Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-08-2009, 08:59 PM   #1

1972 31' Sovereign
Castle Rock , Washington
Electrical schematics

Hello, I am in need of Electrical schematic for 1972 31' Land Yacht rear bath center twin, as I don't have a manual. I have wires in driver side closet that terminate five inches to the inside of the wall. One white, one blue that look like 10AWG and two red that look like 12 or 14 AWG. Any help on this would be appreciated!
1dollaryacht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 10:19 PM   #2
2xS
2 Rivet Member

1971 31' Sovereign
San Diego , California
If models didn't change much...

This sounds WAY too familiar...
I was an electronics professor... hope I can help!
Your trailer sounds exactly the same as my configuration. Here are the schematics for the interior 12V DC system of the 1971 27-31' International. I have recently redone all of the electrical in my trailer. Assuming the electrical system didn't change completely in 1 year, your blue and white wires are your charge lines, 12V DC and ground respectively which run from your tow connector to your univolt (primarily). From your univolt (which should be in your passenger closet), the charge lines break into various circuits that distribute power to your 12V DC appliances; these circuits should be fused and color coded. In other words, different sections of your trailer should have like colored +12V DC wires connecting to the various appliances e.g. my kitchen is purple, bathroom is yellow etc... Those should be your 2 phantom red wires. You can check by using a multimeter to measure the voltage across each line to test:

V_blue > V_white = 12V
V_red1 >V_white = 12V
V_red2 >V_white = 12V