Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2011, 08:50 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
1970 31' Sovereign
Burnsville , North Carolina
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 60
How to plug into my house

Have a 71 Sovereign and want to plug it into my house but the power cable is not compatible. See photo. What do i need to get? Bill
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00533.JPG
Views:	154
Size:	122.4 KB
ID:	147320  
__________________

__________________
CeloNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 08:57 PM   #2
Moderator
 
moosetags's Avatar

 
2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
2012 23' FB Flying Cloud
2005 25' Safari
Santa Rosa Beach , Florida
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10,764
Images: 5
Greetings from the Florida Panhandle

You have two choices.

1. Get an adapter at Wal-Mart and plug your Airstream into any 15 or 20 amp outlet at your house. Doing this, you can run everything except the air conditioning or heat pump ( if so equipped).


2. Install a 30 amp dedicated RV outlet at your house. Doing this, you can run the whole trailer.

Brian
__________________

__________________
SuEllyn & Brian McCabe
WBCCI #3628 -- AIR #14872 -- TAC #FL-7
2015 FC 25' FB (Lucy) with HAHA
2005 Suburban 2500 Quadrasteer (Olivia) & 2018 Silverado 2500 (Lillian)
moosetags is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 09:05 PM   #3
Site Team
 
Aage's Avatar
 
1974 31' Sovereign
Ottawa , ON
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11,204
Images: 25
Bill,

If you decide to go witih option #1, suggest you put red tape with a note on the switch to the air conditioning or heat pump.

Since you are talking about at home, you might think that you will be the only one to flick switches in your trailer, but your wife|children|close neighbour|whoever might not know that you think that.
__________________
Aage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 09:21 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,140
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
If you want the full capacity of power for the trailer. 30 amp at 120 volts AC. You should have a dedicated service installed with the appropriate receptacle installed. It should match the plug that is currently on your shore power cord. The receptacle is available at Home Depot and it is clearly marked "For recreational vehicle use". The receptacle should be wired to a single pole 30 amp circuit breaker and have the appropriate sized wires for the length from the panel to the trailer location.
__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 12:19 AM   #5
Rivet Master
 
Mexray's Avatar
 
1978 28' Ambassador
Morada , California
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,583
Here's some links to adapters...

30-15 Adapter - $2.99

Camco Power Grip Dogbone Adapter 30F Amp to 15M Amp - $6.49

Get a good, heavy gauge extension cord if you have to run into your garage 15 amp receptacle - I'd use at least a 12/3 (12 ga/3 wire) extension cord...

Your old 'shore power' cord and plug look a bit aged...be sure the wires are clean and bright inside the plug - also take some fine sand paper or steel wool and make the prongs on the plug 'bright'...

You want nice clean connections at all of the plugs - dirty connections will cause resistance and heat under load and could cause problems!
__________________
Ray & Pat; Morada, CA
Mexray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 12:50 AM   #6
Rivet Master
 
TouringDan's Avatar

 
1966 24' Tradewind
1995 34' Excella
Lynchburg , Virginia
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,472
Bill

If you choose option one and connect to a 20 amp circuit breaker you should be able to run the air conditioner if you minimise the other loads- no fridge, water heater, vacuum cleaner etc, but maybe a few lights and a radio. If you do this make sure that your adopter is good for 20 amps, not just 15 amps.

Dan
__________________
TouringDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 07:05 AM   #7
Rivet Master
 
1981 31' Excella II
New Market , Alabama
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,649
It is not hard to install a 30 A outlet if you have basic electrical skills. I put one in last night in about 30mins. The easiest way like most have said is to get an adapter so you can just plug it into the house wall sockets but heavy loads may be a problem. You can get the female receptical and outdoor box at Lowe's. You will need a 30A breaker for your breaker box and some #10 romex. A 30A single pole breaker is best but you can use one pole of a 220V breaker. If you are not up on basic AC electrical work then I don't recommend it. You can also use one pole of an oven or dryer outlet if you have one of those available. When I was visiting my folks over Thanksgiving with the trailer we hooked into an outlet that my dad used for welding. It used a 50A oven outlet. I made a pig tail out of some #10 wire and wired that into a female 30A 120V RV receptical. Both neutral and ground have to be wired to neutral on the oven plug. I hope I have not totally confused you. Any electrician can help you if you want to make a more or less permanant power outlet for your trailer.

Perry
__________________
perryg114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 07:26 AM   #8
2 Rivet Member
 
1970 31' Sovereign
Burnsville , North Carolina
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 60
Thanks!

Thanks to all of you for this information. The only thing I know about electricity is that it can kill you so I am being very cautious. Your advice should keep me alive (for a while). Thanks again.
Bill
__________________
CeloNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 08:34 AM   #9
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,140
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
There is a problem with using #10 wire on a 50 amp circuit breaker. The wire is only rated for 30 amps. So you would have little if any protection. It is also not legal or safe to "double up" or use one side of a 2 pole breaker for both the stove and the RV.
Do it once; do it right; do it for safety.
__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 09:05 AM   #10
Rivet Master
 
1981 31' Excella II
New Market , Alabama
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,649
I never said to hook anything other than the trailer to the oven or dryer connection. #10 is good for 30A. The 30A main breaker in the trailer will protect the trailer from overloads. It is common for folks that have welders and air compressors to have high amperage 220V connections that are great to use for trailers. Many times dryer or oven connections are used for these. By the way, everyone should have a welder and air compression in their shop. When I get around to it I will wire my trailer for 220V 30A. Actually it will be split into two 120V 30A systems. Not quiet as good as 50A 220V but twice the power as 120V 30A.

Perry
__________________
perryg114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 11:03 AM   #11
Rivet Master
 
TouringDan's Avatar

 
1966 24' Tradewind
1995 34' Excella
Lynchburg , Virginia
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,472
Perry

Why would you wire your trailer for 30a 220v?

Dan
__________________
TouringDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 11:15 AM   #12
Wise Elder
 
Jammer's Avatar
 
2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,119
Quote:
Originally Posted by CeloNC View Post
Have a 71 Sovereign and want to plug it into my house but the power cable is not compatible. See photo. What do i need to get? Bill
Get an adapter like the ones Mexray suggests. Most RVers carry at least one. I carry two of them on my trailer at all times (so I have a spare).

Don't try to run the air conditioner or microwave, and if you're using an extension cord, use a heavy one, 12 gauge or larger if possible.
__________________
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 12:21 PM   #13
Rivet Master
 
1981 31' Excella II
New Market , Alabama
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,649
If you get a standard 220V breaker box like you would use in a sub panel you can run 220V into that. There would be a 2 pole 30A breaker as the main. Now each rail has 120V on it from a different 30A circuit. If you need to run off a 120V 30A connection you would make an adapter that shorts both legs of the 220V connector. Now you still have 120V on both sides of the box but they are all from the same circuit. Now you can run full 20A plugs where ever you want. I would put one in the bedroom below the beds for running space heaters etc. I would run another to the microwave and yet another to the AC. The existing wall plugs would be on a 4th 15A circuit. So really you really don't have to dig into the walls you just add more circuits. I have a center bath so the box is in the middle already. All I have to do is run 10-4 wire to the new box. On the outside you would use 10-4 SO cable (extension cord). You would have a standard 50A RV plug on the end of that. You could also run off 120V 30A but you would need a female 50A socket with the two hots hooked together and a male 30A RV plug on the other end of that. The only down side to this is you are relying on the supply pole breaker (external to the trailer) to trip if you put more than 30A on the system in 120V mode. You are not going to exceed the amperage for each circuit but you could draw more than 30A total in which case the pole breaker will trip. There are probably ways around this issue but I have not thought about it in detail yet. What you donít want to do is have a switch inside that shorts the two hots together because if you forget to flip it back when in 220V mode you will have some fireworks. Wiring it into the 120V adapter makes sure that you will not have 220V on it when the hots are shorted.

Perry

Quote:
Originally Posted by TouringDan View Post
Perry

Why would you wire your trailer for 30a 220v?

Dan
__________________
perryg114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 02:04 PM   #14
Wise Elder
 
Jammer's Avatar
 
2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,119
Perry

None of this has anything to do with the question asked and very little of it has to do with the way RVs are usually wired.

I don't think it's especially welcoming to launch into a dissertation on the advantages of some non-standard way to wire RVs when someone new to Airstreaming and new to the forum asks a simple question that has a simple answer.
__________________

__________________
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30 Amp to 15 Amp Adapter to House Power Question Steamboatbob Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 29 04-09-2017 10:43 PM
New 30 amp plug needed ck21084 Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 21 09-29-2016 12:42 PM
Original trailer plug wiring diagram? edglenn Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 11 11-06-2011 08:51 AM
Wet weekend in our Safari OR How I discovered the Blow Out Plug! Brow324 Plumbing - Systems & Fixtures 16 04-18-2011 12:15 PM
Radio on house battery michalakes Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 1 01-05-2011 03:07 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.