Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2013, 05:55 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
phughes's Avatar
 
2011 23' FB Flying Cloud
Tucson , Arizona
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 12
Home power hookup

Just purchased a 23fb on our way home, is there a way to power the trailer from the house on a 110 volt system? Don
__________________

__________________
phughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 06:15 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
A W Warn's Avatar
 
2000 25' Safari
1999 34' Excella
Davidson County, NC , Highlands County, FL
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,568
If you want everything to operate, including the air conditioner you can have a 30 amp 120v RV receptacle installed. If you just want to plug up to keep the batteries charged you can use an existing standard electric receptacle with an adapter. (I use an adapter at home) Do not try to run the ac using the adapter, it can damage the ac unit.
__________________

__________________
Alan
2014 Silverado 1500 Crew Cab 5.3L maximum trailering package (yes, I'm towing the 34')
A W Warn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 06:21 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
adonh's Avatar

 
1976 31' Sovereign
Missouri City , Texas
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,232
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 6
Here is what you need, Outdoor Power Outlet Box on Sale - PPL Motor Homes. This will need to be wired to your home electric panel with a 30amp breaker.
__________________
Don Hardman
1976 31' Sovereign
adonh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 06:33 PM   #4
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,279
NOTE OF CAUTION !!!!!!!!!!!!!

If you have an electrician to wire your RV outlet................BE SURE THAT IT IS A 120 VOLT, 30 AMP SERVICE AND NOT A 30 AMP, 240 VOLT OUTLET LIKE MOST ELECTRICIANS THINK YOU NEED!!!!!!
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 05:44 PM   #5
1 Rivet Member
 
phughes's Avatar
 
2011 23' FB Flying Cloud
Tucson , Arizona
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 12
Thanks so much for your help. Don & Patti Hughes
__________________
phughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 07:31 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
Sphere Guy's Avatar
 
2016 30' Classic
Currently Looking...
Livingston , Texas
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 563
Don, Yes, there is a way.

1. Purchase a 30 amp/ 110 Volt adapter at any local box store or even Wally World. Less than $10. DON'T use the A/C!!!! Use a 12 gauge or better extension cord, (this depends on the length to the outlet, 25 ft or so) to a regular household outlet.

Sequence:
Outlet to ext cord, adapter, trailer's power cord.

Sid
__________________
Sphere Guy
AIR 50601
Sphere Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 08:32 PM   #7
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sphere Guy View Post
Don, Yes, there is a way.

1. Purchase a 30 amp/ 110 Volt adapter at any local box store or even Wally World. Less than $10. DON'T use the A/C!!!! Use a 12 gauge or better extension cord, (this depends on the length to the outlet, 25 ft or so) to a regular household outlet.

Sequence:
Outlet to ext cord, adapter, trailer's power cord.

Sid
If you intend to use a 30 amp outlet, 12AWG will not carry the current, especially at a length of 25'. I would use a minimum of 10/3 AWG for 30 amps.
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 08:37 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
TBRich's Avatar

 
2006 19' Safari SE
Tucson , Arizona
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,483
Images: 64
15-to-30 amp adapter

Here's the adapter you need to adapt the household plug to accommodate the 30-am male end of your shore power cord.. as mentioned abive don't run the AC or the microwave (if you have one).
Attached Images
 
__________________
TB & Greg and Abbey Schnauzer
AirForums #21900 . Membership Chair, 4C
Unit #3954
Travel Log: AZBambi...On the Road Again
TBRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 08:44 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
MrUKToad's Avatar

 
2011 28' International
Chatham , Ontario
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,372
Images: 17
Blog Entries: 13
I had a 30 amp 120 volt outlet installed in my garage by a certified electrician. It cost quite a bit but is well worth it. I did give the electrician all the warnings about the 120 volt supply against the 240 volt version but he'd already brought an outlet marked "For RV Use" so he knew what he was doing.
__________________
Steve; also known as Mr UK Toad

"You can't tow that with that!"

http://toadsoftowedhaul.com
MrUKToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 08:57 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
Sphere Guy's Avatar
 
2016 30' Classic
Currently Looking...
Livingston , Texas
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 563
Yes, thanks Lewster, I see my error. 12 gauge is WAY too much for 30 amp.

I meant 12 gauge for plugging in the 30 amp power cord to use for lights and fantastic fans and maybe Tele or make a pot of coffee. Surely not to maintain a 30 amp draw.

Thanks for correcting my confusion.
__________________
Sphere Guy
AIR 50601
Sphere Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 09:47 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
bwoodtx's Avatar
 
1997 30' Excella
1961 26' Overlander
1954 22' Flying Cloud
1981 28' Airstream 280
San Antonio , Texas
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by lewster View Post
If you intend to use a 30 amp outlet, 12AWG will not carry the current, especially at a length of 25'. I would use a minimum of 10/3 AWG for 30 amps.
Please correct me if I am wrong. If you are just plugged in and only charging batteries and maybe running a fridge on 110V, surely a 12-2 w/ground extension would carry that minimal load. Can't be more than 10 amps or so could it?
__________________
Bruce
WBCCI# 9259 AIR# 38927 TAC-TX 14
Stop Littering-Spay & Neuter-- Adopt From Rescue
He is your friend, your partner, your defender, your dog. You owe it to him to be worthy of such devotion.
bwoodtx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 10:12 PM   #12
cwf
Rivet Master
 
cwf's Avatar
 
1999 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Hillsboro , Texas
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5,931
Images: 2
I ran SOME my 34' on the 110v 15Amp circuit using a 50' 12-3 extension cord.

Here is the list:
- inside lights
- water pump
- Fantastic Fan

When I added additional load of Bathroom Fan and Forward Fan, the Converter started to hum pretty well... but never popped the circuit breaker.

I could NOT run the Micro or Convection oven...and definitely NOT the AC or AC Fan.. I did not use the FRIDGE at all.
__________________
Peace and Blessings..
Channing
WBCCI# 30676
cwf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 10:20 PM   #13
4 Rivet Member
 
withidl's Avatar
 
2002 31' Classic
Houston , Texas
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 440
Images: 1
You can purchase an adapter which has 30 amp female on one side and two (2) 20 amp males on the other side. The two males give more surface contact thereby minimizing volt/amp loss at the connector and resultant heat build up at the connector when maxing the current flow if using the air conditioner. The connectors are the "chokes" in the circuitry, so the more physical surface area contact they have the less the "choke". The longer the distance of the cable run the larger the cable gauge will have to be for adequate current flow.

As an example, I have my 2002 ASCL 31' connected to a 20 amp receptacle that is ~3' from the house circuit breaker box. I happened to have laying around the house 150' X 2 of #2 gauge copper cable (~diameter of little finger) which I use to run from the house receptacle to the ASCL. At no load the voltage at the ASCL is ~121 volts. With air conditioner, and converter running (drawing ~15+ amps) my voltage drops to ~116 volts. The adapter connector does not get warm, and as long as the air conditioner has at least 110 volts it is happy.

So an air conditioner, and converter can be run indefinitely on a household 20 amp circuit without harm.
__________________
withidl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 12:11 AM   #14
cwf
Rivet Master
 
cwf's Avatar
 
1999 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Hillsboro , Texas
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5,931
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by withidl View Post
You can purchase an adapter which has 30 amp female on one side and two voltage drops to ~116 volts. The adapter connector does not get warm, and as long as the air conditioner has at least 110 volts it is happy.

So an air conditioner, and converter can be run indefinitely on a household 20 amp circuit without harm.
I hope you are running the two off the same phase...
__________________

__________________
Peace and Blessings..
Channing
WBCCI# 30676
cwf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.