Old 07-30-2006, 01:08 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1989 25' Excella
Seaforth , Ontario
Angry Antenna Replacement

I'm trying to replace the existing Braund antenna on my 89 Excella. Have purchased an new Wineguard. I can't seem to release the old antenna from the roof. I've got the head off, the shaft out, and I've drilled out the rivets but there appears to be another fastener or coupling (spring loaded) that I can't find.

Any one had some experience with this?

Old 07-30-2006, 03:52 PM   #2

1973 28' Argosy 28
Los Barriles , Baja California Sur
Skyliner Braund Antenna Removal

Hola jwalton,

Sorry I have no experience but I want to remove the Braund Antenna from my 1973 Argosy. I have not been able to figure out how to do this. You are in the midst of this project. Would you please let me know how you accomplished it when it is out?

Muchas gracias,

John Brooke

Old 07-30-2006, 04:02 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member

1989 25' Excella
Seaforth , Ontario
I was able to get it off by applying some gentle heat. I used a propane torch but I recommend a hair dryer. The mastic is very strong after aging, and it needed some persuasion. The next problem is lifting the old mastic which I found worked better if I used a dull chisel and preheated the mastic and aluminum skin around it.

I'll use some flat putty tape to set the new plate (per dealer instructions)and seal it with MONO. The new plate uses self tap screws. I may switch to aluminum rivets for better performance in the thins skin.

Jwalton
Old 07-30-2006, 04:05 PM   #4
Rivet Master

I've dismantled one of these, and I don't remember anything that would hold it in place after the dismantling you have carried out. Have you slid a knife blade all the way round and across under the top plate in case some hidden Vulkem is still attaching the plate to the roof? Just a thought.
Nick.
on edit- too late, by three minutes! I'm glad you sorted it.
Old 08-31-2006, 08:39 PM   #5
1 Rivet Member

1989 25' Excella
Seaforth , Ontario