Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2012, 04:42 PM   #29
4 Rivet Member
 
UAPachyderm's Avatar
 
2004 28' International CCD
Birmingham , Alabama
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by redwoodguy
Great ending! Dog gone reset button!
Yes indeed ... and I'll never forget that little button exists again!!!
__________________

__________________
UAPachyderm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 06:57 PM   #30
Rivet Master
 
1988 32' Excella
Robbinsville , New Jersey
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,008
Wow lots of ambition in the heat. Once bypassed and working I would have left it bypassed until it cooled off.
__________________

__________________
Wazbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 05:26 AM   #31
4 Rivet Member
 
UAPachyderm's Avatar
 
2004 28' International CCD
Birmingham , Alabama
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrawfordGene
How did the reset breaker on the inverter trip?

Gene
Well, it seems that this is still a question I don't know the answer to. Friday, the breaker on the inverter coming in from shore power tripped. All was well until Sunday evening.

At least twice Sunday night power went out and back on ... without tripping any breaker.

About 4am this morning the breaker on the site pole tripped. I inspected everything then reestablished power on the site pole.

A few minutes later the site pole breaker tripped again. However, this time I saw a small "flash" at my old converter. Oddly, nothing is wrong inside the Airstream (no bad fuses or tripped breakers) ... but the breaker on the site pole is tripped.

I tested the site pole and it appears to be in good order. I had maintenance come over and they said pole appeared good. However, I am not taking any chances and plan to change sites to be sure the problem isn't a surge issue from this site. I'm at Disney Fort Wilderness ... they are sending over their Forman of electricians at 8am.

Interestingly, when I turn my inverter on, everything works. So, I'm still having issues getting shore power and the cause is a mystery.

Perhaps it is the site. Could be I didn't reconnect everything super tight (double checking all that now). Could be my inverter as originally thought (it's been squirly since install and Lew and I have wondered if it had a bad board/relay). Perhaps it is some issue I haven't thought about yet.

Not hot here this Monday morning ... yet ...
__________________
UAPachyderm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 06:48 AM   #32
4 Rivet Member
 
UAPachyderm's Avatar
 
2004 28' International CCD
Birmingham , Alabama
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 323
No m
__________________
UAPachyderm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 07:55 AM   #33
A.K.A "THE STREAM"
 
THEPILL's Avatar
 
2010 25' FB International
Arlington , Texas
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,285
Images: 4
Glad things worked out,..little late reading here.

On the subject of running things,..we run our convection microwave,A/C, Television and charge our iPads and phones and turn the lights on and off At the same time,..and have never had any problems.

Are we asking for trouble?

Thanks,
Shane
__________________
http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g2...h_postcard.jpg

"Stay Thirsty My Friends"

Tow Vehicle" 2011 Superduty Diesel!!"

TAC ID TX-1432
THEPILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 07:59 AM   #34
4 Rivet Member
 
UAPachyderm's Avatar
 
2004 28' International CCD
Birmingham , Alabama
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by THEPILL
Glad things worked out,..little late reading here.

On the subject of running things,..we run our convection microwave,A/C, Television and charge our iPads and phones and turn the lights on and off At the same time,..and have never had any problems.

Are we asking for trouble?

Thanks,
Shane
They say not to do it. We've never ha issues until I added an inverter.
__________________
UAPachyderm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 08:01 AM   #35
4 Rivet Member
 
UAPachyderm's Avatar
 
2004 28' International CCD
Birmingham , Alabama
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 323
BTW, the breaker on site was on the fritz. It's been replaced (my situation may have caused it to go or it may have caused my situation ... who knows). We are back up and running. Hopefully it stays that way!
__________________
UAPachyderm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 08:27 AM   #36
Moderator
 
DKB_SATX's Avatar

 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
1976 Argosy 28
Alamo Heights , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,401
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrawfordGene View Post
How did the reset breaker on the inverter trip? Was your wife using too many things while operating on batteries and inverter? It sounded like you were on shore power, but maybe 120 v. shore power is routed though the inverter and it would trip the breaker there instead of the converter main breaker.

~~
Gene
My supposition is that since the inverter has an automatic switchover from 30A shore power to inverter power, it has a 30A breaker to protect that circuit (fits with the label on that button). It seems that the inverter's breaker is a little more sensitive than the trailer's main breaker.

UAPachyderm: Is that breaker inaccessible when the inverter is installed? Or just hidden from view?
__________________
ó David

Zero Gravitas ó 2017 Flying Cloud 26U | Il Progetto ó 1976 Argosy 28 Center Bath | WBCCI# 15566

He has all of the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire. ó Sir Winston Churchill
DKB_SATX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 03:37 PM   #37
4 Rivet Member
 
UAPachyderm's Avatar
 
2004 28' International CCD
Birmingham , Alabama
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by DKB_SATX

My supposition is that since the inverter has an automatic switchover from 30A shore power to inverter power, it has a 30A breaker to protect that circuit (fits with the label on that button). It seems that the inverter's breaker is a little more sensitive than the trailer's main breaker.

UAPachyderm: Is that breaker inaccessible when the inverter is installed? Or just hidden from view?
Accessible ... just not in plain view. LOL, no worries, there's an obvious label and arrow on top now!
__________________
UAPachyderm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 10:02 AM   #38
Rivet Master
 
Gene's Avatar
 
2008 25' Safari FB SE
Grand Junction , Colorado
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10,840
Double diagnosis is a bad approach to problem solving, but sometimes 2 things do go bad.

It sure sounds like:

1. The campground breaker was bad, and

2. The inverter has a pre-existing condition.

Even if the new campground breaker is fine, the inverter may still need a new circuit board. If the company will send you a replacement without asking you return the inverter, I'd go for it.

Gene
__________________
Gene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 03:03 PM   #39
4 Rivet Member
 
UAPachyderm's Avatar
 
2004 28' International CCD
Birmingham , Alabama
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrawfordGene
Double diagnosis is a bad approach to problem solving, but sometimes 2 things do go bad.

It sure sounds like:

1. The campground breaker was bad, and

2. The inverter has a pre-existing condition.

Even if the new campground breaker is fine, the inverter may still need a new circuit board. If the company will send you a replacement without asking you return the inverter, I'd go for it.

Gene
Yep, the plan is to replace the circuit board upon return.
__________________
UAPachyderm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 03:39 PM   #40
Rivet Master
 
Gene's Avatar
 
2008 25' Safari FB SE
Grand Junction , Colorado
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10,840
Cool, literally.

Gene
__________________
Gene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 10:03 PM   #41
Rivet Master
 
mefly2's Avatar
 
2015 25' FB Eddie Bauer
Western , ** Big Sky Country ** Montana
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,283
Would a line conditioner / surge protector be a good idea to have upstream ... between the power pole tap and the AS power connector plug in this case; or, would it just compound the issues? I have seen some that advise of proper polarity as well as over and under voltage. I know that they are not inexpensive, but if it saves replacing a board in the inverter ... ???
__________________

__________________
mefly2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.