Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-20-2014, 11:45 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1972 25' Tradewind
City , Oklahoma
Blown Breaker

Trying to fire up my new 72 Trade Winds. Have used 2 different heavy gauge extension cords, blew breakers both times. Looking for an owners manual. I called Airstream, the lady was very helpful, but we never got clear whether or not the manual had the schematics in it. Does anyone know where I can find this? I'm VERY NEW to this.
1hippiechick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 11:51 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas
Specifically, what breaker are you blowing, where is it, and what are you trying to run when the breaker trips?
Old 05-20-2014, 12:28 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1956 22' Flying Cloud
1953 32' Liner
1955 22' Safari
Valley View , Texas
Send a message via Skype™ to Melody Ranch
Please tell me your not trying to connect your 30 amp cord to the outlet in the garage you use for the washer....it looks like it will work. It won't.
Old 05-20-2014, 12:33 PM   #4
Wise Elder

2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
Is it a circuit breaker or a GFCI? It's common for GFCIs to trip when you plug an older trailer into one because of common wiring mistakes made in the trailer.
Old 05-20-2014, 01:26 PM   #5
Rivet Master

2012 25' FB Eddie Bauer
Vintage Kin Owner
Virginia Beach , Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveH View Post
Specifically, what breaker are you blowing, where is it, and what are you trying to run when the breaker trips?
In more detail - for a newbie. You need 30 amp 110 volt circuit.

Your dryer plug uses 220 volts. BAD for trailers. Even many electricians wire these circuits incorrectly since they're far more used to doing dryer circuits. Test the voltage of your outlet if there is any doubt (and if you know how to use a meter safely).