Old 11-03-2010, 09:14 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2008 27' International CCD FB
Vero Beach , Florida
Help with electrical problem

I need some advice, here is the problem. I was unpluging to more to a different spot in my yard. The plug that goes into the AS was burnt (just one prong). It was burnt so bad that it was fused together. I had to wiggle it back and forth to get it unpluged. I have been using this plug and wire for about 3 years without a problem. I keep the AS plugged in when not traveling, I run the a/c at about 86" to keep any mold away and I run the frig also to keep beverages cold.
I will admit that I know very little about electric problems. I know enough to stay away and let someone that knows what to do fix it.
So, what do you think, power surge? Inverter gone bad? Short in wire?

Also the plug is a 50 amp and I use a adapeor to reduce to 30 amp. I hope that did not cause the problem.
The a/s is now dead when unpluged and it works when pluged back in?
I'm leaving it unpluged until I get it fixed.

HELP,,,

Thanks
Eric

Old 11-03-2010, 10:07 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 28
1978 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
Wauwatosa , Wisconsin
As with any plug/receptacle, the more it is plugged in and out, the receptacle spreads. This could cause a loose connection which in turn causes racking. Racking causes the metals to weld together or heat up so much that they melt or burn away.
To help prevent this, use a dielectric on the connections as well as each time it is plugged or unplugged try to pull as straight as possible with very little wiggling.

Old 11-03-2010, 10:18 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
Where was the welding? At the 50 amp plug to the receptacle, the 30 amp to the 50 amp adapter or at the cord to the 30 amp adapter.

Which ever location was welded you want to replace that "Female" connection and clean up the "Male" connection that went into it.