Old 08-31-2015, 10:12 PM   #1

1984 31' Excella
Cottage Grove , Minnesota
Advice on rewire

So, we've taken our walls off, and the condition of the wiring is making want to start from scratch rather than chase down potential issues with the existing wiring (there were several mice living in our trailer).

My wife and I have done quite a bit of home renovation, and I've moved around circuits and switches as we've added and removed walls in our home, but I've never worked with 12v system before.

I have the existing wiring to work from as a template, although I want to replace both the DC and AC fuseboxes, and I'd like to potentially wire in solar as well.

So, my question is should I take this on myself, or just hire a professional? Will a local electrician even work with the 12v system? The wires are all exposed so the actual labor part will be minimal, I just need the expertise.

Can I wire it myself and bring in an electrician to check my work? Will they even do that?

I'd love to do it myself, because it's worth learning and understanding how it all goes together, but electricity is serious business and I don't want my ego to prevent me making the right choice.

Thanks for your input. This forum has proven invaluable in everything else we've attempted so far.

Read more about our Airstream, Alice on our blog Rumble Strip Ramblings.

Instagram @rumblestripramblings
tshannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 10:26 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1956 22' Flying Cloud
1953 32' Liner
1955 22' Safari
Valley View , Texas
Send a message via Skype™ to Melody Ranch
It is a very easy, and rewarding, project. 12v is a straight shot from the source to a distribution bus to circuit protection (fuse) to the end use. I highly suggest running individual grounding from each use to a ground bar. There is no pain like chasing a loose ground in the Airstream.

Old 08-31-2015, 11:43 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1974 31' Sovereign
1979 23' Safari
Wayland , New York