Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2013, 08:25 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
ModernVista's Avatar
 
2016 28' International
Los Angeles , California
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 66
Inverter shuts down on new 2013 when furnace is on while dry camping

New 2013 airstream.

I found the thread on making the stereo work through speakers, and while parked in my driveway I thought I would test it out. Thing is, it was cold so had furnace on while I was testing...that resulted in the inverter shutting off.

Here is what I had going:

House lights on (LEDs)
Inverter on
Furnace on
DVD and tv and stereo on

Everything turns on but within 5-10seconds of playing the DVD, inverter shuts down. Everything else is fine.

If I turn off blower, inverter is stable and I can play DVD.

This doesn't make any sense to me!

Have lifeline batteries 2x 6volt gpl-4ct, and Victron battery monitor and factory installed solar. Why would running the blower result in inverter shutting down.? Nothing else is plugged into rv circuits. Seems like I was drawing about 5 to nearly 7 amps according to monitor.

Cb
__________________

__________________
ModernVista is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 08:35 PM   #2
Prairie Schooner II
 
Jim Flower's Avatar

 
2012 30' International
1997 25' Safari
1967 20' Globetrotter
Burlington , Ontario
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,182
I assume you mean the 12volt furnace. Make sure that the water heater and fridge are on gas and the thermostat is on furnace, not auto or HP. That is the limit of my ability to fix. That is how I "fixed" mine.
__________________

__________________
Jim
Jim Flower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 08:38 PM   #3
2 Rivet Member
 
ModernVista's Avatar
 
2016 28' International
Los Angeles , California
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Flower View Post
I assume you mean the 12volt furnace. Make sure that the water heater and fridge are on gas and the thermostat is on furnace, not auto or HP. That is the limit of my ability to fix. That is how I "fixed" mine.
Yes, thermostat was on furnace..in this case fridge and heater were off. Furnace doesn't shut down. It works fine. Inverter is the thing that fails when furnace is on...which is why I am confused!

Thanks for the response!

Cheers,

Cb
__________________
ModernVista is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 08:46 PM   #4
Prairie Schooner II
 
Jim Flower's Avatar

 
2012 30' International
1997 25' Safari
1967 20' Globetrotter
Burlington , Ontario
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,182
Yes, it is confusing since the inverter and the furnace are not supposed to be related and I think your 600 watt inverter is more than adequate to run the lights, blue ray, and tv. You never know though what gremlins were installed by the factory.
__________________
Jim
Jim Flower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 08:52 PM   #5
Well Preserved

 
1993 21' Sovereign
Colfax , North Carolina
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 20,193
Doesn't the inverter shut down when battery voltage drops too low?
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup.
Terry
overlander63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 08:59 PM   #6
Prairie Schooner II
 
Jim Flower's Avatar

 
2012 30' International
1997 25' Safari
1967 20' Globetrotter
Burlington , Ontario
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,182
Yes. Good point. There mat be some indicator lights on the inverter that advise of this condition. I know that my 1500 watt inverter has them but I am not familiar with the 600 watt unit.
__________________
Jim
Jim Flower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 09:04 PM   #7
2 Rivet Member
 
ModernVista's Avatar
 
2016 28' International
Los Angeles , California
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by overlander63 View Post
Doesn't the inverter shut down when battery voltage drops too low?
Would this be a result of too small of guage cable or the fact that I replaced stock interstate batteries with 2x 6volt lifelines?
Or something else?


Cheers! Cb
__________________
ModernVista is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 09:17 PM   #8
Prairie Schooner II
 
Jim Flower's Avatar

 
2012 30' International
1997 25' Safari
1967 20' Globetrotter
Burlington , Ontario
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,182
I don't think the battery replacement is an issue nor the factory wire gauge. I would charge the batteries over night and see if the condition persists tomorrow. Also the amp draw seems a little high so ensure that there are no other 110 items in the mix. I hope your converter is not trying to run when the inverter is operating. Search "automatic transfer switch" to find out how nasty that problem can be but first try the battery charge before you get too worried.
__________________
Jim
Jim Flower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 09:22 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
dkottum's Avatar
 
2012 25' Flying Cloud
Battle Lake , Minnesota
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7,716
If you have factory installed solar, you would have factory installed Lifeline batteries. Where did the stock Interstate batteries come from?

doug k
__________________
dkottum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 10:09 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
1988 32' Excella
Robbinsville , New Jersey
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,010
It is possible 1 of your new batteries has a bad cell.

Just had that problem on my fathers scooter batteries reading full change till going up a slight hill then the reading would drop into the red and the scooter would quit (problem of bad cell, not that it was in a new battery).

To check if this is your problem watch the battery voltage with inverter going when the furnace comes on. If the voltage drops a lot get your batteries load tested.
__________________
Wazbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 10:27 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
Wabbiteer's Avatar
 
1973 27' Overlander
1972 29' Ambassador
St. Paul , Minnesota
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,912
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 2
If the stereo has a subwoofer module that may be contributing - the 'embellishment' in low frequencies can look electrically almost like a direct short every time the mass being driven thumps, takes a bunch of power to charge up the system then dump power to the magnetic coil of the woofer...
__________________

Wabbiteer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 10:39 PM   #12
Well Preserved

 
1993 21' Sovereign
Colfax , North Carolina
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 20,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wabbiteer View Post
If the stereo has a subwoofer module that may be contributing - the 'embellishment' in low frequencies can look electrically almost like a direct short every time the mass being driven thumps, takes a bunch of power to charge up the system then dump power to the magnetic coil of the woofer...
That's an easy fix. Just unplug the subwoofer.
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup.
Terry
overlander63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 12:05 AM   #13
2 Rivet Member
 
ModernVista's Avatar
 
2016 28' International
Los Angeles , California
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Flower View Post
I don't think the battery replacement is an issue nor the factory wire gauge. I would charge the batteries over night and see if the condition persists tomorrow. Also the amp draw seems a little high so ensure that there are no other 110 items in the mix. I hope your converter is not trying to run when the inverter is operating. Search "automatic transfer switch" to find out how nasty that problem can be but first try the battery charge before you get too worried.
Batteries were 100% per Victron meter. Solar was good today, and since it was in driveway, there was no draw at night.
__________________
ModernVista is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 12:06 AM   #14
2 Rivet Member
 
ModernVista's Avatar
 
2016 28' International
Los Angeles , California
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkottum View Post
If you have factory installed solar, you would have factory installed Lifeline batteries. Where did the stock Interstate batteries come from?

doug k
sorry, Dealer installed the solar. It's the Zamp system. I had the interstates upgraded after the fact at a local Marine/RV shop that's done some previous work for me on a camper van.
__________________

__________________
ModernVista is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.