adapter with 90-Degrees Flat Plug: Electronics

I used one of the above when I installed the AppleTV's behind our screens...

AStreamNerds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2015, 01:07 PM   #7
1 Rivet Member
 
2016 28' Flying Cloud
Frostproof , Florida
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 8
plug

All you need do is go to walmart and buy a 4 or 6 gang plug and plug in outlet or yes the bottom plug is hot, just use a razor knife or a screwdriver to slightly open the plastic and push a plug through. I did this on my 2016 flying cloud. The blank on the inverter is hot too, on inverter.
Joe Zednick
__________________
jczednick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2015, 01:45 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
TBRich's Avatar

 
2006 19' Safari SE
Tucson , Arizona
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,483
Images: 64
QUOTE=SteveSueMac;1694458]Or just get some of these

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00K8A...let+multiplier[ QUOTE]

That's what we did. Easy fix ... plus you can use it elsewhere when needed, even in regular plugs.
__________________
TB & Greg and Abbey Schnauzer
AirForums #21900 . Membership Chair, 4C
Unit #3954
Travel Log: AZBambi...On the Road Again
TBRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2015, 01:48 PM   #9
2 Rivet Member
 
wareaglewalt's Avatar
 
2017 25' Flying Cloud
Denham Springs , Louisiana
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 59
Blog Entries: 1
Speaking of AppleTV, how do you use yours? I was considering using ours to stream video via AirPlay from iPhone. AppleTV needs a wireless network for this, but I'm thinking not necessarily an internet connection. So possibly I could use an inexpensive wireless router and set up a wireless network to satisfy the AppleTV but not have a connection to the internet. How do others use a video streaming player like AppleTV, Roku, etc. without an internet connection?
__________________
wareaglewalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2015, 03:01 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
Wayne&Sam's Avatar
 
2014 25' Flying Cloud
Cuddebackville , New York
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3,101
Images: 21
I have a router in the Airstream for my rearview camera. I've used it as a local network for AirDrop
__________________
2014 25' Flying Cloud Rear Twin
2012 Dodge Durango Hemi/AWD
Wayne&Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2015, 05:20 PM   #11
2 Rivet Member
 
stsammy's Avatar
 
2015 22' FB Sport
Toronto , Ontario
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 63
My understanding is that the newest version of the Apple TV can tether over Bluetooth, so no wifi required.

I'm going to laugh at myself when my trailer has newer generation tech than my house.
__________________
stsammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2015, 12:06 AM   #12
Rivet Master
 
AStreamNerds's Avatar
 
2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
Manassas , Virginia
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 556
Images: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by wareaglewalt View Post
Speaking of AppleTV, how do you use yours? I was considering using ours to stream video via AirPlay from iPhone. AppleTV needs a wireless network for this, but I'm thinking not necessarily an internet connection. So possibly I could use an inexpensive wireless router and set up a wireless network to satisfy the AppleTV but not have a connection to the internet. How do others use a video streaming player like AppleTV, Roku, etc. without an internet connection?
Check this thread out - http://www.airforums.com/forums/f450...ml#post1687379

I posted all of the info needed to use the AppleTV with Airplay...and yes you no longer need a wifi network for Airplay to work. All you need is the latest model AppleTV3 (model A1469 - number on bottom) and an ipad/iphone. As long as both devices have the latest update Airplay works just fine without the need of network connection of any kind.
__________________
You Tube Channel "Airstream Nerds":
https://www.youtube.com/c/airstreamnerds

Find Us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/airstream.nerds.7
AStreamNerds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2015, 01:53 AM   #13
Rivet Master
 
gandttimes's Avatar
 
2014 25' FB International
2007 20' Safari SE
2005 19' Safari
Qualicum Beach , British Columbia
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 804
Sure is amazing how these threads get hijacked. Just getting interested in the answers to the OP's topic, and away we go.


George
__________________
gandttimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2015, 07:57 AM   #14
Rivet Master
 
Msmoto's Avatar

 
2015 30' International
2009 27' FB International
2007 25' Safari
Greensboro , North Carolina
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,502
Images: 135
The answer to the OP

I have simply broken away the thin plastic which covers the connections behind the outlet cover. In the bedroom I run my external speakers for my television, in the living room, usually plug my computer in.

My guess about the "why" of this being filled in with plastic may be a liability issue as the height of socket, easy accessibility to anyone sitting in the dinette, especially children, may be of concern for the legal bean counters at Jackson Center.

For those who have not removed a socket from the wall, AS uses an "inline" configuration, the duplex sockets simply being pushed over the stripped insulation with out actually cutting the feed wire.

This is my guess today...
__________________

__________________
Happy trails and Good Luck
Ms Tommie Fantine Lauer, Greensboro, NC
AIR #31871 WBAC #4165 K4MTL

www.fantinesvoice.com
Msmoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions on replacing exterior outlet, reflector, & mystery electric socket dgreen78 Lights - Interior & Exterior 3 08-04-2014 01:17 PM
Really, really new!! Globeville Member Introductions 6 08-20-2007 04:33 PM
Mounting television bracket on black television shelf PWRSTRK Audio, Video & TV 3 04-24-2005 03:04 PM
Really, Really, Really Hot swebster Airstream Motorhome Forums 8 11-16-2003 09:46 PM
Really really great site and Airstream FrankR On The Road... 5 07-14-2002 03:10 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.