Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2016, 12:16 PM   #29
Agent 86
 
J. Morgan's Avatar
 
1972 31' Sovereign
1975 31' Excella 500
Currently Looking...
Benton , Arkansas
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,365
Images: 11
Jury-rigging shore power at the house

If my understanding of the above article is correct, you could combine the wires of the two current 20 amp circuits via a single 30 (or 40?) amp breaker, and install a sub panel in the garage with three breaker circuits, one for a 30 amp trailer plug, and one each 20 amp circuit to serve your two existing garage circuits.

This would be a lot cheaper than changing out the main panel.


Superat stultitia.
__________________

__________________
The fact that I am opinionated does not presuppose that I am wrong......

J. Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 12:23 PM   #30
Agent 86
 
J. Morgan's Avatar
 
1972 31' Sovereign
1975 31' Excella 500
Currently Looking...
Benton , Arkansas
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,365
Images: 11
Revision, it seems that this is NOT allowed for smaller wires.

http://www.jade1.com/jadecc/courses/...p?imDif=2580.1


Superat stultitia.
__________________

__________________
The fact that I am opinionated does not presuppose that I am wrong......

J. Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 12:50 PM   #31
2 Rivet Member
 
Parker , williamdcrockett
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdalrymple View Post
A quick wire calculation says 30 amps of single phase 120 volt AC at 150' requires 4 gauge wire.

150' seems like a long measurement, even for a long, skinny home.

Measure and make sure that the 50 yard estimate is correct. The re-arrangement of breakers and/or the addition of a sub panel are acceptable methods to add circuits.

The combining of receptacles via extension cords is not.


Regards,

JD
Rivet Master can you show us the calculation that says he needs 4 gauge wire? I put a 30AMP breaker in an available spot in my panel. Ran a few inches of size 8 wire from the box to a 30AMP RV plug in. Then ran 100' of 8 to the AS. The 100' of wire has RV plugs so it is essentially an RV extension cord. We have been using it to power a 30' International for the last 2 months. Now that summer is here the AC runs everyday.
__________________
wcrockett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 12:56 PM   #32
Newbie
 
joemikeb's Avatar
 
2013 Interstate Coach
Fort Worth , Texas
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by Belegedhel View Post
I did start this consideration by calling an electrician. His recommendation, which I would imagine may be the "best" way to do the job (though not the mmost affordable) was to replace the entire breaker box with one that has greater capacity, and then to run the additional 30A circuit back to the garage and so on. The cost of the job was well over $1000 with other potential inflation involved in hiring out the necessary trenching associated with running the 30A circuit.
Look at it this way, in order of out potential of pocket expense, what will it cost when...
  1. The A/C in the trailer burns out because it is running under low power (brown out) conditions
  2. The improperly provisioned load causes the electrical panel to burn out and you have to replace it under emergency conditions and live in a hotel for a few days while it is replaced.
  3. Your house burns to the ground and takes the trailer along with it.
My advice would be to take the $1,000 and buy lottery tickets. Your odds of a successful outcome are much better.
__________________
Make errors otherwise the Great Spirit realizes
you have finished your purpose on earth.

Navajo saying
joemikeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 12:56 PM   #33
3 Rivet Member
 
Currently Looking...
belen , New Mexico
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 131
Find a 20amp plug like for your washer and get a long 10 gauge cord to run out to the trailer. I plug my 40' motorhome with 50 amp service into an outlet on the porch of our vacation house and can run one A/c with no problems. most outlets by code should be 20 amp but that don't mean they are. And that rig job your considering may just tap into a 220 volt circuit and then your done!
__________________
alantbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 01:13 PM   #34
Rivet Master
 
Belegedhel's Avatar
 
1973 21' Globetrotter
Houston , Texas
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,058
Quote:
Originally Posted by splyb View Post
BTW, jerry-rigging is an approach. Jury-rigging is a crime.

I'm just saying'...

Jay and Lisa
Actually, "jury rigging" is what I was going for--but in this case it may still be illegal (at least for building code):

http://www.dictionary.com/browse/jury-rig
__________________
Belegedhel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 01:15 PM   #35
Rivet Master
 
Belegedhel's Avatar
 
1973 21' Globetrotter
Houston , Texas
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,058
Quote:
Originally Posted by J. Morgan View Post
Revision, it seems that this is NOT allowed for smaller wires.

http://www.jade1.com/jadecc/courses/...p?imDif=2580.1


Superat stultitia.
Good find! Yep, this paralleling approach is what I was going for, but alas, the article indicates that the approach is not supported for smaller gauge wires.
__________________
Belegedhel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 01:17 PM   #36
Site Team
 
, Minnesota
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,679
Images: 59
Maybe they meant jerry-built?
__________________
markdoane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 01:57 PM   #37
2016 26U FC + 2011 LX570
 
Debit's Avatar
 
2016 26' Flying Cloud
Houston , Texas
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 18
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by J. Morgan View Post
If my understanding of the above article is correct, you could combine the wires of the two current 20 amp circuits via a single 30 (or 40?) amp breaker, and install a sub panel in the garage with three breaker circuits, one for a 30 amp trailer plug, and one each 20 amp circuit to serve your two existing garage circuits.

This would be a lot cheaper than changing out the main panel.


Superat stultitia.
Here's an option to consider and one that at least has built-in breakers - just in case...

http://www.streambrite.com/images/in...r-power-I6.jpg
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	steambrite converter box.PNG
Views:	44
Size:	692.3 KB
ID:	265016  
__________________
Debit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 01:59 PM   #38
Rivet Master
 
JimGolden's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
1977 31' Excella 500
Berkeley Springs , West Virginia
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,611
Images: 7
Slimline Breakers

Why not simply change a few of his regular sized breakers to slim line breakers? Then you free up room in the main panel to install a 30amp or 50amp breaker and run the appropriate sized wire to the new outlet.

Sub panel is nice, but I'd look at slim lines before I went to that trouble.
__________________
- Jim
JimGolden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 02:09 PM   #39
2016 26U FC + 2011 LX570
 
Debit's Avatar
 
2016 26' Flying Cloud
Houston , Texas
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 18
Steambrite.com has this interesting converter box that might be considered. At least it has built-in breakers for each phase of the 240. Perhaps a temporary solution until a licensed electrician can find a dedicated circuit solution.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	steambrite converter box.PNG
Views:	38
Size:	692.3 KB
ID:	265018  
__________________
Debit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 02:17 PM   #40
Rivet Master
 
jdalrymple's Avatar

 
2009 27' FB Flying Cloud
1991 35' Airstream 350
Jay , Oklahoma
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,514
Quote:
Originally Posted by wcrockett View Post
Rivet Master can you show us the calculation that says he needs 4 gauge wire? I put a 30AMP breaker in an available spot in my panel. Ran a few inches of size 8 wire from the box to a 30AMP RV plug in. Then ran 100' of 8 to the AS. The 100' of wire has RV plugs so it is essentially an RV extension cord. We have been using it to power a 30' International for the last 2 months. Now that summer is here the AC runs everyday.


Mr. Two Rivet:

Any one of a number of online calculators will render the same result.



The use of 4 ga wire keeps voltage loss to 3%.

One can certainly use smaller wire, but voltage drop will be greater.





Regards,

JD
__________________
Jeff & Cindy
[FONT=Comic Sans MS]Remi
'09 27FB Flying Cloud
'91 350 LE MH
jdalrymple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 02:31 PM   #41
3 Rivet Member

 
2016 26' Flying Cloud
Southlake , Texas
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 201
Where is your meter? I installed a sub panel just under the main disconnect which is mounted to the back of the house next to the meter. The panel has breakers and outlets for 50 and 15 amp service. My main panel is in the garage at the other end of the house. It is a 300 amp panel, but to get to the side of the house where the trailer is parked I would have to either tunnel under the driveway or go through the attic, down through the wall and through the brick. Installing the sub panel where I did took about an hour and no digging.
__________________
2016 Flying Cloud 26u
2017 Silverado Duramax 4x4
Equalizer Hitch
Southlake, TX
WBCCI
Bgibbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 04:14 PM   #42
Rivet Master
 
AWCHIEF's Avatar
 
2006 23' Safari SE
Biloxi , Mississippi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 7,589
Images: 33
Don't jack around with electricity. Do it right or not at all please.
__________________

__________________
MICHAEL

Do you know what a learning experience is? A learning experience is one of those things that says "You know that thing that you just did? Don't do that."
AWCHIEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rigging Up A Solar Trickle Charger Chuhhuniban Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 1 03-28-2016 04:29 PM
Long Term Shore Power and House Battery cbrittan Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 30 11-02-2015 01:15 AM
jury duty mykabyka Full-Timing 10 09-15-2013 06:40 PM
Air Conditioner tripping breaker in my house while on shore power Wgbarrbevco General Repair Forum 10 08-16-2012 06:07 PM
Shore power and battery power problems jfremstad Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 5 05-03-2007 08:23 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by



Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.