Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-04-2018, 02:16 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2018 23' International
Germantown , New York
Dead Batteries

Hi - Newbie here...

We came home from a camping trip and closed the trailer down for two months. So I turned the power switch off. When we were ready to go out again, everything was dead. I hooked up to house power to use the jack. What am I missing? Is there something still running even when you throw the switch off?

Thanks!

Tim
TBone55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2018, 02:32 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2014 20' Flying Cloud
Sag Harbor , New York
Welcome to the forum, Tim!

You are at the very beginning of a long learning curve. Short answer -- yes you have missed a few things. Too many to summarize here IMO.

A good place to start would be your owner's manual, and the following Battery School, for general info about caring for your batteries:

http://www.batteriesnorthwest.com/ba...hool.cfm?TID=0

Yes, there are loads running in the background, like the propane detector.

The new search function in the blue box above works great, and these results would be another good place for more info:

"phantom battery loads" -- https://www.google.com/search?q=phan...=airforums.com

Also the various topics in the Batteries etc. sub-forum will help:

http://www.airforums.com/forums/f449/

Lots of information to absorb . . .

We generally are able to store our 2014 FC20 for 7-10 days, without charging the batteries, with the batteries in "Store" mode. After this time, the battery voltage drops below 12.5 [90%], and it is time to charge again. If they go below ~12.3 volts [~50%], then more pronounced damage starts to occur.

Good luck,

Peter

PS -- FYI you have probably damaged your batteries somewhat by letting them go dead. What to do when you have charged them again is another long discussion -- for another time IMO.