Old 01-31-2014, 07:39 PM   #1
2013 27' FB International
Palm Springs , California
AC Power Out in Rear of Trailer

I'm plugged into city power at a State Park when suddenly the AC powered items in the rear of my trailer lost power. As far as I can tell, the fridge, TV, and outlets in the galley and dining area are on the same circuit. I had the TV on, a lamp plugged in, a phone charging and a small ceramic space heater plugged in as well. The only difference from other nights was the added phone charging. I check the breakers and turned all off then back on. I turned the power off at the pedestal and then back on…neither of those worked to get the power back. Note the AC in the front of the trailer is working and the DC lights etc. all work. Any ideas as to what this could be? I'm in a 27FB…there are two 30amp fuses as well as nine 15 amp fuses. Could this be a fuse issue? I don't have a correct size 30amp fuse to check but might be able to get one tomorrow. Note I'm new to Airstreaming and have just started full-timing this week…also, I'm not very familiar with electrical systems so very low on the learning curve. Any ideas/opinions would be much appreciated. Thanks, John

Ljsydney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 07:56 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member
2013 25' FB Flying Cloud
Longmont , Colorado

Check the outlet in the bathroom. The owner's manual I have says this outlet is a GFI outlet. It should have "test" and "reset" buttons on it. Hit the reset button.

Your rear outlets are "downstream" from this one, so if the GFI trips, the others will go out.

If the GFI is the problem, then the question is, what caused the GFI to trip off? You could have an intermittent short, or water could be getting in to something. Is it raining? Is anything plugged into the outdoor outlet? Is that outlet cover closed tightly?

Good luck.

SSquared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 08:27 PM   #3
2013 27' FB International
Palm Springs , California