Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2011, 02:21 PM   #15
Rivet Master
 
clancy_boy's Avatar
 
2003 22' International CCD
Kiln , Mississippi
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,780
Images: 8
Go to Walmart, in their trailer supply section (often very small section in automotive) is a trailer connector to home 120V adaptor. That is what you need for everything EXCEPT running the AC. Remember - the longer the extension cord the greater the loss of amperage and therefore the less you have to use in the trailer. Keep the distance short, look at what else in the house is on the same circuit you plug into, that will be a draw on the power too. SEE LINK BELOW

Hire an electrician or do it yourself (it's not that hard) buy all the supplies at Home Depot and install a dedicated circuit and weatherproof service box and never have this problem again. Coast about $120, you will be the envy of the neighborhood.



http://www.walmart.com/ip/Road-Power...-Cord/16817356
__________________

__________________
Michael & Tina with Layla and Preston BZ
The family has grown.
2003 22' INTERNATIONAL CCD
clancy_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 02:24 PM   #16
Rivet Master
 
MrUKToad's Avatar

 
2011 28' International
Chatham , Ontario
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,372
Images: 17
Blog Entries: 13
Not realising that there was a 30/15 amp adapter available, I had an electrician fit a 30 amp "RV Only" outlet in my garage. It wasn't cheap but it does allow me to use the trailer as a guest room in the summer.

In researching the matter, I'd read that contractors don't always understand the need for a 120V supply rather than 220V, so I printed something off from the Internet and showed it to the contractor, hoping he wouldn't be offended. The guy that did the work said that he knew about the 120v supply but agreed that many contractors just assume 240. If the OP is going to get a 30 amp outlet fitted, make sure the contractor knows about the voltage!
__________________

__________________
Steve; also known as Mr UK Toad

"You can't tow that with that!"

http://toadsoftowedhaul.com
MrUKToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 07:53 AM   #17
2 Rivet Member
 
1970 31' Sovereign
Burnsville , North Carolina
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 60
So, I got an adapter and plugged the trailer into my house. So far, everything I have turned on works - fridge, lights, bathroom fan, radio. I also turned on the microwave and it worked. Just to be sure I understand, are you saying that I need a 30 amp breaker to safely use this? Thabks. Bill
__________________
CeloNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 08:04 AM   #18
Rivet Master
 
clancy_boy's Avatar
 
2003 22' International CCD
Kiln , Mississippi
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,780
Images: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by CeloNC View Post
So, I got an adapter and plugged the trailer into my house. So far, everything I have turned on works - fridge, lights, bathroom fan, radio. I also turned on the microwave and it worked. Just to be sure I understand, are you saying that I need a 30 amp breaker to safely use this? Thabks. Bill
No, in fact you probably do not want one bigger than a 20 amp in that circuit. The adaptor is generally used for the basic power supply to an RV. Lights, radio, fans can be used on the adapter - the microwave and the AC will need the more substantial dedicated 30 amp plug in. They may work on the adapter but over time the cord will overheat and there will be damage to the electronics in the AC and microwave.

Did you need an extension cord too (other than the RV cord)? That will limit the number of items you can power up at one time. Check the circuit, see what else in the house is using it - if you are not home and it trips the breaker in the house you don't want a home freezer to go off.
__________________
Michael & Tina with Layla and Preston BZ
The family has grown.
2003 22' INTERNATIONAL CCD
clancy_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 08:29 AM   #19
Rivet Master
 
c_lewis77's Avatar
 
1982 34' Limited
Brunswick , Georgia
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,084
Images: 22
I had an electrician install a dedicated 30amp plug in the garage. Well worth the money, all power/ac/ and microwave options available. Being in south coastal ga, I run a dehumidifier in the AS when not in use. The 30amp outlet gives me a little more peace of mind (capacity wise) since the AS is always powered when parked.
__________________
1982 34' Limited
2000 Excursion V10 4x4
WBCCI #3321
TAC #GA-24
c_lewis77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 10:23 AM   #20
Rivet Master<br><img src="/ugala/forums/images/5rivet.gif">
 
CanoeStream's Avatar

 
2006 25' Safari FB SE
St. Cloud , Minnesota
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 13,279
Images: 19
Blog Entries: 3
Hello CeloNC. Welcome to the forum!

You've been properly steered to the inexpensive adapters that will allow you to plug into a standard house grounded 15 amp outlet. You may then operate most of the Airstream's systems -- lights, pump, HW heater, furnace, fridge and the like.

The A/C unit will attempt to draw the available 15 amps and then some. We have seen several threads asking why the extension cord plug melted at the wall outlet. At startup the A/C compressor tries to draw something like 22-23 amps. Lacking that, it still tries to start up -- lugging all the way and this is hard on the compressor, shortens service life, etc. It may seem to work after a fashion (ie, the air may cool a bit), but all around not a good plan at all.

Some (member Chuck) have a 20A outlet and they'll run the A/C only if running no other high-draw appliances like hair dryer, coffee pot, toaster or microwave.

I regularly plug into 15A when I'm readying my Safari for a trip -- just never run the A/C in the driveway. You certainly can ask an electrician about what running a 30A 120V outlet might cost if you want overflow beds in summer heat.
__________________
Bob

5 meter Langford Nahanni

CanoeStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 02:31 PM   #21
Rivet Master
 
TBRich's Avatar

 
2006 19' Safari SE
Tucson , Arizona
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,483
Images: 64
We also had a 30amp/120v line put in for our Bambi which is stored under a "Bambi Port" attached to the house. Fortunatley, our electrical box is just feet from the Port. The Bambi is plugged in all the time so in the summer we can have a cool Bambi...and if cold enough in the winter we can keep the furnace on to keep it above freezing. We also have a regular household line there that we can use for everything but the AC in the event we have guests requiring the dedicated 30amp service. Putting in the 30 amp line is one of the best things we've done ... and well worth hiring an electrician to do it properly.
__________________
TB & Greg and Abbey Schnauzer
AirForums #21900 . Membership Chair, 4C
Unit #3954
Travel Log: AZBambi...On the Road Again
TBRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 08:36 AM   #22
2 Rivet Member
 
1970 31' Sovereign
Burnsville , North Carolina
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 60
Thanks for the info. I am close enough to the house so I don't need an extension cord too. After reading your and other posts, I will definately have an electrician install 30amp service. Bill


Quote:
Originally Posted by clancy_boy View Post
No, in fact you probably do not want one bigger than a 20 amp in that circuit. The adaptor is generally used for the basic power supply to an RV. Lights, radio, fans can be used on the adapter - the microwave and the AC will need the more substantial dedicated 30 amp plug in. They may work on the adapter but over time the cord will overheat and there will be damage to the electronics in the AC and microwave.

Did you need an extension cord too (other than the RV cord)? That will limit the number of items you can power up at one time. Check the circuit, see what else in the house is using it - if you are not home and it trips the breaker in the house you don't want a home freezer to go off.
__________________
CeloNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 10:17 AM   #23
Rivet Master
 
casa3805's Avatar
 
Currently Looking...
Corpus Christi , Texas
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 869
Images: 41
Bill, like you I am a bit fearful of electricity. The very first post gave you your two options. Both will work. I have an adapter and used it for a while just fine. But when it got really hot down here this summer I had an electrician run a dedicated 30 amp plug for me. Mounted on side of garage so I just pull the shore power cord over and connect, just like at a park, I think it was about $150.
Happy camping
__________________
Chuck & Skye
Rock and Roll Will Never Die!

WBCCI 3805
AIR 54011 Since July 2011
casa3805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 11:27 AM   #24
Rivet Master
 
aftermath's Avatar
 
2006 25' Safari FB SE
Spokane , Washington
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,133
Bill,

I live "in town" and have to run an extension cord to my trailer on the street. I can't get close to the garage because of a sloping driveway. I am using the adapter/extension cord system. This system works great for me because I only plug in for pre-trip preparations and an ocassional project done in front of the house. We never use the AC while parked on the street.

If I could park next to the garage I would wire in a 30 amp receptacle. One way to cut down on the cost would be for you to run the wire from the box to the place you want to install the outlet. Run the proper size wire, leave plenty of extra at the box (5 feet) and a couple of extra feet at the outlet. Have all the parts on hand and the electrician would simply connect everything. A pretty easy task. I did one for a friend of mine. He ran the wires an installed the outlet. All I did was hook it all up and we were done in about 20 minutes.
__________________
aftermath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2011, 08:29 AM   #25
2 Rivet Member
 
1970 31' Sovereign
Burnsville , North Carolina
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 60
Thanks again to all for the great assistance. I have a good idea of what i need to do now and I haven't burned the house or the trailer down so i am ahead of the game. All I want for Christmas is a new converter and a 30amp circuit, two things i wouldn't have cared a wit about a month ago. Think I got the Airstream bug. Happy Holidays to all! Bill
__________________
CeloNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2011, 08:41 AM   #26
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar

 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9,406
Images: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by CeloNC View Post
Thanks again to all for the great assistance. I have a good idea of what i need to do now and I haven't burned the house or the trailer down so i am ahead of the game. All I want for Christmas is a new converter and a 30amp circuit, two things i wouldn't have cared a wit about a month ago. Think I got the Airstream bug. Happy Holidays to all! Bill
Hmmmm, sounds like aluminitus alright. Maybe be acute right now....but will soon surely be chronic.
__________________
-Rich-

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 07:07 PM   #27
4 Rivet Member
 
Air-Texas's Avatar
 
2004 34' Classic S/O
Waldorf , Maryland
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 260
What about the parts needed to have a 50A plug in?
__________________
Mike, Miho &
Dallas the Bourbon Boxer

S/OS#069
TAC # TX-33
WBCCI #5702
AIR #60387
"Eva" 2004 Classic Limited 34' S/O
"Wall-E" 2012 Ford F250 King Ranch
Air-Texas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 07:45 PM   #28
Rivet Master
 
clancy_boy's Avatar
 
2003 22' International CCD
Kiln , Mississippi
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,780
Images: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Air-Texas View Post
What about the parts needed to have a 50A plug in?
Midwest Electric - 110V Electrical Power Outlet Box, 50 Amp - Electrical Adapters - Camping World

Buy the 50 amp 120v box and a 50amp breaker to fit your home electrical box (look in the panel box door for model or brand) and I would use #8 wire. Consult with an electrician for proper wire size. Camping World has them in store, Home Depot or an electrical supply store can order one. Setup is the same as the 30amp.
__________________

__________________
Michael & Tina with Layla and Preston BZ
The family has grown.
2003 22' INTERNATIONAL CCD
clancy_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30 Amp to 15 Amp Adapter to House Power Question Steamboatbob Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 29 04-09-2017 10:43 PM
New 30 amp plug needed ck21084 Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 21 09-29-2016 12:42 PM
Original trailer plug wiring diagram? edglenn Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 11 11-06-2011 08:51 AM
Wet weekend in our Safari OR How I discovered the Blow Out Plug! Brow324 Plumbing - Systems & Fixtures 16 04-18-2011 12:15 PM
Radio on house battery michalakes Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 1 01-05-2011 03:07 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.