Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-29-2014, 09:12 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Severna Park , Maryland
Electrical Gremlin...Help

Have a 2009 28' Flying Cloud. When I hook the power cord to the truck, all lights on the trailer work with the exception of the upper left tail light. I drive a few miles and it starts working.

Suspected the connections at the plug in at the truck. Cleaned up and polished truck and trailer side connections-didn't fix it(but, it made every LED on the trailer about 100% brighter!). I put a jumper wire across the plug on the trailer that makes all lights burn and the upper left tail light works. So, now I'm stumped.

Any electricians out there that can help me run down this problem? Would appreciate the basics/detail/order of checking-I'm not good at diagnosing electrical. I have been told that getting the individual lights out of the aluminum casting on the back of the trailer is very tough-any suggestions in this regard if this is going to be something I'll need to do.

Thanks folks.
sailorii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 10:11 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
If any of the tail lights work it is not the connection at the truck because that connections feeds all of the tail lights.

The problem is in the fixture of that light. The fact that it comes and goes you should be able to find the problem by opening the fixture and while the lights are turned on tap the bulb. This will check the filament of the bulb. If that is not the case wiggle the bulb. That will test the socket. If that is not the case remove the fixture and while holding the fixture to the trailer body for a ground wiggle the wire connections to the fixture. The fixture ma have been grounded by the screws that hold in in or there may be a separate ground wire. If so check that connection.