Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2011, 12:31 PM   #1
New Member
 
1969 27' Overlander
Wilmington , North Carolina
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Unhappy Circuit Constantly Tripping

hey guys-
i have my 69 airstream plugged into my dads shed (which he plugs his huge RV into as well) and i will turn on just my AC in the trailer and it will the circuit will trip in less than 5 minutes. I will reset it and turn it back on and less than a minute it will trip again!! i dont think its because of my power source because my dad plugs his RV into the same source.

its also weird because my dad said that when his RV breaker trips, it will trip first and then everything will shut off....
on mine, everything will shut off and about a minute later you can hear the circuit click off...

any suggestions of what to try?
p.s. im a 21 year old girl trying to re-do this airstream so i dont know all the technical names of everything if you give me any advice haha
__________________

__________________
columbus69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 12:51 PM   #2
Rivet Master
Airstream Dealer
 
Inland RV Center, In's Avatar
 
Corona , California
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 16,499
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by columbus69 View Post
hey guys-
i have my 69 airstream plugged into my dads shed (which he plugs his huge RV into as well) and i will turn on just my AC in the trailer and it will the circuit will trip in less than 5 minutes. I will reset it and turn it back on and less than a minute it will trip again!! i dont think its because of my power source because my dad plugs his RV into the same source.

its also weird because my dad said that when his RV breaker trips, it will trip first and then everything will shut off....
on mine, everything will shut off and about a minute later you can hear the circuit click off...

any suggestions of what to try?
p.s. im a 21 year old girl trying to re-do this airstream so i dont know all the technical names of everything if you give me any advice haha
Are you using an extension cord?

Andy
__________________

__________________
Inland RV Center, In is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 02:21 PM   #3
Moderator
 
DKB_SATX's Avatar

 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
1976 Argosy 28
Alamo Heights , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,401
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 7
Are you using a 30-amp circuit? Or plugging into a normal-looking outlet with an adapter?
__________________
David

Zero Gravitas 2017 Flying Cloud 26U | Il Progetto 1976 Argosy 28 Center Bath | WBCCI# 15566

He has all of the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire. Sir Winston Churchill
DKB_SATX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 05:07 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
NevadaGeo's Avatar
 
1978 31' Excella 500
Genoa , Nevada
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by columbus69 View Post
hey guys-
i have my 69 airstream plugged into my dads shed .......on mine, everything will shut off and about a minute later you can hear the circuit click off...
There's a good chance the air conditioner on a '69 machine needs more amperage than a new-er big RV. Most air conditioners will shut down if there's not enough power for it to run.
Or your air conditioner is old and tired and just don't want to go anymore. The experts around here could tell you with your clue that the A/C stops before the circuit breaker trips.
__________________
I admit to being powerless over housecleaning and social niceities
Airforums 22655 and now, WBCCI 22655

NevadaGeo
NevadaGeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 06:24 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,139
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
Hope this helps

I will assume you have a 30 amp power source since your Dad runs his big RV from it. You need a shore power cable (it's a BIG extension cord) capable of carrying a 30 amp load. Dads' RV has one I'm sure. The plug looks like the one pictured below.
You can not use a standard extension cord and run your air conditioner. The air conditioner won't shut down, you will burn up the compressor motor due to voltage drop.
The receptacle and cord shown below are for 120 volt 30 amps. Look closely and you will see it says for "Travel Trailer use Only". This is not a 220 volt outlet and neither is your trailer.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Shore Power Hardware.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	36.8 KB
ID:	126919  
__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 07:46 PM   #6
2 Rivet Member
 
1988 29' Excella
Livingston , Texas
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 57
Howdy!

Had the same thing happen in our 1988 Excella, AC would trip the breaker inside the AS. Replaced the breaker and have not had anymore problems.

"Happy Trails"
Chiefneon
__________________
chiefneon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 09:50 PM   #7
4 Rivet Member
 
1985 31' Excella
Fresno , Texas
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 307
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiefneon View Post
Howdy!

Had the same thing happen in our 1988 Excella, AC would trip the breaker inside the AS. Replaced the breaker and have not had anymore problems.

"Happy Trails"
Chiefneon

I also have had a weak A/C breaker to replace. I think there is a main 30A, 2-20A and a 15A, if there is you can swap the places of the 20A and If it works go get a new breaker. I would put the new breaker on the A/C.

NOTE: UNPLUG THE TRAILER FROM POWER BEFORE GOING INTO PANEL IF YOU ARE NOT FAMILIAR WITH WORKING IN A PANEL.

After wiring the new breaker up pull on the wire to make sure you are tight and not behind the breaker lug.
__________________
Wsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 10:12 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,139
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
Safety First!

Even if you are familiar with electrical. You should not attempt to replace a breaker with power to the panel.
Your Air Conditioner should have a label in it that says. "Wait 3 minutes after shuttung this unit Off before attempting to restart it" This is to give the compressor time to reduce the "Head Pressure". If you don't wait the compressor motor has to start up under "HIGH" head pressure, this will also cause a circuit breaker to trip.
__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 02:34 AM   #9
4 Rivet Member
 
1985 31' Excella
Fresno , Texas
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 307
Images: 1
Maybe we disagree

Quote:
Originally Posted by TG Twinkie View Post
Even if you are familiar with electrical. You should not attempt to replace a breaker with power to the panel.
Your Air Conditioner should have a label in it that says. "Wait 3 minutes after shuttung this unit Off before attempting to restart it" This is to give the compressor time to reduce the "Head Pressure". If you don't wait the compressor motor has to start up under "HIGH" head pressure, this will also cause a circuit breaker to trip.
I am a licensed industrial electrician and I disagree, I just finished a 6 working man job for almost 3 years that moved and upgraded the control room for the worlds largest olefin refinery having 7 large control board sections with almost 10,000 control loops all while the plants were online running. We moved one hot loops at a time, granted a lot were milivolt and we never had a incident. If we had tripped a component that brought the refinery down it would have been a major incident. Anything above 120V. was worked dead or with hot tools and suits. A 68 million dollar project.
If you don't know what you are doing then you should get a professional. I was basically warning those with little experience to unplug the trailer and not insulting those that may be highly qualified to do it hot. Even Lowes has 1000V. insulated screwdrivers.

In most home panels you are unable to power down the panel. The meter base has to be pulled and the utility company has to do that. You can turn off the main breaker but the two hot and ground terminals are still there, some newer panels now have a protective cover under the dead man front.. any time you turn off the breaker you are disconnecting the power to the wire on that breaker and the ground wire are neutral wires will never be touched, roll the breaker out replace it and hook the wire back up the bus is dead in the panel just the possible two hot lugs at the top of the panel.
__________________
Wsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 07:23 AM   #10
Rivet Master
 
1977 Argosy 24
Currently Looking...
Milltown , Wisconsin
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wsmith View Post
I am a licensed industrial electrician and I disagree, I just finished a 6 working man job for almost 3 years that moved and upgraded the control room for the worlds largest olefin refinery having 7 large control board sections with almost 10,000 control loops all while the plants were online running. We moved one hot loops at a time, granted a lot were milivolt and we never had a incident. If we had tripped a component that brought the refinery down it would have been a major incident. Anything above 120V. was worked dead or with hot tools and suits. A 68 million dollar project.
What are you disagreeing with, he said not to work on the panel with power to it.
__________________
ventport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 07:43 AM   #11
Rivet Master
 
Minno's Avatar

 
1972 31' Sovereign
Lexington , Minnesota
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by columbus69 View Post
hey guys-
i have my 69 airstream plugged into my dads shed (which he plugs his huge RV into as well) and i will turn on just my AC in the trailer and it will the circuit will trip in less than 5 minutes. I will reset it and turn it back on and less than a minute it will trip again!!
Exactly what circuit breaker is tripping? The one in the AS that feeds the a/c, the main circuit breaker in the trailer, or the circuit breaker that feeds the outlet you plug into?

Chris
__________________
Minno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 08:08 AM   #12
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,139
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
Safety First

I agree that most home panels do not have a main disconnect and therefore you should have someone with knowledge do the work. We are talking about the panel in the trailer and it does have a means to disconnect the power. I stand by my comment of disconnecting the power before working on the panel.
__________________

__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
circuit breaker, trip


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Generator won't start! Lily&Me Generators & Solar Power 14 09-11-2012 06:23 AM
Electric working with battery not with 110 TX_DB Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 11 04-24-2011 08:19 PM
Circuit breakers in '09 International 25FB donna01 Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 6 03-13-2011 03:15 PM
AS280 - Rear airbags bypassed dalefox Classic Motorhomes 45 02-17-2011 06:40 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.