Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2013, 07:40 PM   #1
New Member
 
2004 30' Land Yacht Gas 30
Houston , Texas
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1
Changing 30 amp to 50amp

I have a 2004 airstream landyacht '30. This unit has 2 30amp automatic transfer switches and I need to know if this means I need to get 2 50 amp transfer switches or will one do? I understand changing the cable, wires, and breaker box. If anyone has done this can you please advise? Thanks
__________________

__________________
Fortiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 06:55 AM   #2
2 Rivet Member
 
1984 31' Sovereign
Currently Looking...
charleton , Illinois
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 42
Images: 3
Are you installing a larger generator?
A transfer switch is used to isolate the shore power from the generator feeder when using the onboard generator. Unless you are increasing the size of the generator then there is no need to have a larger transfer switch. OR Are converting to a 50 amp service from a 30 amp service? Be glad to help but I'll need more info.
I have 39 years as master electrician, and the last 16 yrs as an inspector.
__________________

__________________
jerry d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 08:42 AM   #3
Moderator
 
DKB_SATX's Avatar

 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
1976 Argosy 28
Alamo Heights , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,401
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerry d View Post
Are you installing a larger generator?
A transfer switch is used to isolate the shore power from the generator feeder when using the onboard generator. Unless you are increasing the size of the generator then there is no need to have a larger transfer switch. OR Are converting to a 50 amp service from a 30 amp service? Be glad to help but I'll need more info.
I have 39 years as master electrician, and the last 16 yrs as an inspector.
You don't need to size the transfer switch for the largest load that would pass through it?
__________________
David

Zero Gravitas 2017 Flying Cloud 26U | Il Progetto 1976 Argosy 28 Center Bath | WBCCI# 15566

He has all of the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire. Sir Winston Churchill
DKB_SATX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 08:30 AM   #4
2 Rivet Member
 
1984 31' Sovereign
Currently Looking...
charleton , Illinois
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 42
Images: 3
You would need to change the breaker to mach the incoming shore power cord in the transfer switch. Unless you increase the generator in size no need to change that half of the transfer switch. BUT If Fortiz is upgrading the electric to 240v 50amp then the transfer switch would need room to change the shore power breaker to a 2-pole 50amp breaker.

Fortiz, could you provide a little more info on what you are trying to accomplish?
__________________
jerry d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.