Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-22-2006, 10:38 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Send a message via AIM to mtccollins
How to hook up 30 amp to my home

What do I have to do to hook up a plug unit that will give me all 30 amps at my house? I have a 66 ambassador and want to work on it at home but the power here needs to be changed. I really need someone to "splain" it to me
Old 11-22-2006, 10:47 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2012 25' FB Eddie Bauer
Vintage Kin Owner
Virginia Beach , Virginia
New circuit

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtccollins
What do I have to do to hook up a plug unit that will give me all 30 amps at my house? I have a 66 ambasdsador and want to work on it at home but the power here needs to be changed
Call an electrician, you'll need a new breaker as well as a 30amp outlet.
You may want to consider having a post installed in your yard or even a water hookup and a sewer drain..... Build a pool, set up your Airstream as a "cabana" and really live it up!

Paula Ford
Foiled Again is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2006, 10:55 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member

reply to reply

I don't want to call an electircian, I just need to know what to do. Who can afford one of those guys and how long am I going to wait? I am very handy and have done a lot of wiring. I think I know how to keep from getting fried
Old 11-22-2006, 11:05 PM   #4
Rivet Master

1979 23' Safari
1954 29' Liner
Orange , California
Quote:
I don't want to call an electircian, I just need to know what to do. Who can afford one of those guys and how long am I going to wait? I am very handy and have done a lot of wiring. I think I know how to keep from getting fried
mtccollins,