Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-23-2017, 04:57 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2017 25' Flying Cloud
Baton Rouge , Louisiana
Connecting to shore power through a surge protector

I'm new to camping and Airstreaming in particular, so forgive my ignorance.

I see that a universal recommendation when connecting to a park pedestal is to ensure the breaker on the pedestal is OFF before plugging in your cord. However, my surge protector says to plug it, then turn the breaker ON and check that the various lights are all good, then plug in the camper to the surge protector.

My question is, after checking the surge protector and BEFORE plugging in the camper's power cord, should you turn off the breaker?

Thanks.

Chuck
chustmyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2017, 05:00 PM   #2
CRH
Rivet Master

1995 25' Excella
xxxxx , xxxxxx
I never have. If I did, I would have to wait another 4 minutes for my protectors diagnostic test to run again before it woukd let power go to the trailer.
CRH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2017, 06:27 PM   #3
4 Rivet Member

2009 34' Classic
Lake Worth Beach , Florida
My Progressive Industries PT-30C surge protector delivers power immediately after I flip the breaker on the pedestal. I plug it in, flip the breaker, watch as the surge protector cycles through its displays (which takes only a matter of 5 or 10 seconds), then, when satisfied that all is well I flip the breaker off, plug in the shore power cord, and flip the breaker back on. Maybe a minute for the entire process on a slow day.

Jim
2016 RAM 2500 Laramie Crew Cab 4x4, Cummins TurboDiesel
AirstreamJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2017, 06:44 PM   #4