Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-23-2018, 11:27 AM   #1

Findlay , OH
AS draining tow vehicle battery

Hello everyone,
I am brand new to the AS forum. I have had many travel trailers over the last 10 years but this is my first AS. I have a 2015 Flying Cloud FB Bunk. So far it has been great. My question is, I pulled my AS out of storage to my driveway to clean it and get it ready to use this weekend. I did not have it plugged into shore power and left it hooked up to my tow vehicle. After 2 hours, my batteries in the tow vehicle were completely dead.

Everything was off in the AS (as far as I know). Any thoughts on why this happened? I have only had it for about 6 weeks.
Thanks
jpcdvolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2018, 12:36 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2007 22' International CCD
Corona , California
Some tow vehicles have a continuous connection from the TV battery to the trailer umbilical receptacle. Others use an ignition-controlled relay to cut off the power when the TV is not running.

I suspect yours does not have a cutoff relay, and the trailer batteries were in a low State of Charge (SOC) and basically sucked your TV batteries flat in short order. In your case, be sure to unplug the umbilical when the TV is not running.

TO recover from this, I would first get a battery charger on your tow vehicle, after disconnecting the umbilical. For the AS, get shore power to it, and set the battery switch to 'use' to charge the batteries. If this does not work, you will need a portable battery charger to get things going...
2012 shortbed CrewMax 4x4 Toyota Tacoma TV with more antennae on it.
rmkrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2018, 01:25 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1988 25' Excella
1987 32' Excella
Knoxville , Tennessee