Old 01-13-2015, 11:07 AM   #1
4 Rivet Member

1979 31' Excella 500
Charlevoix , Michigan
Post Fill Tank from City Water Hook-up using clever Electric Solenoid Valve Setup?

I have a Electrical Engineering project on my hands but there's a problem... I'm no Electrical Engineer! I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction. Here's an overview of what I'm trying to accomplish.

I'm renovating our '79 Excella from the frame up. In redoing the plumbing I'm adding the ability to fill the Fresh Water Tank via the City Water hook-up. Normally this is done JUST with the gravity feed through the access port on the outside:

Click image for larger version

Name:	water_fill.JPG
Views:	402
Size:	62.1 KB
ID:	230362

My plan is to use a Solenoid Value (bought this one) that would allow city water to flow to the water tank with the press of a button when I'm connected to city water.

Name:	solendoid_valve.jpg
Views:	167
Size:	117.9 KB
ID:	230361
With this Solenoid, powered = open (switch is "on"), unpowered = closed (switch is "off"). I want to take this one step further by using the existing water tank sensors to automatically cut power to the solendoid value and close it when the tank is full. The existing tank sensors (similar setup pictured here) aren't being use anymore (I switched to the SEELEVEL system) so I can use them for whatever I want without screwing anything else up!

Name:	HoldingTanks1nHalfPipe.jpg
Views:	985
Size:	742.8 KB
ID:	230360

If you're not familiar, the way these sensors work is that when water reaches the sensor probe, it completes a circuit and when power is applied (usually via a button in the cabin) and light lights up to indicate the tank is at that level (usually 1/4, 1/2, 3/4 and full).

I am trying to figure out the best way to accomplish my goal of using the "full" sensor to automatically cut power (close) the solenoid valve. Should I be using some sort of 3-way switch setup? Or perhaps a setup that uses a relay?