Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2012, 04:53 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member
 
Bettye's Avatar
 
2010 25' FB International
Mobile , Alabama
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 190
Images: 18
Electrical Problems

We had a 220 plug installed on the outside of the garage to plug in the camper. Before the installation, we had it plugged into a 110 plug using an adapter and we only used the lights in the camler, not the heat pump or fridge. When we plugged the camper into the 220, we heard a loud pop in the camper and when we checked it out, the main breaker was blown. We didn't have on anything except the lights and radio which were working fine before trying out the 220 plug. Does this sound like a camper problem or a 220 plug problem? We were to leave for the Canopener Rally on Wednesday, now we have to fix this problem and leave on Thursday instead. Hope this issue doesn't interfere with our trip!! I don't want to go to Destin and then have problems.
__________________

__________________
Bettye & Harry
WBCCI #10360
Member Southeastern Camping Unit
Bettye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 04:57 PM   #2
Moderator
 
Kevin245's Avatar

 
Vintage Kin Owner
... , ...
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9,386
Images: 9
Your rig is setup for 110VAC not 220VAC unless a PO modified things. The 30 Amp travel trailer plug is sometimes mistaken for a 220 service.
__________________

__________________

"You wouldn't worry so much about what others think of you if you realized how seldom they do."

Eleanor Roosevelt

Kevin245 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 05:05 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
Silverflames's Avatar

 
1969 29' Ambassador
brooksville , Florida
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,262
Yep the person who wired the plug, have them come back out and Change the wiring. It should not take long, nor be much labor. There should be enough wires there already. He just needs to disconnect one of hot/power leads and turn it into a neutral lead. Most AS are 110 30 amps, they are wired like a extension cord/s not a house.
__________________
Not all those who wonder are lost.
Silverflames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 05:55 PM   #4
3 Rivet Member
 
Bettye's Avatar
 
2010 25' FB International
Mobile , Alabama
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 190
Images: 18
Oops!

I am wrong. Just went out and looked at it. The plug says for travel trailer use only 30 amp 125V. Looked at the breaker in the electrical panel in the house. It also says 30 amp. Hubby will be home from hunting tonight so we'll be trying to get the problem corrected tomorrow if it's something we can do ourselves. Thanks for the input.
__________________
Bettye & Harry
WBCCI #10360
Member Southeastern Camping Unit
Bettye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 06:28 PM   #5
3 Rivet Member
 
Bettye's Avatar
 
2010 25' FB International
Mobile , Alabama
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 190
Images: 18
More info

My brother called his friend who is a retired electrician to look at our setup. He put a meter on it and looked at the panel in the house and discovered it was wired as a 220. That's what I was afraid of. When we plugged it in, it fried the breaker. Hope it didn't fry the inverter, too!
__________________
Bettye & Harry
WBCCI #10360
Member Southeastern Camping Unit
Bettye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 06:43 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
TouringDan's Avatar

 
1966 24' Tradewind
1995 34' Excella
Lynchburg , Virginia
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,470
Bettye

There may have been a communication problem with the electrician; Your husband may have asked for a 220v outlet. However, the electrician should have noticed that the plug was for 125v only. The electrical fix may be quite simple. Replace the double pole (220v breaker) with a single pole 30 amp circuit breaker. The white wire then gets connected to the neutral or ground bus bar (just like all the other 125v breakers.

Hopefully, you will only need to replace the circuit breaker in the Airstream. I hope you did not fry the inverter also.

Dan
__________________
TouringDan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 06:56 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
TouringDan's Avatar

 
1966 24' Tradewind
1995 34' Excella
Lynchburg , Virginia
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,470
Bettye

Sorry about your electrical problems, especially without your husband there. If your inverter has been replaced and plugs into an outlet, you can probably test it by plugging it directly into an extension cord (120v).

I hope this does not impact your Canopener plans (much).

Dan
__________________
TouringDan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 07:23 PM   #8
3 Rivet Member
 
Bettye's Avatar
 
2010 25' FB International
Mobile , Alabama
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 190
Images: 18
Thanks

Thanks, Dan. Hubby will be home tonight. I know it looks like a 220 and hubby in all his hurry to go hunting may have said 220. But, even I saw that the plug said 125v. I agree with you. A good electrician should know what he's working with.
__________________
Bettye & Harry
WBCCI #10360
Member Southeastern Camping Unit
Bettye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 09:55 PM   #9
3 Rivet Member
 
Bettye's Avatar
 
2010 25' FB International
Mobile , Alabama
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 190
Images: 18
Bad news

Hubby came home and was able to reset the breaker. I guess that means the inverter took the heat. Wonder if that's something that can be quickly replaced at the AS dealership where we bought it? Should they have inverters in stock? Is it likely that other damage could have been caused by this?
__________________
Bettye & Harry
WBCCI #10360
Member Southeastern Camping Unit
Bettye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 10:52 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
Silver Goose's Avatar
 
2008 27' Classic FB
Burkburnett , Texas
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bettye View Post
... Is it likely that other damage could have been caused by this?
Unfortunately this is problem that we hear about now and then, and sometimes a licensed electrician is at fault. The outlet is clearly 110v but is similar in appearance to a 220v outlet and gets connected to supply 220 volts. Any 110v device or appliance that was connected at the time 220v was supplied to the trailer could have been damaged. The converter is the most likely, but the TV and microwave are at risk. In the light of day and when you can safely plug the trailer in, take inventory of what does and doesn't work. The A/C was likely off, but there is a 110v component on the fridge and on some water heaters. Test everything. The electrician may have insurance to help with this. Was there a written work order describing what he was to install? This is not what you wanted to hear and definitely not a way to start the New Year. Our best wishes that the damage is minimal and you'll be back on the road in short order.
__________________
AIR 47751
Air Safe Hitch, Reese Dual Cam 800#, Centramatics
Silver Goose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 12:06 AM   #11
Rivet Master
 
TouringDan's Avatar

 
1966 24' Tradewind
1995 34' Excella
Lynchburg , Virginia
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,470
The main circuit breaker did what it was suppose to do- it tripped because the voltage and current were too high. I would just reset it and connect power to it and see if your converter and other 120v appliances work properly. You may have been lucky. I have my fingers crossed for you.

Dan
__________________
TouringDan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 09:04 AM   #12
3 Rivet Member
 
Bettye's Avatar
 
2010 25' FB International
Mobile , Alabama
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 190
Images: 18
We reset the breaker and plugged into a 110 outlet but nothing came on. I guess will have to wait until Wednesday a. m to get it checked out since everything is closed today. Thanks, Dan.
__________________
Bettye & Harry
WBCCI #10360
Member Southeastern Camping Unit
Bettye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 09:05 AM   #13
3 Rivet Member
 
Bettye's Avatar
 
2010 25' FB International
Mobile , Alabama
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 190
Images: 18
....and everyone else who responded.
__________________
Bettye & Harry
WBCCI #10360
Member Southeastern Camping Unit
Bettye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 09:53 AM   #14
Rivet Master
 
Silver Goose's Avatar
 
2008 27' Classic FB
Burkburnett , Texas
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bettye View Post
We reset the breaker and plugged into a 110 outlet but nothing came on. ...
Do you have a small table lamp you can take out there and plug into an outlet in the trailer to verify you're getting 110v in the trailer? Besides the circuit breaker in the house serving the outlet, there is a 110v breaker panel in the trailer that protects the various 110v circuits in the trailer. You may also have a GFCI outlet maybe in the bath that might need to be reset as that typically protects the bath, galley and outside outlets. Older models used a GFCI breaker. Until you can confirm you have 110v in the trailer you can't determine what is not working.
__________________

__________________
AIR 47751
Air Safe Hitch, Reese Dual Cam 800#, Centramatics
Silver Goose is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.