Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2004, 09:49 AM   #1
SSOLID
 
1972 25' Tradewind
Fayetteville , Tennessee
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 47
Images: 5
Send a message via MSN to ssolid Send a message via Yahoo to ssolid
Connecting to Electricity

Can anyone tell me what size extension cord I need to purcahse to get electricty to my A/S. I have an adapter for the 220 power cord, but my home extension cords are not heavy duty enough (got a spark which was not good). Any other tips on this subject would be greatly appreciated. I am such a greenhorn...

Thank You,
Steve
__________________

__________________
ssolid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2004, 09:54 AM   #2
Moderator
 
jcanavera's Avatar

 
2004 30' Classic Slideout
Fenton , Missouri
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 9,002
Images: 143
Send a message via AIM to jcanavera Send a message via Skype™ to jcanavera
Steve, you don't have a 220 volt power cord. You probably have a 110 30 amp end on your cord. I'm assuming you are probably pluging into a standard household outlet which is either providing 15 or 20 amp service. In that case use a heavy duty cord of equal or better capacity but don't consider running the A/C which may cause you to exceed the capacity of that household circuit.

I'm seriously considering running a 30 amp circuit in the garage this year so I can turn on the A/C while prepping the trailer for an outing.

Jack
__________________

__________________
Jack Canavera
STL Mo.
AIR #56
'04 Classic 30' S.O.,'03 GMC Savana 2500,'14 Honda CTX 700
jcanavera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2004, 09:55 AM   #3
Still Working
 
smily's Avatar
 
1994 36' Classic 36
North Charleston , South Carolina
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,651
Images: 19
voltage

To begin with your AS is definitely not 220 volts.

If you are trying to connect it to the 220, you will get big spark.

You need a 30 amp cord from Wal-mart that is made for RVs

It has a three prong plug that is typical of all campground 30 amp/120 volt connections.

You will probably get a little spark when you plug it in, that is becasue your converter is putting a load on the circuit. It is normal.

Smily
__________________
smily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2004, 09:57 AM   #4
Rivet Master
 
garry's Avatar
 
1969 31' Sovereign
Broken Arrow , Oklahoma
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,362
Images: 7
Depends on how long it needs to be.
http://www.pljohnson.com/electrical/...voltdrop.shtml


the above gives the answer in size based on the distance.


Your A/S only uses 120 not 220.

Garry
__________________
garry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2004, 10:27 AM   #5
Rivet Master
 
TomW's Avatar
 
1967 26' Overlander
Huntsville , Alabama
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,918
Images: 2
Re: voltage

Quote:
Originally posted by smily
...You need a 30 amp cord from Wal-mart that is made for RVs.
Be extremely careful that whatever you buy is made of at least 10 gauge wire. The wire I saw at Walmart was really thick, and looked like it would light up NYC, but the wire size was only 12 gauge, which is only rated for 20 amps.

Remember, the smaller the wire gauge, the bigger the wire.
__________________
TomW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2004, 10:43 AM   #6
Aluminut
 
Silvertwinkie's Avatar
 
2004 25' Safari
. , Illinois
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 10,334
Like Jack, I'll be installing a 30amp circuit. I already have the underground conduit between the hous and the garage....and I picked up the basic parts....just need to have an electrician install it. Also I agree, if you use the cheater, don't use the A/C.

Also, no way your coach is 220v (if it's factory)!
__________________
Computers manufactured by companies such as IBM, Compaq and millions of others are by far the most popular with about 70 million machines in use worldwide. Macintosh fans note that cockroaches are far more numerous than humans and that numbers alone do not denote a higher life form. -NY Times 11/91
Silvertwinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2004, 12:32 PM   #7
Well Preserved

 
1993 21' Sovereign
Colfax , North Carolina
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 20,189
Exclamation

Your coach, if it is still wired as from the factory, is 110v. If you manage to hook it up to 220, serious damage to the electrical equipment inside the trailer will almost certainly result. There is an adapter for going from the 30 amp plug your trailer most likely has, to a 15 amp (household) outlet, it usually costs a couple of dollars, just don't run the A/C with this, even if you don't pop a circuit breaker, it will starve the compressor, and burn out the motor.
Terry
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup.
Terry
overlander63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2004, 01:51 PM   #8
SSOLID
 
1972 25' Tradewind
Fayetteville , Tennessee
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 47
Images: 5
Send a message via MSN to ssolid Send a message via Yahoo to ssolid
Thaks to all

Went to wal-mart and got what I needed. Thank you all so much for the education.

Steve
__________________
ssolid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2004, 01:56 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
Janets Husband's Avatar
 
1977 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
1964 26' Overlander
1977 25' Tradewind
Eastern , Washington
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 865
Images: 6
I would recommend that if you are getting an arc when plugging in, you should probably go to your breaker box and turn off the breakers, plug in your trailer, then turn the breakers on.
I don't know how big your arc is but over time it will cause damage to your plug.

Find out what is causing your arc and correct it. You can hook a clamp on Ammeter on your power cord and see if the draw is equal to what is normally energized when you are plugging in.

To my knowlage extension cords are not rated to make or break a load of any kind. If all is well with your trailers' electrical system, try the breaker trick, your equipment to last a lot longer.
Arc cause power surges at the equipment.

When it comes to extension cords "Bigger is Better" no less than 10awg for a 30 amp circuit on a short cord 25' or less, and that is pushing it in a full load situation. It will heat up at the connectors watch for discoloration and try to keep flamables away from them.

Electrical Safety is worth the extra effort.
__________________
Peace
Gary
Janets Husband is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2004, 02:13 PM   #10
Aluminut
 
Silvertwinkie's Avatar
 
2004 25' Safari
. , Illinois
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 10,334
I've been also thinking of getting one of those surge supressors for RVs.
__________________
Computers manufactured by companies such as IBM, Compaq and millions of others are by far the most popular with about 70 million machines in use worldwide. Macintosh fans note that cockroaches are far more numerous than humans and that numbers alone do not denote a higher life form. -NY Times 11/91
Silvertwinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2004, 06:07 PM   #11
Retired Moderator
 
john hd's Avatar
 
1992 29' Excella
madison , Wisconsin
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,644
Images: 40
arrestors

twink

save your money on a suppressor.

line surges are few and far between. unless your electrical service is directly hit by lightning you are wasting your money.

even if you have a "surge" protector a direct lightning hit will destroy everything including your suppressor! thats what you have insurance for.

in my years at the power company i have only seen one instance where a higher than required voltage was applied to a distrubution line, it was during an ice storm and the system operator reclosed the line 16 times hoping it would hold. we destroyed 30 customers equipment. and paid for every single light bulb, garage door opener, wasing machine, tv, vcr etc.

every single distrubution transformer in america is protected by a lightning arrestor 100 times better than you can buy! they blow to protect your equipment. i know, i have changed out 100's of them!

here is a pic...

john
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dist arrestor.jpg
Views:	396
Size:	28.0 KB
ID:	4780  
__________________
you call them ferrets, i call them weasels.
john hd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2004, 08:30 PM   #12
Rivet Master<br><img src="/ugala/forums/images/5rivet.gif">
 
CanoeStream's Avatar

 
2006 25' Safari FB SE
St. Cloud , Minnesota
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 13,279
Images: 19
Blog Entries: 3
Keep asking SSteve... I'm only halfway to enlightenment and enjoying every visit to this website.

To fill in a few details from past threads:

Walmart 30A cords are not heavy enough gauge. Camping World's 30A cords are 10ga I seem to recall and are the correct item -- http://www.campingworld.com/browse/s...5&skunum=24488

Although mention is made above about your air conditioning -- really really really don't run the A/C on a lower amperage circuit even if you buy an adapter. It will destroy the compressor and cause a big repair bill. Folks have had an electrician wire a dedicated 30A circuit to the garage or wherever if they need to run their A/C at home.
__________________
Bob

5 meter Langford Nahanni

CanoeStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2004, 08:46 PM   #13
Rivet Master
 
Davydd's Avatar
 
Tonka Bay
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 767
Images: 13
30 amp circuit at my garage

I went 20 years with no electricity in my remote garage 100 ft from my house. Getting the Airstream finally gave me the impetus to do something. The power company changing from NSP to Excel also helped. They changed their policy and gave me a separate meter--something they refused when I built and again about 10 years ago. I have a separate 100 amp service to my garage and a dedicated 30 amp outside water repellent boxed outlet for my Airstream. The cord on my Airstream is fairly long and reaches all the way around the back of the trailer to the outlet with length to spare.

I now have a 200 amp general service to the house. A separate 200 amp service for radiant heat in the house and a 100 amp service to the garage. A whopping 500 amps! I wish my cylinder index was as high. :::ugh, ugh, ugh:::
__________________
Davydd
2015 Sprinter Class B Camper Van
(Former 1971 vintage Airstream Owner)
Davydd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2004, 08:46 PM   #14
Aluminut
 
Silvertwinkie's Avatar
 
2004 25' Safari
. , Illinois
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 10,334
You know, the old power cord on my '03 looked much thicker than the one that came with my '04.

Wonder if they still have the same wire inside.
__________________

__________________
Computers manufactured by companies such as IBM, Compaq and millions of others are by far the most popular with about 70 million machines in use worldwide. Macintosh fans note that cockroaches are far more numerous than humans and that numbers alone do not denote a higher life form. -NY Times 11/91
Silvertwinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.