Old 10-05-2017, 07:19 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2016 22' Sport
Wichita , Kansas
Changing out converter to an inverter/converter combo

I have a 2016 Bambi Sport, 22'FB. I have purchased a 200 watt portable Zamp solar panel. It is working GREAT for DC stuff. However, I want to install a inverter so my AC outlets will work off my batteries. Going to get a Xantrex product but wonder if I should just get an inverter or a inverter/converter combo. What's involved in the change out. And by the way I am a novice so will having a solar dealer here in Wichita put this in!

Old 10-05-2017, 07:30 PM   #2
Dazed and Confused

Currently Looking...
1983 31' Airstream310
Hillsburgh , Ontario
Just so you know there are many different types of inverters out there; Modified sine wave, sine wave, pure sine wave, square wave..........and you get what you pay for, big time.

I would look up reliability of any inverter and its manufacturers reputation BEFORE you purchase as many of these companies use off shore components.

Also realize that the amount of battery storage needed to power an inverter for 110v is HUGE! Turning on a microwave will kaput your batter power in no time.

Ganging an inverter with a converter is functionally a good thing to do, but remember this.........if one side goes kaput, and you have to get it fixed; you have no power at all. Also a Power Dynamics converter is cheap, cheap, cheap, compared to an inverter/converter.

You need to talk to Lewster before purchasing any components.

Cheers
Tony

Its a recession when your neighbor loses his job; its a depression when you lose your own. "Harry S Truman"
Isuzusweet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2017, 07:37 PM   #3
3 Rivet Member

1995 30' Excella
Harper Woods , Michigan