Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2016, 11:33 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

 
2015 30' Flying Cloud
2016 30' Classic
Covington , Louisiana
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 176
Help! GFCI keeps tripping.

I have a new 2016 classic. I want to first state that I am not an electrical minded person. I'm plugged to a 20 amp circuit using a 50 amp to 15 amp adaptor plugged to a 12 gauge 25 ft 15 amp chord. I also bought the electrical voltage meter via the airstream store and it stays plugged showing a steady 120 volts without change. I keep a small night light on and the fridge running on auto. My gfi breaker keeps tripping randomly. The shore power receptacle does not trip nor does the shore power breaker. The gfi breaker will stay engaged for hours and then spontaneously trip for no reason. I have reset the breaker several times over the past week. Could the breaker be bad and in need of change or do I have a bigger problem? Where can you buy a Siemens 20 amp gfi breaker and are they hard to change? I'm scheduled to leave on Thursday for a trip out west to Santa Fe and not sure if I should go with this issue at hand. I suppose the worst that can happen is I have to reset the breaker when it trips. Am I correct? Any helpful thoughts would be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Sjcjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 05:57 AM   #2
Full time Airstreamer
 
SCOTTinNJ's Avatar
 
2014 30' FB FC Bunk
Anywhere , USA Living.Somewhere.Yonder
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,161
If the house plug is gfi that should trip immediately. Trailer gfi and house gfi don't play nice together.
__________________

__________________
@living.somewhere.yonder | Instagram
SCOTTinNJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 06:11 AM   #3
Well Preserved

 
1993 21' Sovereign
Colfax , North Carolina
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 20,193
Try setting the fridge to LP only, and see if the GFCI continues to trip.
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup.
Terry
overlander63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 07:56 AM   #4
Moderator
 
moosetags's Avatar

 
2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
2012 23' FB Flying Cloud
2005 25' Safari
Santa Rosa Beach , Florida
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10,763
Images: 5
I recently had a similar problem with the GFCI tripping in the bathroom of my 2015 Flying Cloud 25FB. I even went so far as to replace the the GFCI outlet with a new one. It did the same thing. After further investigation, I found the problem to be a set of outside LED lights that was plugged into the outside AC outlet. The light set had a short in it. The outside outlet is part of that GFCI circuit. I reinstalled the OEM outlet, and I have kept the new outlet as a backup.

Brian
__________________
SuEllyn & Brian McCabe
WBCCI #3628 -- AIR #14872 -- TAC #FL-7
2015 FC 25' FB (Lucy) with HAHA
2005 Suburban 2500 Quadrasteer (Olivia) & 2018 Silverado 2500 (Lillian)
moosetags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 08:24 AM   #5
3 Rivet Member

 
2015 30' Flying Cloud
2016 30' Classic
Covington , Louisiana
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by overlander63 View Post
Try setting the fridge to LP only, and see if the GFCI continues to trip.
I unplugged the fridge and put it on propane overnight. The breaker did not trip! I may have a problem with the fridge.
__________________
Sjcjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 09:42 AM   #6
Rivet Master
 
HowieE's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,813
Images: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sjcjr View Post
I unplugged the fridge and put it on propane overnight. The breaker did not trip! I may have a problem with the fridge.
Interesting since the frig should not be on the GFI circuit. Turn the frig off for a while or leave the door open for 5 min., this should force it to cycle to cooling. Then set it to "auto" and plug the frig into 110. If the GFI trips right after this I would say the problem is the frig. To check use your volt meter in the frig receptacle and turn the GFI on and off to see if the frig is in fact on that circuit.
__________________
WBCCI 12156 AIR 3144 WACHUNG TAC NJ6
2004 Excursion 4x4
1991 34 ft. Excella +220,000 miles, new laminated flooring, new upholstery, new 3200 lbs axles

HowieE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 09:53 AM   #7
New Member
 
1975 25' Tradewind
Moraga , California
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 3
Installing Aluminum Folding Steps for 1975 Airstream

My aluminum steps were stolen and I have OEM steps to install. Any suggestion regarding how to open the area on the frame in order to attach the four bolts? Don't know how they gained access to the area where the nuts are attached to the bolts.
__________________
tedgam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 10:22 AM   #8
Rivet Master
 
Wingeezer's Avatar
 
2005 30' Classic
Burlington , Ontario
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,709
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedgam View Post
My aluminum steps were stolen and I have OEM steps to install. Any suggestion regarding how to open the area on the frame in order to attach the four bolts? Don't know how they gained access to the area where the nuts are attached to the bolts.
I am not really familiar, but if the nuts are not readily accessible, could it be that they are tack welded in place on the frame and all you need do is install the new steps with the bolts? Probably you have already checked that!

Otherwise, maybe you have to cut small access hole in the belly pan if that is what is preventing you from getting to the area that you need t access?

Brian.
__________________
Brian & Connie Mitchell

2005 Classic 30'
Hensley Arrow / Centramatics
2008 GMC Sierra SLT 2500HD,4x4,Crew Cab, Diesel, Leer cap.
Wingeezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 11:02 AM   #9
Rivet Master
 
HowieE's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,813
Images: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedgam View Post
My aluminum steps were stolen and I have OEM steps to install. Any suggestion regarding how to open the area on the frame in order to attach the four bolts? Don't know how they gained access to the area where the nuts are attached to the bolts.
You should reconsider that option because OEM steps are hung from the floor close to the door sill. Test you floor before going too far.

It might be advisable to move your question to another forum topic.
__________________
WBCCI 12156 AIR 3144 WACHUNG TAC NJ6
2004 Excursion 4x4
1991 34 ft. Excella +220,000 miles, new laminated flooring, new upholstery, new 3200 lbs axles

HowieE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 12:58 PM   #10
4 Rivet Member
 
1977 31' Sovereign
Lynnwood , Washington
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 311
Lemme understand this. You've got your 50 amp rig plugged into a 15 amp adapter which is plugged into a 25 ft extension cord.....and you can't understand why the GFCI trips??

Q: Does this "unexplained phenomenon" also occur when your rig is plugged directly into a 50 amp service??.....with nothing in between??.....namely, no adapter and no extension cord??

I'll bet a month's pay your GFCI is working as intended. It's sole purpose is to protect your rig electrical fire.

Tom
__________________
TomKirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 06:59 PM   #11
3 Rivet Member

 
2015 30' Flying Cloud
2016 30' Classic
Covington , Louisiana
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomKirk View Post
Lemme understand this. You've got your 50 amp rig plugged into a 15 amp adapter which is plugged into a 25 ft extension cord.....and you can't understand why the GFCI trips??

Q: Does this "unexplained phenomenon" also occur when your rig is plugged directly into a 50 amp service??.....with nothing in between??.....namely, no adapter and no extension cord??

I'll bet a month's pay your GFCI is working as intended. It's sole purpose is to protect your rig electrical fire.

Tom
You are correct on my set up. I hope you are right and don't want a a month's pay if proven right! Lol!
__________________
Sjcjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 07:34 PM   #12
3 Rivet Member

 
2015 30' Flying Cloud
2016 30' Classic
Covington , Louisiana
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomKirk View Post
Lemme understand this. You've got your 50 amp rig plugged into a 15 amp adapter which is plugged into a 25 ft extension cord.....and you can't understand why the GFCI trips??

Q: Does this "unexplained phenomenon" also occur when your rig is plugged directly into a 50 amp service??.....with nothing in between??.....namely, no adapter and no extension cord??

I'll bet a month's pay your GFCI is working as intended. It's sole purpose is to protect your rig electrical fire.

Tom
You are correct on my set up. I hope you are right and don't want a a month's pay if proven right! Lol!
__________________
Sjcjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 08:47 PM   #13
Moderator
 
jcanavera's Avatar

 
2004 30' Classic Slideout
Fenton , Missouri
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 9,002
Images: 143
Send a message via AIM to jcanavera Send a message via Skype™ to jcanavera
I found that my GFI breaker in my garage tripped if I turned on the TV . It happened on both Airstreams I've owned but never happened on the road but most parks I camped at did not have GFI hookups. The key for me was it occurred with a specific TV set that I used. Funny is that it was not instantaneous but random in the timeframe it took to activate. I'm sure there is some leakage going on in the TV chasis but it eventually became a moot point once I changed over to an LCD TV.

To trouble shoot I plugged that TV into the same ground fault outlet directly rather than go through the trailer's electrical wiring and had no problem. It ended up I eventually tracked down to the TV had to be connected to the trailer's antenna outlet. To prove this I plugged the TV to the ground fault socket and then ran a long coax cable from the TV to the Airstream's antenna outlet. Within 5 minutes the ground fault tripped.

Jack
__________________
Jack Canavera
STL Mo.
AIR #56
'04 Classic 30' S.O.,'03 GMC Savana 2500,'14 Honda CTX 700
jcanavera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 11:45 PM   #14
Rivet Master
 
daveswenson's Avatar
 
2012 28' International
Issaquah , Washington
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 767
You could have a bad GFCI. Mine failed a month after I got the trailer. A new one from home depot has been working fine for the last 4 years.
__________________

__________________
Dave

2014 Ram 2500 CTD
Pro Pride
Centramatics
daveswenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to solve tripping GFCI tlsmit1 Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 23 09-24-2013 09:17 AM
'89 370 GFCI tripping instantly romakdaddy Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 3 08-19-2013 11:25 AM
120v 20amp GFCI keeps blowing nick6930 Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 4 11-25-2011 07:13 PM
Tripping GFCI NashBuff Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 24 06-24-2010 11:13 PM
Gen. GFCI tripping Cochese Generators & Solar Power 1 08-13-2008 06:54 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.