Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-18-2014, 11:40 PM   #1
4 Rivet Member
 
Starstream's Avatar
 
1979 31' Sovereign
Spring , Texas
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 307
Help with which surge protector

The updates are going along. We have changed out and or replaced all of the exterior lights. The next step will be changing over to an all-in one Boondocker from Best Converters.

We are looking at the different possibilities for a surge protector. We have decided to go with Progress Industries as the brand name.

Here is where I need some help;

First -- Which is best to have, The SSP-30 or the EMS-30

Second -- Whish is best to have and why for the EMS-30-- The portable unit or the hardwired? What are the advantages and disadvantages to each (portable/hardwire)?

Karl
__________________

__________________
Starstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 07:32 AM   #2
4 Rivet Member
 
Starstream's Avatar
 
1979 31' Sovereign
Spring , Texas
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 307
I have watched several You Tube videos on the different protectors.

But I'm still trying to figure out if there is any advantage of the portable versus the hardwire power protectors?
__________________

__________________
Starstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 07:46 AM   #3
Rivet Master
 
SteveH's Avatar
 
2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5,311
I know it was just my opinion that biased my selection, but I went with the hard wired unit because (a) I didn't want to have to hook up one more thing every time we stopped at a park, and (b) I didn't want to have to be concerned about it getting stolen, and (c) I didn't want to have to worry about it getting wet in the rain.

It was however, sort of a chore to install it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	surge protector.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	81.4 KB
ID:	224662  
__________________
Regards,
Steve
SteveH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 07:49 AM   #4
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar

 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9,402
Images: 5
With a portable,, there isn't one more thing to hook up. Mine is always attached to the end of the shore power cord....same one step hook up as if it weren't there.

BTW, get one with a low/high voltage shut off. Mine was utilized several times last weekend. A BUNCH of tent campers had cords running into their tents....cold = full time electric heaters running.
__________________
-Rich-

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 09:02 AM   #5
4 Rivet Member
 
Starstream's Avatar
 
1979 31' Sovereign
Spring , Texas
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 307
Thank you for the replies.

Steve---
What did you find that was difficult for the installation?

Rich---
Did you modify a portable unit by direct wiring your shore power cord?
__________________
Starstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 09:21 AM   #6
Rivet Master
 
SteveH's Avatar
 
2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by dznf0g View Post
With a portable,, there isn't one more thing to hook up. Mine is always attached to the end of the shore power cord....same one step hook up as if it weren't there.
Yes, Rich, but you can't tell me you don't have to carry it out to the post. The 50 amp cord by itself is almost more than I can handle on cold mornings.
__________________
Regards,
Steve
SteveH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 09:26 AM   #7
Rivet Master
 
SteveH's Avatar
 
2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starstream View Post
Steve---
What did you find that was difficult for the installation?
It may not be this way in every trailer/circumstance, but I had to first move the circuit breaker box to get room for the unit....not a big deal. But then the difficult part was working with and bending the #6/3 THW cable. It is NOT very flexible, and as always working in a travel trailer, the tight work space made it more difficult than it needed to be. But in the end, I'm happy I did it for the above mentioned reasons.

Edit: Almost forgot, there's one more reason I like the wired-in unit....I can check the voltage input and any fault history from inside the trailer without having to go out to the post.
__________________
Regards,
Steve
SteveH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 03:38 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar

 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9,402
Images: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starstream View Post
Thank you for the replies.

Steve---
What did you find that was difficult for the installation?

Rich---
Did you modify a portable unit by direct wiring your shore power cord?
No, I got one of those PLASTIC theft deterrent covers with a lock on it, so it always stays connected.
__________________
-Rich-

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 03:40 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar

 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9,402
Images: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveH View Post
Yes, Rich, but you can't tell me you don't have to carry it out to the post. The 50 amp cord by itself is almost more than I can handle on cold mornings.

Yeah, forgot about your 50 amp "anaconda" cord. I only have 30 amp, so it isn't an issue at all. Those 50 amp cords are massive!!!! Literally.
__________________
-Rich-

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 05:59 PM   #10
4 Rivet Member
 
Starstream's Avatar
 
1979 31' Sovereign
Spring , Texas
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 307
Thank you Steve and Rich.

Do the portable and hardwired units have the same or similar protection features?

The way I understand it, only according to what I've read, one can plug the portable into the shore power first, ensuring all is good at the sight before hooking up the trailers electrical?

And the hardwired unit is similar, but instead the trailers electrical will not come on and give you a code?
__________________
Starstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 07:06 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
SteveH's Avatar
 
2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5,311
When I saw the hardwired unit and all it's features, I knew right away that's what I wanted, so I really don't know much about the portable unit's features or operations, but I think they are the same as the one I have.

I can tell you my unit will not pass power to the trailer if the polarity is wrong, the voltage is too high, the voltage is too low, or the frequency is off. It will also shut the power off from the trailer if the voltage goes too high or too low. It gives you a digital read out of voltage on each leg of the 50 amp service, the amount of current that's being drawn off each leg, and any error codes that have happened since it was last powered up, such as brown out, etc.
__________________
Regards,
Steve
SteveH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 07:24 AM   #12
4 Rivet Member
 
Starstream's Avatar
 
1979 31' Sovereign
Spring , Texas
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 307
Thank you Steve
__________________
Starstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 08:20 AM   #13
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar

 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9,402
Images: 5
Portable has same protection features as Steve mentions. However, mine is an older one without the LCD display...just LED error lights.
__________________
-Rich-

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2014, 12:09 PM   #14
3 Rivet Member
 
Tyvekcat's Avatar
 
2014 28' International
Blacksburg , Virginia
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 233
wire

Just a quick question, not to steal the thread, but I have a regular 30 amp connector on my AS.
Is the wire from the connector on the side of the trailer to the distribution box/converter, is it just a regular 12/3 wire or is it in Romex ? I havn't seen what is in my trailer. What would you guess it is ?

If I find it I may install that surge suppressor.
Thanks for your help
__________________

__________________
Ra, Chelle & Natasha
For my next trick, I will use my new Airstream & Dodge Ram 2500 CTD to make this pile of money disappear.
Tyvekcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'm new. Need for surge protector? bcombs Member Introductions 14 11-09-2013 08:47 AM
1968 - Progressive Ind. 30 amp surge protector? Randy Gates 1965 - 1969 Globetrotter 13 10-17-2011 02:35 PM
Room for in-line surge protector in 23' Intl? Hoonanea Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 0 10-03-2011 12:07 PM
Loud Humming Noise from Surge Protector Michigander Land Yacht/Legacy Motorhomes 8 07-23-2011 04:56 AM
surge protector pip8688 Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 15 08-09-2010 06:14 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.