Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-04-2015, 12:30 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

2010 25' FB Flying Cloud
Snoqualmie , Washington
How to get 12V inside rear bumper of 25FB

I have bought parts to put together a rear view camera on the back of my 2010 25FB Flying Cloud. I was going to install the camera to the rear bumper - and have the wires run in the rear bumper compartment (where i currnetly stow my dump tubing).

I am a newbie (not yet taken in on it's 1st trip) and have not worked on an AS before. Does anybody have some guidance on what source i should use to get the 12V and how i may route the wires from it (also more detail the better - since completely ignorant at this point on AS construction, etc.). Looking for easiest approach. Also - plan to have the camera always on when dirving (not just for backing up); but could if i have too, run AS with lights on always when driving.
Anders79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 02:17 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2020 28' Flying Cloud
Upper St Clair , Pennsylvania
You can secure wiring off the license plate light or off a tail light. If I remember the 25' does not have a rear storage compartment, but if it does there would be a 12v light in their to pull from.
Volunteer K9 Rehabilitator & Trainer
paiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 02:23 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho