Old 10-22-2012, 08:35 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member
Currently Looking...
Austin , Texas
AC and heater question (newbie alert)

We bought our '95 Sovereign (21ft) last week.

We are total newbies when it comes to travel trailers / Airstreams, so here it goes:

1) Can the AC run only when the AS is plugged into a 20 / 30 AMP electrical outlet?
The Sovereign has the 110,000 BTU AC installed.

2) We are considering taking the AS camping this winter, which means cold temperatures. I've been reading in the manual about the danger of freezing pipes and the recommendation to leave the heater on.
What I wonder about is whether the heater (and the AC for that matter) will run continuously (and so use propane / electric continuously), or once the desired temperature is reached, does it turn off automatically?
I know it has a thermostat, but especially when you visit older motels/hotels with old AC units, they seem to run without stopping.

jornvango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 10:42 AM   #2
Rivet Master
1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho
Oh, Grasshopper, you have so much to learn (and will have so much fun learning it). You will get a lot of help here.

First, I think you got an extra 0 in your numbers. Your AC unit is probably an 11,000 btuh unit not 110,000. That would cool a couple of houses or more.

Anyway, the AC will only work when plugged into grid power, and usually you will want a 30 amp outlet so you can use some other things in the trailer at the same time. A 20 amp outlet may run your smaller AC if nothing else is on.