Old 10-22-2015, 04:54 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1998 34' Excella 1000
Atwood , Illinois
Installing Ethernet cables

Hello,
I'm a newbie. I just bought my first camper/Airstream in 2013. I'm young but pretty handy and been doing small repairs since I bought it but I don't know much about campers and how to run new wires behind the walls. It is a 1998 34' Excella. I see an existing phone line in it. There is a phone jack in the front of the trailer on the the road side. It goes down the wall under the floor over to the ditch side. I'm not sure where it goes from there. Then there is a phone jack on the outside of the trailer that is right inside of the compartment for the electrical hook ups (I have 2 ac units so I have 2 cords in it). This is also on the road side, at the back. I can open the storage compartment and then there is another little door to get to a couple of other electrical connections but I can't see or seem to get to the phone wire.
I would like to remove this phone cord and put Ethernet cable in its place. Then run it near both of my TVs so I can get internet. Does anyone have any helpful info or suggestions to do this? Am I not seeing a compartment to get to these connections? Any help would be greatly appreciated! It seems like I need to drill out some rivets on the outside of the trailer to get to it but I'm not sure and I really don't want to drill out rivets if I don't have to. I can send pictures, if needed. Just please let me know. Thank you very much!
-Alex

Sent from my iPhone using Airstream Forums

Old 10-22-2015, 05:17 PM   #2
cwf
Rivet Master

1999 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Hillsboro , Texas
Howdy! I own a 34', 1999.. I should NOT 'run' that wire. I would make entry to the AS, then place a wireless router...

All the external (most) should be 'buck riveted' from the factory. I would not 'remove' those rivets, personally..except to fix something.