Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2013, 01:53 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
2011 25' FB Flying Cloud
Currently Looking...
chalk hill , Pennsylvania
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 88
Breaker a-blowin'

Hello,
Using a 2011 25ft flying cloud for the first time. When ac is on breaker blows when using kitchen,bathroom,or outside outlets or microwave. Breaker box says ac should be by itself on #1 and microwave should be by itself on #3. Only #1 trips. Factory wiring screw up? Any ideas?
Thanks
Dave
__________________

__________________
Getahobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 02:16 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
daveswenson's Avatar
 
2012 28' International
Issaquah , Washington
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 767
The #1 breaker is probably your 30 amp main breaker. It will trip if you try to use too much stuff at the same time.
__________________

__________________
Dave

2014 Ram 2500 CTD
Pro Pride
Centramatics
daveswenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 02:18 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
Currently Looking...
Nowhere , Somewhere
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,417
Blog Entries: 2
Ware heater on? Converter running? Fridge on electric? What power source are you using? Generator or 30 amp shore power? Jim
__________________
avionstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 02:23 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
Currently Looking...
Nowhere , Somewhere
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,417
Blog Entries: 2
That's water heater. Jim
__________________
avionstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 02:23 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
rodsterinfl's Avatar

 
2006 25' Safari
Fort Myers , Florida
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,431
Images: 8
You are pulling about 15.3 amps with the AC on a circuit once running after initial start if it is a Dometic 13.5K unit. The circuits are 20 amp. You have a short in circuit #1 for sure or a heavy load. You will need to take an amp meter and read the circuit draw while each item is on individually. The ac wiring can be accessed behind the removable panel where the trip switches are. My wiring is at the bottom of the switches. This will tell you what the load is on the circuit. Try each electrical appliance one at a time. This will also indicate what outlet or appliance is on what circuit- as you hunt for circuit draw on the circuit.

Once you find the draw, you will know several things. An AC unit, when going bad will over draw too. There is also the possibility that other things are on that circuit.
__________________
rodsterinfl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 02:33 PM   #6
2 Rivet Member
 
2011 25' FB Flying Cloud
Currently Looking...
chalk hill , Pennsylvania
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 88
Ok the first one is the main. A little disappointed we can't run a crockpot and the ac together. Would shutting off the electric water heater help?
Thanks
__________________
Getahobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 02:33 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
rodsterinfl's Avatar

 
2006 25' Safari
Fort Myers , Florida
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,431
Images: 8
Another thing you can do on the AC side of your power center is to switch off all the breakers except the one that says air conditioner. If you find that other items work on the switched on circuit, then you know what shares that circuit. Like others have shared, make sure you are privy to pumps, converter charger, etc.
__________________
rodsterinfl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 02:44 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
rodsterinfl's Avatar

 
2006 25' Safari
Fort Myers , Florida
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,431
Images: 8
If your main breaker is tripping then you are probably pulling too much power at once- somehow. A crock pot only uses about 250 watts of power. The microwave is a hog as is anything with a motor - blow dryer, curling irons, mixers, etc. You only have a grand total of around 3500 or so watts to do everything. The AC unit is pulling around 1700 or so.
__________________
rodsterinfl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 02:49 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
daveswenson's Avatar
 
2012 28' International
Issaquah , Washington
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by Getahobby View Post
Ok the first one is the main. A little disappointed we can't run a crockpot and the ac together. Would shutting off the electric water heater help?
Thanks
Definitely, When running the AC I run the water heater and the refrigerator on propane. Then just be cognizant of the electric load you are using on other stuff. Microwave? maybe turn off the air when you need it? Hair Dryer? Toaster? Any high draw items will probably trip the main breaker. You'll figure it out as you go along, now that you know that the main breaker is probably the issue.

The crock pot and the Air should be ok if you minimize the other demands.

Others have discussed swapping the position of the Air Cond Breaker with a circuit with less draw so that the heat of the Air Cond Breaker does not heat up the main breaker. I haven't tried that yet.
__________________
Dave

2014 Ram 2500 CTD
Pro Pride
Centramatics
daveswenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 05:45 AM   #10
Rivet Master
 
switz's Avatar

 
2014 31' Classic
2015 23' International
2013 25' FB International
Apache Junction , Arizona
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4,799
Images: 8
Do not overlook that the converter is keeping your battery(s) charged and often draws from 5 to 7 amps (per other threads). I replaced the OEM single stage with a multistage upgrade kit from:

Magnetek/Parallax 6300/7300 Upgrade Kit

and have not fried the batteries while the unit is in storage. In our unit, the converter is located under the fuse panel on the side of the bed at the end of the hallway. That took about 90 minutes to do as I double checked as I went along. I did have to work the input cable for an extra inch or two of wire inside the box as one new connection point was farther from the edge of the box.
__________________
WBCCI Life Member 5123, AIR 70341, 4CU, WD9EMC

TV - 2012 Dodge 2500 4x4 Cummins HO, automatic, Centramatics, Kelderman level ride airbag suspension, bed shell

2014 31' Classic model 30 twin beds, 50 amp service, 900 watt solar system, Centramatics, Dill TPMS, disc brakes, 16" tires & wheels
switz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 11:11 AM   #11
2 Rivet Member
 
2011 25' FB Flying Cloud
Currently Looking...
chalk hill , Pennsylvania
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by daveswenson View Post
Definitely, When running the AC I run the water heater and the refrigerator on propane. Then just be cognizant of the electric load you are using on other stuff. Microwave? maybe turn off the air when you need it? Hair Dryer? Toaster? Any high draw items will probably trip the main breaker. You'll figure it out as you go along, now that you know that the main breaker is probably the issue.

The crock pot and the Air should be ok if you minimize the other demands.

Others have discussed swapping the position of the Air Cond Breaker with a circuit with less draw so that the heat of the Air Cond Breaker does not heat up the main breaker. I haven't tried that yet.
Thanks,
I had a 2003 classic with factory convertor and I was able to run hot water, ac, and fridge with no tripping. Wonder what the difference is?
__________________
Getahobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 12:28 PM   #12
Rivet Master
 
KJRitchie's Avatar

 
2008 25' Classic
Wichita Falls , Texas
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,222
I had similar issues on my 2008 Classic 25fb trying to run AC and electric water heater. Fridge was an AC too

http://www.airforums.com/forums/f37/...se-104839.html

I ended up moving the AC from the 30/20 breaker to the last breaker. I also moved the water heater so its not next to the new AC breaker location. I'm now able to run the water heater and AC together. It appears the 30/20 breaker was getting warm to hot and causing the 30 amp side to pop. I may get a new breaker anyway.

I could probably run the microwave to heat up a cup of water but not to cook anything much longer, I haven't tried it. When the AC is on and we need to use the microwave to cook something I turn the water heater electric to off or use propane to heat water.

I haven't had any fuses blow if the wife is using a hair dryer etc while running the AC.

Kelvin
__________________

__________________
KJRitchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AC blew 20 amp breaker pappy19 Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 24 09-22-2011 07:45 PM
A/C Pops Breaker RichWoodward Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 28 07-19-2011 06:57 PM
No Power To A/C (power at breaker) vhariable Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 3 06-28-2011 06:54 PM
Charge line breaker stuck open AirHome Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 3 04-13-2011 11:18 AM
Converter trips breaker Wolfie Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 5 04-02-2011 11:08 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.