Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2014, 05:00 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member
 
rp709's Avatar
 
2015 30' Flying Cloud
Ventura , California
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 120
Images: 5
Lightbulb Factory inverter

The newer factory inverter installation uses a dedicated circuit for inverter power. The outlets have a blue label identifying them. Has anyone connected that circuit to shore power using a transfer switch?
__________________

__________________
rp709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 05:24 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
AnnArborBob's Avatar
 
2014 27' FB Eddie Bauer
Chelsea , Michigan
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,767
Images: 12
Why would you do this? All the inverter outlets in the factory package are next to shore powered outlets. So what would you gain?
__________________

__________________
Bob Martel
WBCCI# 5766
AnnArborBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 05:46 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnArborBob View Post
Why would you do this? All the inverter outlets in the factory package are next to shore powered outlets. So what would you gain?
More outlets, and not having to move plugs from line power to inverter power when you are not hooked up.

To the OP's original question, it could be done with a transfer switch, as you note. It is too bad that the transfer switch already built into the WFCO inverter is not activated and cannot be accessed without opening the unit up (removing rivets etc) and voiding the warrantee. I know, I looked on my 2014 FC 20'. It apparently was an option that Airstream opted out of when specifying the inverter. Even the power cord is in place to use it, but it is not hooked up internally.
__________________
idroba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 04:23 PM   #4
3 Rivet Member
 
rp709's Avatar
 
2015 30' Flying Cloud
Ventura , California
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 120
Images: 5
Value

I guess 95k for a FC 30 doesn't leave enough room for profit and a transfer switch, not to mention a 3 way converter. The Airstream way requires you to unplug and re-plug the TV and DVD when using the inverter and doing the same when moving to hookups. I installed a WFCO transfer switch when I added an inverter to my Safari. My plan is to put a transfer switch linking shore power to the inverter circuit, and no unplugging of the TV's. Also coming will be a smart converter (and quiet water pump).
__________________
rp709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 07:00 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
Wayne&Sam's Avatar
 
2014 25' Flying Cloud
Cuddebackville , New York
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3,100
Images: 21
Why not just leave the televisions plugged into inverter outlets and run inverter even when on shore power? It's sort of the long way around but I don't think it would hurt anything or use excessive power.


Sent from my iPhone using Airstream Forums
__________________
2014 25' Flying Cloud Rear Twin
2012 Dodge Durango Hemi/AWD
Wayne&Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 10:27 PM   #6
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,281
Why not just buy a QUALITY inverter like the Magnum MMS1012 that already has in internal transfer switch, just like all if the other Magnum products ? It also gas a 4-stage automatic charging system........one of the best available.


Lew Farber
RVIA/RVDA Nationally Certified Master Tech
Master Tech Energy Systems, Inc.
AM Solar Certified Installation Center
Lifeline Batteries**Magnum Inverters
541-490-6357
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 11:42 PM   #7
3 Rivet Member
 
rp709's Avatar
 
2015 30' Flying Cloud
Ventura , California
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 120
Images: 5
Switch

Leaving the inverter on would be too simple and not nearly as fun as installing a transfer switch! However, I haven't listened to the factory 1,000 watt unit, but my 400 watt Xantrex inverter could be heard humming when things were really quiet. I have low tolerance for humming noises as well as noisy fans. It reflects casual engineering in my opinion. We'll see how it works next month.
__________________
rp709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 12:12 AM   #8
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by rp709 View Post
Leaving the inverter on would be too simple and not nearly as fun as installing a transfer switch! However, I haven't listened to the factory 1,000 watt unit, but my 400 watt Xantrex inverter could be heard humming when things were really quiet. I have low tolerance for humming noises as well as noisy fans. It reflects casual engineering in my opinion. We'll see how it works next month.
'Casual engineering'? It reflects CHINESE engineering!

Magnums are engineered and built in the USA.
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 12:44 AM   #9
1 Rivet Member
 
2013 25' FB International
simi valley , California
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 7
If you have the factory inverter it has built in transfer switch it was one of the first things I hooked up it took only 1 hour skill level easy my inverter had a line cord already installed
__________________
Rick stream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 01:24 AM   #10
Rivet Master
 
1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick stream View Post
If you have the factory inverter it has built in transfer switch it was one of the first things I hooked up it took only 1 hour skill level easy my inverter had a line cord already installed
Unfortunately, the factory inverter even with power cord on mine does not have the internal transfer switch hooked up, even though it looks like it is all set up for that feature. A careful reading of the WFCO manual shows that the switch is an "option" and at least on mine, does not operate. I sure wish it did. I tried.
__________________

__________________
idroba is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this a factory installed solar panel ? I think it's factory installed and ... JacobMerridy Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 1 01-14-2017 10:23 AM
About to buy new airstream (23D)with no factory 600W inverter... Wishing Boondocking 14 07-12-2013 12:54 PM
Factory WF 600T inverter died silverback Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 7 12-05-2008 06:16 PM
Alternatives to Factory Converter & Inverter shovelbum Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 17 04-05-2008 12:14 AM
Inverter sizing for factory convection/microwave oven? myoung Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 11 10-03-2005 08:24 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.