Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2016, 01:52 PM   #1
Rivet Master
 
Belegedhel's Avatar
 
1973 21' Globetrotter
Houston , Texas
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,107
Jury-rigging shore power at the house

My Airstream (with 30A plug) sits in the driveway near my garage. Power in my garage is limited to two 15A circuits that power the lights and 110v outlets. I would like to plug the trailer in and run the 13500 btu air conditioner. If I use an adapter to plug into one of the 15A circuits, it won't run long before the adapter warms up and the breaker trips. I have looked into just running a 30A circuit out to the garage, but my breaker box is already full, allowing no room for expansion, so in addition to running the line, I would have to replace and rewire my entire breaker box, which gets expensive.

So what I had in mind was to build a jury-rigged pig-tail which would essentially be two extension cords, the male ends of which would each plug into the two separate 15A circuits that are presently in my garage. The female ends would then be spliced together (in a parallel circuit) in a 30A female receptacle, achieving a combined 30 amp capacity.

Anyone see a problem with this? Am I risking breaking laws, burning down my garage, or cooking myself?

Thanks in advance!
__________________

__________________
Belegedhel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 02:00 PM   #2
Zil
3 Rivet Member
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Currently Looking...
egg harbor city , South Jersey
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 200
That is right up there with the most stupid idea this month.
Sorry. You can take a 30 amp circuit out of your existing panel. Move something else to share a different breaker and then install a 30 amp breaker. Use heavy enough wire from the panel to the garage outlet, or you may fry the AC with low voltage.
__________________

__________________
Zil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 02:23 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
Aerowood's Avatar

 
1971 21' Globetrotter
Arvada , Colorado
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,768
What size is your current box and where is it located. You may or may not be able to put in a sub panel. If you could put in a sub panel in your garage you could move the garage circuits to the sub panel thus opening up space on the main panel to put in a breaker for the sub panel. Then put in the 30 Amp 110 service for your trailer. A 50 amp sub panel would be more then enough
Aerowood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 02:27 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
HowieE's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,677
Images: 12
If you take other the Aerowood's approach make sure the fire insurance is paid in full.
__________________
WBCCI 12156 AIR 3144 WACHUNG TAC NJ6
2004 Excursion 4x4
1991 34 ft. Excella +220,000 miles, new laminated flooring, new upholstery, new 3200 lbs axles

HowieE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 02:42 PM   #5
Site Team
 
, Minnesota
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,755
Images: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zil View Post
That is right up there with the most stupid idea this month.
Sorry. You can take a 30 amp circuit out of your existing panel. Move something else to share a different breaker and then install a 30 amp breaker. Use heavy enough wire from the panel to the garage outlet, or you may fry the AC with low voltage.
I guess I would rate this the #1 idea of the month. At least OP asked the question.

Use Aerowood's method.
__________________
markdoane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 02:48 PM   #6
Lost in America
 
mojo's Avatar
 
2015 27' FB International
2006 25' Safari FB SE
2004 19' International CCD
7,650' , Colorado
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,494
Quote:
Originally Posted by Belegedhel View Post
Anyone see a problem with this? Am I risking breaking laws, burning down my garage, or cooking myself?
Yes, call an electrician.
__________________
This is the strangest life I've ever known - J. Morrison

The Nest Egg - 2015 Airstream International Serenity 27FB
mojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 03:12 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
Belegedhel's Avatar
 
1973 21' Globetrotter
Houston , Texas
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aerowood View Post
What size is your current box and where is it located. You may or may not be able to put in a sub panel. If you could put in a sub panel in your garage you could move the garage circuits to the sub panel thus opening up space on the main panel to put in a breaker for the sub panel. Then put in the 30 Amp 110 service for your trailer. A 50 amp sub panel would be more then enough
I appreciate the constructive response. My house sits on a long skinny lot. The house is in the front, and the main breaker box is near the front corner of the house (can't tell you the size off the top of my head). The garage sits in the very back of the lot, so there is roughly 50 yards between the breaker box in the front and the garage itself.

I did start this consideration by calling an electrician. His recommendation, which I would imagine may be the "best" way to do the job (though not the mmost affordable) was to replace the entire breaker box with one that has greater capacity, and then to run the additional 30A circuit back to the garage and so on. The cost of the job was well over $1000 with other potential inflation involved in hiring out the necessary trenching associated with running the 30A circuit.

This led me to consider a way to use the existing circuits and electrical lines to accomplish a temporary (as I never know how long I am going to be at this residence), yet hopefully safe, configuration. Yes, I know it sounds sketchy--this is why I used the term "jury-rig" as opposed to "DIY-Genius solution" in the title.
__________________
Belegedhel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 04:19 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,995
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
Just because you have 2 outlets doesn't mean you have twice the capacity. They are more than likely wired in parallel and fed by one breaker at the house.

Chances are if you only have lights and a couple of outlets in the garage the wire between the house is WAY too small to run a 30 amp circuit.
For that distance you would probably need #4 or maybe #2 wire to provide what you need because of the voltage drop between the house and garage.
It's better and SAFER to do the job right. Make sure if you hire an electrician he knows the trailer requires 120 volts not 240 volts.
__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 04:36 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
kscherzi's Avatar
 
2013 27' FB International
El Dorado Hills , California
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,118
Images: 24
Let's imagine one breaker serves the two outlets and the other breaker serves the lights. This means you'll have to wire in a third outlet drawing from the lights circuit. With lights out you might theoretically have 30 amps at your disposal. However with a jury rigged cord combining the two there's no way to meter the draw between the circuits to ensure its 50/50. So if for watever reason one circuit happens to be asked to supply 65% of the current it will quickly trip leaving the other circuit at 100% and tripping it too.

I wouldn't do it.
__________________
kscherzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 04:47 PM   #10
2 Rivet Member
 
1976 29' Ambassador
Atlanta , Georgia
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 44
As others have said, you can't. It's likely the outlets lead back to the same breaker in the panel. You can't look at the number of outlets and just add up the amps. It's like plugging in a 6 outlet surge protector and saying you have 90 amps.
__________________
Chae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 05:02 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
AnnArborBob's Avatar
 
2014 27' FB Eddie Bauer
Chelsea , Michigan
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,718
Images: 12
It's good that you asked about this before you tried it. My advice to you is simply that you contact a qualified electrician in your area and explore your options with him/her. This is too dangerous to try on your own with advice from the Forum.

If cost is a factor (and it appears that it may be based on a subsequent post) my advice would be to consider how badly you really need to run the AC when the trailer is at your house.
__________________
Bob Martel
WBCCI# 5766
AnnArborBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 06:02 PM   #12
Displaced Beach Bum
 
beachbouy's Avatar

 
2016 30' International
Venice , Florida
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 142
Send a message via Skype™ to beachbouy
Sounds like a garage fire waiting to happen.
__________________
We drag Mitzi a 2016 International Serenity 30, with an Equal-i-zer 1000 yanked around with a 2015 GMC Yukon XL SLT 4x4, 5.3L V8 ECOTEC3, 3.92 axle, 6-speed auto WBCCI #6111 AIR #107335

beachbouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 06:07 PM   #13
Rivet Master
 
SteveSueMac's Avatar

 
2012 27' Flying Cloud
W , New England
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,156
Jury-rigging shore power at the house

Quote:
Originally Posted by Belegedhel View Post
My Airstream (with 30A plug) sits in the driveway near my garage. Power in my garage is limited to two 15A circuits that power the lights and 110v outlets. I would like to plug the trailer in and run the 13500 btu air conditioner. If I use an adapter to plug into one of the 15A circuits, it won't run long before the adapter warms up and the breaker trips. I have looked into just running a 30A circuit out to the garage, but my breaker box is already full, allowing no room for expansion, so in addition to running the line, I would have to replace and rewire my entire breaker box, which gets expensive.



So what I had in mind was to build a jury-rigged pig-tail which would essentially be two extension cords, the male ends of which would each plug into the two separate 15A circuits that are presently in my garage. The female ends would then be spliced together (in a parallel circuit) in a 30A female receptacle, achieving a combined 30 amp capacity.



Anyone see a problem with this? Am I risking breaking laws, burning down my garage, or cooking myself?



Thanks in advance!

Well, I think you've found several folks do indeed have a problem with this - some expressed that concern in more dulcet tones than others...

I notice from your profile you're in TX so I can see why you want to run the AC. I would imagine if you shopped around, you could find a qualified electrician to do the work for less than $1K but honestly, that would be a good price to pay to have the peace of mind that it was done right and in essence, "cheap" insurance against a possible catastrophic fire.

Electricity is just one of those things I never want to mess with.

Good luck!


By the way (on edit) this site has a diagram of how it must be wired (some electricians mistakenly set it up like a washing machine outlet...). http://www.myrv.us/Imgs/PDF/30-amp%20Service.pdf
__________________
SteveSueMac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 06:26 PM   #14
3 Rivet Member
 
kokopat's Avatar
 
Currently Looking...
Hendersonville, NC , North Carolina
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 113
Images: 1
Have you utility company put in another service with meter at the garage. I'm sure they want it done correctly.
__________________

__________________
kokopat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rigging Up A Solar Trickle Charger Chuhhuniban Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 1 03-28-2016 04:29 PM
Long Term Shore Power and House Battery cbrittan Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 30 11-02-2015 01:15 AM
jury duty mykabyka Full-Timing 10 09-15-2013 06:40 PM
Air Conditioner tripping breaker in my house while on shore power Wgbarrbevco General Repair Forum 10 08-16-2012 06:07 PM
Shore power and battery power problems jfremstad Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 5 05-03-2007 08:23 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by



Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.