Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2015, 12:24 AM   #1
4 Rivet Member
 
trekerboy's Avatar
 
1979 31' Excella 500
Charlevoix , Michigan
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 318
Have I got it right? Installing Shunt for Battery Monitor

The renovation of our '79 Excella 500 continues, and today's questions to the forum'ers are about the order of components in the wiring:
  1. Do I have the shunt for the Battery Monitoring System positioned correctly? Or should it go on the other side of the 300A Breaker?
  2. Do I have the Breakers and Disconnect switches positioned correctly?
Here's my diagram:

__________________

__________________
trekerboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2015, 12:41 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
gandttimes's Avatar
 
2014 25' FB International
2007 20' Safari SE
2005 19' Safari
Qualicum Beach , British Columbia
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 804
The shunt should be the last inline to the negative on the - battery pole Every other negative line should be on the other side of it.
If you go onto the Bogart Engineering site ( Trimetric) there should be a very good diagram showing the connection process.


George
__________________

__________________
gandttimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2015, 07:40 AM   #3
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar

 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9,408
Images: 5
I agree with George's statement.
__________________
-Rich-

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2015, 08:07 AM   #4
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,281
You're getting closer........ a few corrections:

• the shunt is incorrect. The battery negative should be the only connection on side 1. All other negative loads should go to the other side of the shunt.

•you should use a class 'T' fuse ONLY for the inverter, as these have the extremely high interrupt capacity that your battery bank requires in case of a dead short. A circuit breaker doesn't have near the interrupt capacity

• the inverter disconnect and fuse should be on the POSITIVE lead to the inverter, not the negative lead

•*the class 'T' fuse should be first from the battery, then the disconnect switch down stream from the fuse, with the fuse located within 18" of the battery terminal.

That should do it!
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2015, 11:49 AM   #5
Rivet Master
 
Zeppelinium's Avatar

 
1975 31' Sovereign
1973 27' Overlander
1977 23' Safari
Palmer Lake , Colorado
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,908
Send a message via Skype™ to Zeppelinium
300A breaker to inverter and only 100A breaker to ground? What in the world is pulling 3500+ Watts out of the inverter?

Your shunt only measures charging and inverter current, not total flow.

I have no clue what your objective of such a heavy system is. I tried two batteries (230 A-H total) and found that one battery and a Honda 2000 was a better solution.

It would be interesting to know what you have installed on the electrical system.

Zep
Zeppelinium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2015, 09:05 PM   #6
4 Rivet Member
 
trekerboy's Avatar
 
1979 31' Excella 500
Charlevoix , Michigan
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 318
Thanks everyone for pointing out the problems with my setup. I've revised my diagram to reflect the corrections:



Zeppelinium, you had asked why such a large protection mechanism on between the inverter and batterie bank. The manufacture of my inverter/charger doesn't have a requirement for the size of fuse to use with the unit, however units with similar specs recommends a 300A fuse, so I'm going with that.

Regarding what's on the electrical system... not much right now, although the "overbuilt" nature of the setup is so that when I want to add capacity or functionality (solar, microwave, etc...) the infrastructure is there I just need to swap out components. Components are easy to access in my setup, while the infrastructure wiring will not be as easy to access.

Thanks again everyone for your help! If you see any red flags with the diagram posted above, let me know; you've all been really helpful (especially you Lewster!).
__________________
trekerboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2015, 07:25 PM   #7
4 Rivet Member
 
RankAm's Avatar

 
1956 22' Flying Cloud
Dallas , Texas
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 309
Treckerboy, I am curious about the software you used to create the graphics of your electrical system. Before long, I will need to prepare a diagram of the electrical system I need to build for my 56 Flying Cloud.

Is the software generally available (I am hoping it is in the Microsoft Office suite of programs)?

Thanks, Hank
__________________
See my 1956 Flying Cloud renovation thread.
RankAm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 04:33 AM   #8
4 Rivet Member
 
trekerboy's Avatar
 
1979 31' Excella 500
Charlevoix , Michigan
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by RankAm View Post
Treckerboy, I am curious about the software you used to create the graphics of your electrical system. Before long, I will need to prepare a diagram of the electrical system I need to build for my 56 Flying Cloud.



Is the software generally available (I am hoping it is in the Microsoft Office suite of programs)?



Thanks, Hank

Hi Hank,

You could do this with PowerPoint, but I used Apple's Keynote product since I'm on a Mac. It's all just boxes, circles and snap-connect lines.

Hope this helps!

- Jason

Hope this helps!
__________________

__________________
trekerboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
making a shunt? batt Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 20 03-12-2012 11:43 AM
Univolt shunt GAT Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 3 12-20-2010 09:29 AM
Fresh water shunt installed Excella CM Fresh Water Systems 5 01-19-2010 01:13 PM
Anyone out there with ammeter/shunt experience? johnobuttons Lights - Interior & Exterior 2 08-17-2009 12:40 AM
TriMetric 2020/2021 shunt - 100 or 500 amp? ostream Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 3 11-06-2008 03:37 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.