Old 01-16-2007, 06:14 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1977 31' Sovereign
Issaquah , Washington
Furnace Wiring for '77 Sovereign

I'm a newbie, so please be gentle! I have a '77 31' rear bath Soverign model. I am replacing the furnace...the furnace in the trailer was a Suburban NT 30SP and I am upgrading to a NT 34SP. Everything fit fine in the exchange. The original furnace drew 5.5 amps and the new one draws 7.5 amps. Will the addition 2 amps be a problem?

The next question is: The instructions from Suburban say to use 14 ga. wire to connect the furnace. The existing wire does not look like 14 ga. I am willing to replace this wire, but it is difficult becase the Owner's Manual includes a schematic of all the wiring except the 12 volt runs. I have found which fuse it is connected to at the panel (pink wire) - but I have no idea where this pink wire connects to the yellow wire that is at the furnace. The schematic of the fuse panel in the manual indicates some sort of a connetion/distribution block for the 12v, but I have no idea where this is located. Any help with the location? Should I bypass it entirely, abandon the yellow wire and run new wire directly to the fuse panel?

Also, does anyone have a wiring schematic for this trailer?

Thanks very much!!

Old 01-16-2007, 07:44 PM   #2
Silver Mist

1977 31' Sovereign
Riverhead , New York
I have the wiring diagram, I can send it next week-I'm on the road.

You have 4 wires, 2 are thermostat-the other two are your blower.

You can just try it It should work either way you cross them.

LI Pets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 12:52 AM   #3
1 Rivet Member

1977 31' Sovereign
Issaquah , Washington
Wow..what a quick response!! Thanks and special thanks for the offer on the wiring diagram.

The furnace connection from the trailer has two blue wires (thermostat), a yellow wire that connects to the red wire of the furnace and an orange wire that connects to the green wire (I think) of the furnace.