Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-28-2012, 01:33 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2008 28' Safari SE
1997 25' Safari
1976 25' Tradewind
Tucson , Arizona
Converter outlet plug bad? 1997 Safari

With no lights or other d/c powered items with the trailer on AC and battery offline, the dealer said bring it in you have a bad converter. To be certain--I followed the advice from my converter's manf. and first tested the a/c outlet it is plugged in to. No juice and when I used an ample guage extension cord to a different outlet, voila, I had a good converter with lights, etc. I'm new at this, but persistent. I managed to remove the outlet for the converter from the rear wall under the sofa bed , but it's a solid unit. You probably can take it apart, but worried it would bust. Do these outlets go bad, or is this likely a more problematic wiring issue? I have an appointment to bring to dealer on Monday,but prefer to address on our own if possible---know my limitations in this area.

Thanks for help/suggestions.
Hankster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 01:47 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho
The RV outlets often are a special one, which does not use a box behind it. The wires are also a push in connection. New ones are available at a fully stocked RV store.