Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-11-2011, 05:27 PM   #1

1977 31' Sovereign
La Veta , Colorado
Question Can we run ac w/out dc battery hooked up??

Hi,
I have a 1977 International Land Yacht Soverign and would like to know if we can run just 120 Volt AC Power without the 12v batteries being connected????
I plugged in the 120V AC power without the battery and the DC fuse panel started humming very loud. Is this a problem?
As of now, everything is un plugged.
Also on this model, rear bath, middle twin beds, can anyone tell me where the univolt is located. I could not find it.
Thanks a million for anyones help since I am totally new at this camper business.
Joe - Lynx Ranch
lynxranch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 05:50 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
The humming you heard was the convertor/inverter, depending on which your trailer has, running without a battery load.

Yes you can run the AC without a battery but you should disconnect the convertor/inverter from the AC to keep it from humming.

HowieE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 08:06 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
HowieE: I don't think they are asking about the Air Conditioner. They are asking about the 120 volt power.
Yes you can run it, but if you turn off the converter you will not have any 12 volt DC power for lights etc. Apparently you have an old Univolt converter and that is what is humming. They are famous for the humming sound. They are also famous for boiling batteries dry.
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 08:20 PM   #4
Site Team

1974 31' Sovereign
Ottawa , ON
Quote: