Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-03-2010, 07:29 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1966 24' Tradewind
Fall River , Massachusetts
Electrical Help Needed

Hi, I am a newbie and recently purchased a 1966 Airstream Tradewind International. I have gutted it and am just about ready to wire the entire trailer (12V, 110V systems). I have been doing a lot of research on wiring and just need to do once last check with you all before I start this project on Monday. My first question is should the wire even be changed in the first place; it looks like good wire and in great condition. Basically, I want to ensure that I have purchased the right wire. I have attached a picture of the existing wiring along with what it was used for.

Here is what I intend to replace the existing wire with:

Plugs and outlets: Standard 12-2 Romex (yellow wire)

12 V wire: 12/2 AWG Duplex R/B Wire 100 Foot Roll

Link to Product below:

Part Number 99128001 - from BERKSHIRE ELECTRIC CABLE

I really appreciate advice on this. Thanks
Sairaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 07:51 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member

1965 28' Ambassador
Malta , New York
Great question

I too recently bought a 1965 Ambassador. its in solid shape and I would like to use the existing wiring. Is there any wiring diagram available for where everything connects in the rear of the airstream. thanks
Airstreamdmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 07:56 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member

1966 24' Tradewind
I have the owners manual for my tradewind with the original diagram. I will scan and post tomorrow for you.
Old 11-03-2010, 08:02 PM   #4
1 Rivet Member

1966 24' Tradewind
Here is the photo